We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale, close and personal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #20 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hawthorne, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Upscale, close and personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel, the staff, the rooms and service. We were lucky enough to stay in a remodeled room which was put into inventory on the day of check-in.

The moment you arrive you are treated as royalty. You are always greeted by name which makes it nice. There is a wine hour each evening in the "Living Room" and coffee, hot chocolate and tea in the mornings.

The water was good and hot. I like a powerful shower head and this one was not. It is located near everything so we were able to walk where we wanted to go. The beds were very comfortable with some real pitiful pillows. You have to use both pillows in order to have a Half way decent pillow.

The door was mid aligned so we were not able to lock our door while in the room, not good! The rooms are relatively small but nice. I looked into a room with one bed and thought it was a closet!

Holiday decorations were up which enhanced the beauty and stay.

Room Tip: I don't know what the older rooms look like but the remodeled ones are beautiful. Get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    737
    431
    93
    24
    19
See reviews for
167
545
87
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Kimpton because we wanted to enjoy more shopping and union square on this visit to San Francisco. Still within walking distance of wharf. The rooms were quite small and ours was not ready at check-in time. The hotel offered us a drink at bar while we waited and sent prosecco to our room both of which was appreciated. Parked overnight across the street with the reccomendation of the valet--half the price and definietly appreciated. Decent value and location however we noticed too many homeless people on this trip which was quite sad. Overall a decent visit and acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grrrrreenville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing two night stay. We have stayed at the Ritz, St Francis, Fairmont, W, and others in this great city. We were treated by the staff like we were at the Four Seasons. The building is charming. The location is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for five nights when we were on a business trip and it was a fantastic hotel. The location wasn't far from Union Square, which is great, just a five minute walk. Don't go down the side of the hotel to the right though because it's not a great area and there are a lot of homeless people constantly begging.Trust me, I am not getting at the homeless people, I think it's terrible and I wish I could give money to them all, but it can be confronting so be prepared.

The actual hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The staff were friendly, even sorting out a booking issue we had. We stayed in a junior suite and they were spacious, clean, luxurious and wonderful. The rooms were very quiet, we never heard anyone and we were on the street side.

If you're looking for a really amazing place to stay in San Francisco, this is it. It's definitely worth the spend.

Room Tip: Take the Junior Suite if you can. It's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Monaco. The staff was helpful and kind, the rooms were okay (not "wow", just okay...) and the free wine hour was a super nice and homey touch (it actually made me bump up my review from a three star). Overall, I might stay here again, though I wouldn't pick it as a romantic getaway hotel - definitely serves the business traveler more. So, the good and the bad:

Good:
-staff were super pleasant and helpful.
-free and speedy wifi
-centrally located (though, be advised, this is in the middle of the tenderloin - kind of seedy/full of homeless people at night - it is not a beautiful part of town) - a quick walk to union square.
-lovely wine hour in a super comfortable lobby room. hung out there while working. had a great feel.
-free coffee in the morning

Cons:
-TV was ancient (reminded me of a TV i got rid of 15 years ago), channels were few
-rooms were a little roughed up, not super luxe bed and both of my towels had stains (they were clean, just not bleached out)
-they gave me a room (granted, i got the room on priceline) that felt a little subterranean. i didn't really care since it was for business, but i would be less inclined to enjoy the experience if i was there for other purposes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in this boutique-y hotel for the Greenbuild conference week of November 12. Very friendly, and I appreciated the daily happy hour at 5 p.m. You can sit in the chairs by the fire and watch the (rather sketchy) world go by outside the large windows. After all, we were on the edge of the Tenderloin district, which might concern some guests but captivated me. Many good cheap Asian and Indian restaurants in the area. The Grand Cafe prices were out of my league, although I sprang for some wonderful French onion soup there. Choice of free papers in the morning. The rooms and beds were comfy, and the service was very attentive. Walk to Chinatown, Market Street, cable cars, and Moscone Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Comfy beds like a starwood, but has a boutique feel. Nice products from Etro (who knew they did more than make loud shirts), good location right above transport and steps from shopping, good service at all hours... And His and His leopard and zebra print robes, and a yoga kit. What's not to love? Like a westin but with character.

Room Tip: Interior facing rooms are quieter, but get a high floor to be away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 501 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Hotel Monaco San Francisco provides old-world hospitality in an eclectic, luxurious environment. The lobby's dramatic spaciousness, whimsical frescoed ceiling and delightful "Tree of Life" sculpture are instantly engaging. Situated next to the celebrated Grand Cafe Brasserie and Bar, and within easy walking distance of Union Square, San Francisco's famed Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center and many top-notch theaters, restaurants and shops, Hotel Monaco offers an unparalleled experience for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Hotel Monaco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco San Francisco - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.