We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mochica

Mochica
1469 18th St, San Francisco, CA 94107
415-278-0480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #449 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th and 6th Street
Hemet,
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very affordable and great tasting food. The service was great and the servers were very frlendly.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food, funky varnish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The food here is really interesting. We enjoyed sharing a number of small plates and really liked all of them. The only negative was the fact that the varnish on the table had not properly cured and so our glasses kept sticking to the table, despite cleaning the table several times. Truth is, we didn't care because the rest of the dining experience was great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“4.5 Stars overall, Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I am surprised at an overall four star rating. Mochica is a nice quaint little restaurant with better than average service in a slightly less than average neighborhood. The restaurant has a lot of charm and server “001,” a young short-haired lady with long eye lashes provided excellent service; however, the ambience of the restaurant and the service were not enough to take this restaurant above a grade of average.

First of all, the restaurant menu is completely different, and better than the restaurant currently on line. The Cebiche was excellent but unfortunately, most of the other dishes were average, at best. I would definitely shy away from the ribs. In short, the place looks better than the food tastes. I would try again only with a coupon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Peruvian food, lovely ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Mochica is my default great restaurant. When out of towners visit, I take them to this little gem of a place. Not only is the food is unusual -- great Peruvian San Francisco -- but the restaurant is pleasant and quiet. The complimentary appetizer of fried garbanzo beans and Peruvian corn nuts is always a delicious surprise. The ceviches plate with sauces is always delicious. Fun to share little plates of shrimp and mozzarello rellenos, grilled baby octopus, chicken epanada, garlic mushrooms, potato ball stuffed with chicken, yucca balls stuffed with pork. The Peruvian corn salad is delicious, as is the trout salad. The same people also own Piqueos in Bernal Heights and the relatively new La Costanera in Montara Beach, which got a Michelin Star.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Better Service Last Time We Went - Food Great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is our second time to this place because we liked it so much. This time around the service was not good at all but the food was still fabulous. We bought a Groupon and used it in this establishment. The waiter insisted that we get one sangria while the coupon was for two people and we were to get one drink a piece. This really irritated me becaue the waiter didn't speak much English and we just let it go. Although the sangria was pretty good, but it was a small glass and they were $8.00 a piece (not including tip on this) and was not worth it......we paid for it but were resentful with the attitude they took on this. If it was my restaurant, I would have just let it go. As far as the food goes, it was excellent. The seafood paella was the best I've ever had and the fried seafood misto was excellent as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mochica also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mochica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mochica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.