We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget considerations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
los angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Budget considerations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I chose this lodging primarily for the cost and location. My four-night stay in August would be comparable to a single night's rate in the more expensive hotels close by. My savings from choosing the Astoria enabled me to take a day trip tour to Yosemite National Park.

I arrived at the hotel shortly after 9:30 am and a room was ready for me away from the busy street. It had the basic amenities that allowed for a generally comfortable stay. The TV had the channels that *I* wanted (ESPN and local news) which kept me occupied. Clean towels were supplied daily. A maintenance issue that came up was promptly fixed.

Although free breakfast was included in the hotel rate (you get pass cards from the front desk when you check-in depending on your room selection; you then give the pass card to the breakfast room attendant for each day you go), I just went to the breakfast room once.

I went to the second floor common room (I think it is available 24/7) whenever I needed to access information from my mobile device for wi-fi connection.

I had my own private bathroom (vs. shared) which was convenient. The guest room itself used the regular key (vs. a key card) . The security chain didn't feel that secure to me but I made sure that I still used it.

The bed mattress was comfortably firm and adequate for me and I didn't have any sleep issues.

There was a ceiling fan and a small wall heater. There were blinds for privacy (I was on the 5th floor) and I could open the windows to let in some breeze and prevent the room from feeling stuffy.

I noticed a poorly supplied vending machine on the second floor but there was a water cooler next to the lobby door which I really appreciated, especially since I brought my own drinking container.

I have been to other budget lodgings in the city and based on location (relative to BART-Powell or Montgomery stations), budget (<$70/night + tax), and room space, the Astoria would be a primary choice for my future visits to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    92
    123
    51
    36
See reviews for
33
129
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

if your traveling to san fran and need of a hotel thats a good price, near every thing, this is the hotel!! its not a 5 star hotel, but the staffs are friendly and the rooms are decent. i stayed in the room that comes with its own bath room. i m staying at this hotel from now on, when ever i m in san fran! what more can you ask for??

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Attended a conference, blew my budget on the registration fees and printing costs for my poster; I was traveling alone and did not need anything besides a bed, private bathroom, clean sheets and towels, and wifi. As long as you keep your expectations to nothing beyond the absolute basics, this will meet your needs. This is an old establishment, with flooring that creaks with each and every step, an very old elevator shaft, physical keys, a staff that offers no unnecessary courtesy, and near-springless mattresses that are so loud they'll make you reconsider any sort of physical activity on them. The pros: clean, made bed, no bedbugs; ok bathroom with relatively clean towels; clean sheets; wifi on second floor commons area; 10 yards from the gate to Chinatown; a couple blocks away from Union Square; couple blocks away from Montgomery BART station; pretty safe area. If i were to come back with friends or family, I would most likely not choose this place (only because splitting something like Hilton between friends would be a similar price), but for a single traveler with no need to tend to the high-maintenance needs of others, this did the job. It won't add to your SF experience, nor will it detract from it. If anything, its location makes it a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

On the cusp of Chinatown. Handy to have the basic breakfast in the morning and wireless in the common room but very basic and owners were a fairly ratty bunch. Average location but fairly close to most of SF's amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've previously reviewed the Astoria Hotel and have nothing particular to add from my recent trip other than to say they offer the same basic, safe, stupendously well-located hotel as they always have and at a mind-blowing price that hasn't changed in years.

If you're looking at $300/night hotels then the Astoria isn't for you but if you want to pay $65/night and be better located than almost anywhere then do it. Do it now.

Room Tip: Personally we always ask for a room over-looking the street as we like seeing (and hearing) the hust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great location right next door to the entrance of San Francisco's Chinatown. The place is a bit dingy and slightly run down, but overall it's very clean and no-frills. The rooms are small and the bed is stiff, but overall very clean. Very basic, budget hotel. This is the place for you if you're just looking for a place to sleep at night and don't want to spend a lot of money...because that's all you'll get. A roof, a toilet, a shower, and a bed. Good if that's what you're looking for.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good price, great location. The Astoria was better than some of of the reviews. The staff was great, large room for wifi (second floor). Room 402 was like a room in downtown London, very small. The bathroom was also very small but this was okay for a single traveler. Small breakfast that came with the room price (65) a night. The breakfast room, on second floor, opened at 8 am on weekdays, making it difficult to use on departure day. Very small tv with a remote that did not turn on the tv. Few channels but reception was good.
I had previously stayed at the Baldwin Hotel, which is a half block away. Last year I came in the spring and the cost was $69 a night. The Baldwin is a better place to stay but in August the best price I could get was $135 a night. Therefore, the Astoria was a much better deal. Both hotels are old but the Baldwin was better maintained. Both were located close to Bart for transportation and at the entrance to Chinatown. I felt that this was a safe location (for both).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria, one of San Francisco’s best values, is located at the corner of Bush and Grant, right at the entrance to Chinatown. This historic hotel caters to both business and leisure travelers that appreciate a budget friendly hotel of tasteful simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.