We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel with ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #20 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel with ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Even though Hotel Monaco probably hasn't been designed for travelling with kids we enjoyed our stay in Mediterranean Suite with one king bed and a queen-sized sleeper sofa for kids.

Good service, ideal location if you like to stay in the city centre, excellent brasserie in the house, cool colors and design, kids loved the jacuzzi tub (I preferred the shover). Extra points for stress-busting massage at comfy hotel spa (little expensive though, $180).

I wouldn't call this hotel luxury hotel (as they call it themselves) but it is pretty nice for all boutique hotel lovers.

Room Tip: Only experienced the Mediterranean suite which was smaller than we expected. If you have trouble to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    746
    434
    94
    25
    20
See reviews for
166
545
87
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for three nights in March 2013. The staff are excellent - the front desk were always helpful and friendly. The room allocated to us on our first night wasn't particularly large, so (without us having to ask) the girl on reception arranged for us to be moved to a larger room the next day. The inclusive breakfast was a welcome plus, too. For the room itself, the bed was large and exceedingly comfortable. The decor was to a high standard. Also made use of the sauna and hot tub - a nice touch after a busy day sightseeing. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Skinny:

Parking: valet and $$$$
Service: excellent
Decor: colorful and big
Room size: very nice for SF
Towels: super soft
Sheets: smooth and soft
Noise factor: loud

I stayed here one night for work and was blown away by the cool interior since the exterior didnt look that inviting. The main lobby is gorgeous and huge. They have a complimentary wine tasting in the evening and there is a French bistro inside the hotel. The rooms are a nice size and super colorful. If you get a street facing room you will have noise from traffic but a view. If you want an interior room it will be quieter but you'll face an alley. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and the staff was amazing! They were kind of enough to upgrade us to a junior suite and welcome us with a bottle of champagne. Everyone from the bellman to the concierge was so helpful; they offered us advise for tours and how to get to around the city and surrounding areas...outstanding service.
The room was great, the old hotel has been updated with a modern vibe with bright wall colors and funky decorations. The beds were very comfortable and in-room dining was reasonably priced and very yummy.
The hotel is located 2 blocks from Union Square which is great for people looking to tour the city. It is close enough to Union Square (a 5 minute walk) but far enough away to avoid the crowds. Another plus is there are a few coffee shops and inexpensive pubs right around the hotel so grabbing a quick bite to eat was a breeze.
I am a huge fan of Kimpton hotels and I am glad to report that they continue to exceed my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were here for business but I ended up staying over the weekend due to inclement weather and I couldn't have been happier. The staff is lovely and attentive and really friendly.

The property itself is beautiful, with soaring ceilings and a fantastic French bistro and bar. I could have happily sat in the bar for every meal and drink even though you're technically blocks away from great restaurants.

The rooms themselves are typical of this part of downtown -- not huge, but really well-appointed and comfortable. I'm a big fan of Kimpton properties because I feel like they offer luxury and comfort at a reasonable price and this property is no different.

There's the free happy hour, of course, and dogs are welcome, which I appreciate as a dog lover without an actual dog. The location is prime -- close to Union Square and shopping but not right on top of it. You're twenty minutes on foot to the Embarcadero and of course the streetcar is blocks away if you're into that sort of thing (definitely take it UP the hills :)).

All in all a fantastic experience and I'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the interior if you want quiet. Rooms on the front of the building definitely have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I got this reservation through Priceline and the value was excellent. The Monaco hotels are very good with unique interior design and comfortable rooms and bathrooms. The service is superior.
Unfortunately the location of this Monaco in San Francisco is not the best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Hotel was very clean and nicely refurbished. All the staff were very helpful and polite. We had some issues with the air conditioning which was mended quickly and efficiently. The location was great, walking distance to market street and a variety of transport links and if you want good cheap food, you can venture into Tenderloin which was on the doorstep. The wine reception was lovely to arrive to after a long flight and i can recommend the free massage as well! Our room was quiet, off street, and as a result, not the lightest room with the view of another block, however views weren't our priority.

Room Tip: 603 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.