We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Suited for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W San Francisco to your Saves list
W San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #64 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well Suited for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were just spending one night in San Francisco to celebrate our wedding anniversary before catching a flight the next day for Milan. Our hotel preference while in SF is usually The Palace or the St. Francis. Both of those hotels were sold out at the time we made our reservation as a huge convention was in town, so we decided to stay at the other Starwood property in the neighborhood, the W.
We were immediately greeted and had a very pleasant experience with check in. Our arrival time was in the late afternoon, and the small lobby was humming with business men and women chatting over drinks. We were escorted to our beautiful corner room with a separate sitting area, and the added benefit of in room coffee maker (a disappearing feature that we personally LOVE).
We have absolutely no complaints about the hotel, but on a personal level, we prefer the grandeur of the Westin St. Francis or The Palace (Luxury Collection). In fact, the following morning, we walked 10 minutes to have a romantic breakfast at The Palace.
However, if you are in town for business, the proximity of The W to the Moscone center is somewhat convenient, as is the central location to enjoy the area shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    494
    217
    98
    52
See reviews for
147
436
117
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a pretty funky hotel - well located, always a lot happening. And of course as you'd expect it's a pretty polished experience. There are a few things that let it down however. One is the temperature! It was cold. Trace restaurant was cold. Our room seemed to be cold irregardless of how we set air con.

Additionally my bed was kind of pulled up as the sheets we're wrinkly down by my feet. A small complaint I know but you do expect an expertly made bed in this type of hotel.

Seriously it was pretty good though......great service and a good vibe.

Could improve however.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi there,

Our centralized location is perfect for exploring everything San Francisco has to offer. If you need any tips for getting around, connect with our Insider Gordon. He knows a lot of great spots around town that are perfect for any mood.

If you have any issues throughout your stay, please let us know. We would be happy to do everything we can to make you stay more comfortable and warm.

We hope to see you soon.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel room is amazing but the enviroment of the whole hotel made the difference. It is a very modern hotel, the elevator, lobby, bar, room. The lobby bar menu has a few options of food, but the drinks and beverages menu is nice (specially the beer selection). The location is perfect and there are a lot of places close to the hotel. A plesant experience.

Room Tip: I got the Bay Bridge view. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi Reinaldo,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We are in the perfect location to enjoy everything San Francisco has to offer. If you need some ideas, our Insider Gordon would be glad to point you in the right direction! It seems you found your way around our hotel quiet easily and took advantage of our Living Room bar. Next time you're with us head into TRACE. Chef Jason Rea is amazing.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Typical W Hotel in terms of quality and cleanliness. I reserved a corner room and ended up on the 6th floor in the back. Great for sleeping at night, but was awoken by voices as the people working on the new W spa were working at 6:00 AM and they were literally 10 yards from my room..talking, banging, sawing, etc. So, I moved, only to be awoken the next morning by loud noises and when I looked out my room there was a crane operator at my floor level moving steel to build a building across the street, and this was on the other side of the hotel. You can't escape it. The fitness center is temporary and is a joke..they should offer a $50 discount just because you have to use the 24 Hour fitness (5 blocks away) if you want to work out.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until they finish building the spa and the building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello,

While there is construction going on around us, we are doing everything we can to ensure our guests are comfortable. Anything you need from ear plugs to a complete room move will be provided. We are currently undergoing a renovation ourselves but are aiming to be finished very soon. You'll have to stop by and check out our new terrace and FIT gym.

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were in the City celebrating a friends 50th and decided to stay at the W. This was our first visit to one of these hotels, so we weren't sure what to expect. We were impressed. The lobby does not have much to offer, but our room was great. We were on the 23rd floor in a corner room with great views of San Francisco. The decor was modern and the room was very clean.
Service was excellent, from the valet to the check in desk. We had dinner with 16 people at Traces restaurant and our food was very good. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SF.
It is centrally located and close to the Financial District and many fine restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello!

Thanks for choosing to celebrate with us! It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us! I'm glad you loved your room and had a chance to check out TRACE. Chef Jason is truly gifted and all the food is locally sourced. We even have our own garden on the rooftop. On your next visit, head to Upstairs Bar for a more intimate setting.

See you next time,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We are here now in a fabulous corner room. The hotel is nice, but we were disappointed to learn that you have to pay to use the sauna and steam room. We just came from the Four Seasons where this was included for all guests. It should not be an extra service, especially since the spa/gym area is under renovation.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Emily!

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad that you are enjoying your corner room and find our hotel comfortable. Use of the spa facilities is not complimentary, but understand your frustration with the limited amenities while we are renovating FIT. We invite you back to experience the finished product at the end of the summer. If you have any issues, please reach out to us @WSANFRANCISCO and we would be happy to help!

Best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

First time ever in SF, and loved staying at the W. My husband had booked our stay, and he did a great job! There was hot chocolate and cookies in the lobby by the check in counter. It was probably the best hot chocolate I ever had! Ok, back to the hotel: clean, colorful, modern room with a view of the city.

We had breakfast in their café/restaurant on one day. The food seemed really fresh, and cooked with very little oil. It was not typical restaurant quality. We had some type of eggs, and waffles.Their waffles were really good!



Great customer service, and just a great stay over all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.