We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy the W” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W San Francisco to your Saves list
W San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #61 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
cleveland, ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the W”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Earlies comments about the rooms ...slatted drapes that don't keep out the light fully, and glassed sliding bathroom door that doesn't leave much privacy.....100% on the mark


Music puming at 7 am as you go out to get you coffee .....also 100% true.


$45 for 4 hours of parking ....100% true

But I guess W has done a good job of branding becasue I always enjoy it. We had a great 3 nights. The room was clean, bright and spacious. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    533
    230
    104
    54
See reviews for
159
462
124
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed there for a week while attending a friends wedding. Have stayed in LOADS of starwood hotels and Im not quite sure about the "W" brand... seems like they are trying just a bit too hard to be cool.
The room was roomy enough for SF, nothing to complain about with the decor or condition of the room (nothing to rave about either). Staff was friendly- even were let up to the roof for some great views by a electrician that we happened to speak to in the elevator which was neat. The best thing at the hotel was perhaps the Acura car- they would take you anywhere in the city for free (w/in 1 mile but that wasn't enforced) considering it was actually hard to catch a cab from the hotel sometimes this was a great bonus. Oh and ditch your car- its $40 a day to park... you dont really need one in SF anyhow... trust me it will only lead you to frustration if you are not a native :).
Only downside to the place is that its across the street from the convention centre- great if you at a convention... not so great if you are not. Seems to be the hot spot for mid-day, afternoon, and evening drinks for people from the centre meaning that the bar/ entire lobby area is ALWAYS packed with people.... during the week stay I had the unfortunate luck of getting 2 drinks spilled on me as I was trying to get into the hotel!
Overall think that the brand is trying a bit too hard. We stayed at the Place hotel when we were in SF last time and I would totally stay there again over the W.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sportsmaster1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The W is a very trendy hotel that is well located and has beautiful rooms. They also make an effort to leave out drinks and a snack while you wait to check in. Just be warned that the concierge is more focused on impressing the big spenders than on helping you find a charming dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

W Hotel is a very hip, trendy and accomodating place to stay. Rooms were small but comfortable. The staff was very attentive and willing to go the extra distance if needed. Loved the riding in the W experience Acura. Driver was very nice and polite

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed at the W in San Francisco for one night during a business trip and really enjoyed the hotel. This was my first stay at a W property and it definitely had a younger and hipper feel than other Starwood hotels. The hotel staff was very friendly and the hotel and room seemed very clean overall.

My room was stylishly, yet comfortably decorated. It had a nice king size bed, large desk area, flat screen tv, closet, and window seat with bridge view. The room was a nice size, but not huge. They made the most of the room size by adding a built in desk with tv hanging over top. The room's window seat was a unique touch. The room, like the hotel overall, had funky and hip decor touches like a glowing color changing Buddha lamp, kaleidoscope, alarm clock radio with ipod dock. The bathroom was clean and a good size and had some trendy decor as well. However, the bathroom door was made of a frosted glass which was slightly see-through and didn't have a lock. This was fine for me since I was traveling alone, but may be inconvenient to people traveling with friends or kids .

I liked this hotel much better than the Westin St. Francis (another Starwood property in San Francisco). The St. Francis caters to a much older crowd than the W. Overall, I really enjoyed the W hotel and liked the funky decor. I would recommend this hotel to business, couples, and younger (or young at heart) travelers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Fantastic views from this hotel and its in a prime location as it is near union square, the shopping meca of San Fran. It is also near the BART and all buses pass right in front of the hotel making it easily accessible to anywhere we want to go in San Fran.

The customer service was on-par. When I arrived their entire computer system had shut down and even under pressure with a high volume of clients walking in, the staff remained calm, organized, and in control. They were very accomodating and upgraded many guests to a nicer room for the short wait in line.

The concierge was very helpful and on-point with a recommendation of a new asian restaurant nearby that made our night illuminous. Superior service!

The decor is upbeat contemporary and culturally inviting, I loved the detailed touches like the buddha accent lighing in the room, spacious bathroom, cd in the cd player and the lighting and overall ambiance was romantic and posh.

A wonderful overall stay, I would highly recommend and will surely be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edeenl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The W hotels really try hard to be trendy and young. I guess I am over it now. (almost 40!) Still, I loved the Bliss shampoos and stuff. I did wish the expensive corner room was a little bigger for the price. It is very small and feels cramped. The modern furniture is wobbly and uncomforable.
I didn't like the over 1/2 hour wait we had to check in. They had one check in person for half that time and 2 conceirges , 2 bellmen who were not doing anything. I felt they should have offered me a drink at their XYZ bar for all that waiting (and on my birthday too!)
The indoor pool looked cool if overly chlorinated. I really wished I had gone to the spa there. Maybe I will go visit the spa but not stay there. A lot of style here but not a lot of service or substance.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.