We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, fabulous staff & fabulous suite!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let's Make It Suite!
Ranked #27 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, fabulous staff & fabulous suite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Monaco the week we were in SF to get married! From the moment we checked in, they made it special with a couple of unexpected congrats for us!hotel is easy to access and the location is wonderful! Very lose to union square without any terrible steep hills to conquer going to and from the shop and restaurants.

Also enjoyed a couples massage at the hotel!

Room Tip: We selected the Monte Carlo Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    478
    117
    32
    24
See reviews for
193
599
90
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Another visit to the Hotel Monaco, where we always try to stay on our yearly visits to SF in December (to attend conference). We were in a very recently remodeled 7th floor room with a street view, which was wonderful and not too noisy. The room was lovely, albeit small, but it IS an older hotel, and very well appointed: everything we needed was there. A big flat screen TV, iPod radio, etc. etc. Staff always friendly and we loved the restaurant with great appetizers and good conservation at the bar. We Always return to the Monaco!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel, the staff, the rooms and service. We were lucky enough to stay in a remodeled room which was put into inventory on the day of check-in.

The moment you arrive you are treated as royalty. You are always greeted by name which makes it nice. There is a wine hour each evening in the "Living Room" and coffee, hot chocolate and tea in the mornings.

The water was good and hot. I like a powerful shower head and this one was not. It is located near everything so we were able to walk where we wanted to go. The beds were very comfortable with some real pitiful pillows. You have to use both pillows in order to have a Half way decent pillow.

The door was mid aligned so we were not able to lock our door while in the room, not good! The rooms are relatively small but nice. I looked into a room with one bed and thought it was a closet!

Holiday decorations were up which enhanced the beauty and stay.

Room Tip: I don't know what the older rooms look like but the remodeled ones are beautiful. Get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Kimpton because we wanted to enjoy more shopping and union square on this visit to San Francisco. Still within walking distance of wharf. The rooms were quite small and ours was not ready at check-in time. The hotel offered us a drink at bar while we waited and sent prosecco to our room both of which was appreciated. Parked overnight across the street with the reccomendation of the valet--half the price and definietly appreciated. Decent value and location however we noticed too many homeless people on this trip which was quite sad. Overall a decent visit and acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grrrrreenville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing two night stay. We have stayed at the Ritz, St Francis, Fairmont, W, and others in this great city. We were treated by the staff like we were at the Four Seasons. The building is charming. The location is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for five nights when we were on a business trip and it was a fantastic hotel. The location wasn't far from Union Square, which is great, just a five minute walk. Don't go down the side of the hotel to the right though because it's not a great area and there are a lot of homeless people constantly begging.Trust me, I am not getting at the homeless people, I think it's terrible and I wish I could give money to them all, but it can be confronting so be prepared.

The actual hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The staff were friendly, even sorting out a booking issue we had. We stayed in a junior suite and they were spacious, clean, luxurious and wonderful. The rooms were very quiet, we never heard anyone and we were on the street side.

If you're looking for a really amazing place to stay in San Francisco, this is it. It's definitely worth the spend.

Room Tip: Take the Junior Suite if you can. It's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Monaco. The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were okay (not "wow", just okay...) and the free wine hour was a super nice and homey touch (it actually made me bump up my review from a three star). Overall, I might stay here again, though I wouldn't pick it as a romantic getaway hotel - definitely serves the business traveler more. So, the good and the bad:

Good:
-staff were super pleasant and helpful.
-free and speedy wifi
-centrally located (though, be advised, this is in the middle of the tenderloin - kind of seedy/full of homeless people at night - it is not a beautiful part of town) - a quick walk to union square.
-lovely wine hour in a super comfortable lobby room. hung out there while working. had a great feel.
-free coffee in the morning

Cons:
-TV was ancient (reminded me of a TV i got rid of 15 years ago), channels were few
-rooms were a little roughed up, not super luxe bed and both of my towels had stains (they were clean, just not bleached out)
-they gave me a room (granted, i got the room on priceline) that felt a little subterranean. i didn't really care since it was for business, but i would be less inclined to enjoy the experience if i was there for other purposes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.