We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vertigo to your Saves list
Hotel Vertigo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly York Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was disappointed. I'd hoped to be wowed but it was just average.

The rooms are very good overall, with a fridge, large flat screen TV, comfy bed with nice white linen, stylish decoration and a modern bathroom. There's a free safe and closet.

The downsides are the heater is a small fan built into one wall, which doesn't heat the room well, and means the bathroom is FREEZING as it has no heating. Plus the shower had hairs, including pubic hair in them, gross.

The staff seemed a little abrupt and weren't very friendly and the location is just too far out, a good few blocks' walk from Union Square and too near the Tenderloin. Overall it just wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and contribution to the Trip advisor community. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and most alarming is that you found the hotel and the staff to be not up to your standards. As previous reviews have stated we consistently get great feedback about our front desk, clean rooms, and we are always looking for ways to improve. I would greatly appreciate it if you could reach out to me for further details. Thank you again for your feedback and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Jaime Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Hotel Vertigo
415 885 6800
jgonzalez@haiyi-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    403
    155
    38
    27
See reviews for
88
470
67
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had an inexpensive, clean room with a comfortable bed, a mini-fridge, and free high-speed wifi. The staff was friendly/helpful, and the location was good -- a few blocks downhill from the Fairmont and Mark Hopkins on Nob Hill, and not far from Union Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear larandbob,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as the hospitality of our team. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely welcome to San Francisco, room was clean and tidy. Staff where friendly and helpful. Hotel is about 15 minutes walk from union square. No complaints, I would definitely recommend! Would love to stay again sometime!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Laura C,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were recently here for five nights. The hotel on its website comes across as hugely gimmicky and yes it is done on a theme but not as garish as its pictures. It is all orange and white with lots of animal statues but don't let that put you off. It really isn't that bright when you're in it.
San Francisco is an alternative city and the vertigo is very low on the strange scale.
We had a room at the rear so no view at all which is always a pity but to be honest when you're on a citybreak how often do you spend time in your room???
The room was spacious with a separate closet which was great not only for clothes but also as storage for our cases.
In the closet was a trouser press and iron and also the safe which happily is free.
The room itself wasn't enormous but certainly big enough.
The bed was very comfy and linen was lovely too. The hotel has Eco policies and towels are only changed if you put them in the bath which I thought was a great idea.All the toiletries are also Eco friendly and very lovely to use. Each time we opened one it was replaced. The body lotion was gorgeous.
Every morning from. 6 am coffee was provided for free in the lobby, another great and very welcome touch , especially when you're suffering from jet lag!
The hotel was a ten minute walk from union square which was good. The neighbourhood around was fine, lots of little bars and resturants. A special mention must go to Thads cosy cafe literally right across the road. They were really great, breakfasts were nicer than in the diner down the road and half the price. They also do an amazing chocolate peanut butter frappe , possibly the best drink I've ever had!
San Francisco is a beautiful city and from Sutter street you are well placed to enjoy it. There are so so many homeless people in the city but contary to other reports we never saw any around the hotel frontage. They. Don't bother you if you say no, personally we found each one we came into contact with to be pleasant despite their awful situation .
The vertigo was a decent hotel with mainly friendly staff who didn't impose but were very helpful if needed. Most people should enjoy a stay there . It's not five star luxury but its not a five star price. It's comy and cosy and central with great amenities all close by

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear vicliz,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. Your impression of our hotel, our amenities and the location within the city were very descript and I'm sure will be of great assistance to future guests of our hotel, and we thank you for that! Thank you also for your suggestions regarding the nearby restaurants, cafes and bars. That chocolate peanut butter frappe sounds quite amazing!!! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent location that is within walking distance to Union Square, the mega shopping center for San Francisco. A small fridge, wall safe, and two queen sized beds in immaculate standard room. Large dialer tub with modern vanity and fixtures. Our room was directly on the street, 4th floor but we didn't hear any street traffic due to superior Windows.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Castle_mooreast,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your candid description of our hotel and amenities will certainly help our future travelers and we thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on a future visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I can tell you this is a great place to stay. i recently stayed here in a sdingle room for 4 nights with no problems whatsoever. The staff were very helpful and understanding. The Hotel is situated in a good area, approx 10 mins walk to Union square and a multitude of pubs, cafes and restautrants along the way. The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed, room safe and fully equipped bathroom. The hotel was very quiet, my first night was a saturday night and if felt like i was the only person there! There is also free internet downstairs and the hotel looks pretty good to with a nicely furnished lobby. They will organise a shuttle back to the airport for $15 a head which was good value. If you are heading to San Frnacisco and wish to stay in the Nob Hill area then stay here!
Only downside i could see was the large bath towels were infact not that big, and a lack of a breakfast, though as mentioned above there are plenty of places to eat breakfast, lunch & dinner in a close proximity!

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road, mine & and my brothers were opposite each other overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear AdieBird,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and the service of our staff. Also, thank you for sharing your room tip; our inner court and our rooms facing the back are indeed quite pleasant and almost make you forget you're in the big city! We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it. It was 10 minutes walk to Union Square and from here you can shop and get the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf. There are cafes and restaurants in the area. The room was average size, very comfortable bed, big wardrobe, nice bathroom and nicely furnished. It was great value for what we paid for. Had free Wifi too which was great. The only thing is that there is no bar just in case it's important for you!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear CorkHolidaygirl,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your four-night stay with us and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#85 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#85 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vertigo 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vertigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.