We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Astoria, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

So Wifey was going to be connecting through San Fran and since its my favourite city in the US we decided that I would meet her there for a quick overnighter. We wanted to stay somewhere central and cheap (as in broke cheap) we found this place and no lie, it looked sketchy, not the best reviews, but we figured we would only be there to sleep.

So we get there and NOT BAD! ok, the room was clean, decently clean (room 603) better than we where hoping for. The shower was clean, the bed was extremely clean. Yes it is old, yes the bed was very hard (but not bad), yes the pillows suck eggs and the elevator is a roller coaster ride but the hotel is what you expect, its clean, the staff is very nice and wonderful and it is incredibly central.

If I was doing this on the cheap I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    95
    126
    53
    37
See reviews for
34
135
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It wasn't a bad price, was easy to find and locate being next to the Chinatown gate. Besides that just remember you get what you pay for. The room I stayed in was nicely remodeled so new paint, new decor and some new furniture. The noise is something I'd change, but being situated right on the road it was expected. The problems I had with the place was the bathroom, it just seemed down on it's luck and the doors didn't seem all that strong.

Otherwise, it's not a bad location, next to Chinatown, in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of most places. Easy to find from the BART, and we had a pretty good view. I'd chance it again if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Avoid roadside rooms, you'll hear police cars and garbage trucks all the time if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Yes, the bed was a little too hard, the location a little too noisy and the elevator a little too wobbly, but the room was spotless, the bathroom was reasonably sized (and well lit) and the price can't be beat. And just a few minutes walk from Union Square. My room (702) and its bed would have been tight for two people, but worked just fine for a solo traveler. Bottom line: A good choice for a single traveler if price is paramount.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Or the only thing. Hate to give a bad review because the people who work here were so amazingly nice, friendly, helpful..not enough words to describe them.

We just didn't feel the rooms were.... clean. That was the main problem.

Forget that the rooms are old with no frills, that it's noisy with the busy traffic and constant honking on Bush and that the shakey elevator in this old building made me pray that there would be no earhtquake while I was inside - you get what you pay for and this is one of if not THE cheapest place to stay near all the attractions - At the Gateway to Chinatown, walking distance from the Piers, Fisherman's Wharf (although most people thought we were crazy walking "that far" so okay - take the cable cars down)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was staying for one night during San Francisco's busiest conference, so it was either this hotel, a (only slightly cheaper) hostel, or paying $800 a night for somewhere nicer. So in that context $59+tax for my own private room with en-suite bathroom was a pretty good deal. This was my introduction to the grandly named "Hotel Astoria". Can't help feeling they named it so hoping some of the glamour of the famous Waldorf-Astoria of NYC might rub off on it. Yeah, right!

I didn't expect much but the principal annoyances were:

- The bed was ROCK hard. I know this hotel is in chinatown, and chinese owned, and indeed the chinese used to sleep on wooden beds, but I kept waking up all night long because I was so uncomfortable. There was a mattress but I suspect a chinese kang bed would've been comfier than this.

- It's noisy. The single pane windows are probably as old as the building, and have no soundproofing at all. Take earplugs.

- It's dirty and everything is worn out. There is dirt and grime visible, particularly in the bathroom and around the windows. Although the bedding was clean, it was very worn out and had some holes.

FYI, there is no wifi in the rooms, but there is a "business center" on the second floor, which does have free wifi, so that took care of me immediate internet needs.

Room Tip: A higher room may be slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I would love to give a positive review for this hotel - wonderful location, low price, and very friendly staff. But for this 50+ year-old traveler, the bed was too hard, the street noise too distracting, the lack of central air conditioning or heating uncomfortable, and the lack of internet connectivity on my floor a difficult problem for a business trip.

THE GOOD:
The location, right next to the China Gate at the entrance to China Town, is awesome. The area is filled with great restaurants in all price ranges; the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was three blocks away; and the convention center was less than a mile away. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating; the rooms were very clean and vermin-free. And the price! There were no rooms in town less than $500 per night during my stay due to a huge IT convention...except the Astoria. It is true you get what you pay for....

THE BAD:
The hotel is old, old, old. An ancient elevator greets you with a sign that says "Caution: Only Three People At One Time," and the resulting ride is bumpy and jarring. The hallway to my room was lined with water pipes and junction boxes, complete with visible pressure gauges...more reminiscent of the queue for Disney World's "Tower of Terror" than a pleasant entry to a hotel room. The bathroom had 1940's tile design - cool if it was intentionally retro, not so much when it is simply cracked and old. The walls and carpets were clean, but the stains of decades of previous guests were visible. And the lack of in-room amenities such as a clock, or a bathmat made of material beside paper, was a bit disconcerting.

THE DEAL BREAKER
Would I return to this hotel, perhaps for a low-cost vacation trip where the hotel is only a room to sleep? Unfortunately no. Four issues keep me from returning: 1) the bed, which is the hardest bed I have ever slept on - according to a staff member, the uber-hard beds are popular with Pacific Rim guests. For this Arizonan, it was like camping without a ground mat. 2) The lack of wi-fi in-room...while there is a lounge on the second floor where free access is available, the inability to check email and reach the internet from my seventh floor room was troublesome. 3) While the room was equipped with a fan, it still became too hot for my comfort, despite a November visit with cool outside temperatures. I was on the top floor, and it seems heat truly rises to the top.4) Finally, the street noise was either very loud, or the windows too thin. I was awoken several times each night by car horns, late-night deliveries, sirens, or the slamming of car doors.

Room Tip: I was in room 704, 7th floor, which was hot at night even in cool weather. Perhaps lower floors were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Astoria is basic with no frills. The bed was a little hard but we slept well. Ear plugs a must due to town noise. Clean sheets and towels. Room a little tired but for the time we spent there it was fine. Location is excellent. Right at the dragon gate to Chinatown and an easy walk to union sq and buses, trams and cable cars. Staff were very friendly. Wifi on level 2. Value for money was amazing. For a great budget hotel in the heart of SF, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria, one of San Francisco’s best values, is located at the corner of Bush and Grant, right at the entrance to Chinatown. This historic hotel caters to both business and leisure travelers that appreciate a budget friendly hotel of tasteful simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.