We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, rude staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Astoria Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Terrassa, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location, rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is located right next to the Chinatown gate, very close to Union Square. Taking this into account the price was good, but the staff was rude.
There's wifi but not in the room. Breakfast was included but was quite bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    99
    132
    55
    40
See reviews for
37
140
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

$90 per night. Continental breakfast - bagels, toast, cereal, juice, boiled egg. Could not take the food to your room, which I didn't like, as being alone, would prefer to eat in the solitude of my room. clean sheets & towels. Definately outdated and needing some TLC Location great. As I was a single female traveler, only old fashioned locking doorhandle and sliding chain lock. Didn't feel real safe. Piled chairs in front of door. Like others did not come to watch TV and hang in the room, so it met my needs. Would probably stay again. Akin to a Motel 6. I have traveled to many foreign countries and stayed in budget places, but for a budget hotel, they need to charge more like $60 per night.
Front staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

When we were staying here we looked for a hotel with double bedrooms, a good location, and not too expensive. We ended up at Astoria and that was a disappointment.

The rooms were filthy and smelly. An overall disgusting impression. Shower was small and not clean. Beds seemed old and I was afraid to touch anything else in the room.

Unfortunately the staff did not improve our impression. At breakfast they seemed to want us to leave within 5 mins and the stale toast and cold egg that was offered did not help either. Suffice to say we had breakfast in the starbucks across the road for the rest of our stay.

Location is great though, and the area felt safe at night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Clean sheets & towels. Clean bathroom. The blinds weren't clean, but we only stayed there to sleep & shower & then go out to explore the city; not make it our home. And don't go to San Francisco & watch TV anyway. Lively common room, with wifi. Lots of young travellers (& not so young) from all over the world. Made it feel a bit like a hostel. We are a couple in our 60s and would recommend this hotel. It is not special, but functional.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked the Astoria Hotel because we needed an inexpensive hotel that was close to the BART. This was exactly what we needed. The Astoria hotel was only about 4 blocks from the BART and was right at the gate to Chinatown. It was also only 2 blocks from the cable cars. It was across the street from a Starbucks and just down the road from other restaurants.

The staff was friendly.

The room was small, but the bed was super hard. The room was adequately clean. The bathroom had a paper bath mat, which we thought was strange. The room had no AC.

Overall, it was a great stay for the money. Perfect location for the amount of time we were in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

In a different location this hotel woud probably not get 4 stars. It is what I expectet. A little old but you only spend the nights there sleeping, right?
The important parts of the room were clean - bed, shower, and bed. Clean doesn't mean sterile though so people with high expectations shouldn't stay here.
Breakfast is allright. Friendly staff.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

==Location, Price, Cleanliness
The location is indisputably strategic, price is very reasonable, bedroom & bathroom was clean, reception was very helpful.
==Sleep
If you don't mind the traffic noise (it really wasn't that bad, for me anyway) - I found it quite a pleasant stay! And wouldn't mind returning to stay there in the future.
==Ambience / Facilities
The elevator, whilst creaky and fits 3 people max, lent an old-fashioned feel to the whole experience of staying in one of the oldest Chinatowns in the North America (and largest in the western world).
You can get free wi-fi on Level 2 in a common room too.
==Breakfast!
Breakfast was as someone says decent - since it comes with the room rate, why not? Unless of course you want to try out the local breakfast places around (you'd have to walk/climb a few blocks to get to one - remember though, San Francisco is renowned for its steep slopes!).
==My Conclusion?
For the price, I have to say this is well worth it! Exceeds my expectations!

Room Tip: I stayed on level 3 - closer to wi-fi (on level 2) but also closer to the streets below. So if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 510 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astoria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria, one of San Francisco’s best values, is located at the corner of Bush and Grant, right at the entrance to Chinatown. This historic hotel caters to both business and leisure travelers that appreciate a budget friendly hotel of tasteful simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel San Francisco
Astoria San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.