We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W San Francisco

Save Saved
You added W San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #56 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My colleagues and I stayed at this property while attending a trade show recently. The location, whether traveling for business or leisure, is perfect! Easy access to the Bay Bridge (although rush hour traffic is very bad), and across the street from the Moscone convention centre. A couple of blocks away from Market St and all the shopping. Walk to Union Square only a few blocks. Lots of restaurants accessible by walking. Clean and bright rooms, beautiful views of the Bay bridge. Fun lounge for drinks after work, or kicking back after a day of shopping/sight seeing. Breakfast at Trace is tasty, however service extremely slow especially when in a large group and on a schedule. Prices of drinks/breakfast are standard hotel rates. Price of valet parking ($56 tax included) is excessive. Front desk service although friendly, lacks detail and attention. For example, I was not acknowledged as Starwood Gold when checking in, therefore there was unnecessary confusion afterwards regarding wifi access. My colleague who is Starwood Gold for life requested a cup of tea in her room one morning (only coffee available in the room) and they sent her walking to a cafe up the street instead of bringing a tea bag to her room. They also sent her to the cafe further away, neglecting to mention the closer Starbucks around the corner! However, when concierge made a dinner reservation for us, they arranged complimentary champagne and appetizer. Front desk was also helpful when we had to send a package through FedEx. So although service was hit or miss, it was a pleasant stay overall. I will reconsider staying here again however, if we have a car with us, as I find parking fee unreasonable. Will have to research what it is at other properties in the area.

Room Tip: Request room with a view of the Bay bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Exotic_Flower21,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your W experience with the online community. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, the room ambiance and our delicious breakfast at Trace. While we do not have any control over the parking rates as they are competitive, I'd like to apologize for the few certainly unintentional misses. I am glad to know that overall you had a great time with us and that you consider returning. Whenever you plan to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I would like to make sure that your next stay will be all hits and no misses!
Thank you for choosing W and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    440
    194
    82
    48
See reviews for
136
396
107
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My (then) boyfriend (now fiance) had surprised me with a trip to SFO for a 4-day getaway. The W was the perfect place to stay! It's modern, clean, friendly, and close to many amenities and tourist areas. The entry/concierge area is like the Hotel Max (in Seattle) and has a nice bar with great cocktails.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello, and congratulations on getting engaged! We love hearing when someone puts a ring on it!
I am so happy to hear that it was a perfect experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

We hear San Francisco is an amazing place to have a honeymoon!

Looking forward to it,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I staying in this hotel mid-week to attend a show in San Francisco. Even though we were using Starwood points for the stay we were treated like royalty (being British this is important, of course!). Upon entering the hotel lobby we were immediately greeted with a friendly smile from Claudia at the checking desk. She informed us that we had been upgraded to a better room than we had booked, gave us a couple of coupons for cocktails at the bar and checked us in quickly. The W offers a free car shuttle in an Acura SUV so we booked that for the evening. The guy on the desk said that they finished around the time we needed the ride and the destination was beyond their 5 mile service area but he would let us use the service anyway. We went to our room which was on a corner so two window views - the Moscone Center and Mission St. were our views. Very modern room, great amenities and the most comfortable bed. We had a quick bite to eat in the upstairs bar (newly renovated) - fancy burger, chicken sandwich, beer, wine, etc. Very nice young lady served us and was always very attentive. Overall, we had a great stay; excellent service from everyone we met in the hotel staff. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Great views and very light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Boddies2,
Thank you so much for the incredibly kind review. It's just so wonderful to hear back from our guests with such amazing comments! It's by far the perfect experience we'd like all of our guests to share after leaving the W San Francisco and it's what we so proudly work for every day: to provide our guests with a memorable stay! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Acura service, our room decor and all of our amenities as well as the food served at the bar. Thank you once again for your compliments and for recommending us to other travelers. Should you ever plan to visit San Francisco again, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
I will be happy to assist with anything in order to make your stay extra-special!
Kind Regards,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I previously stayed a night at a hotel in Fisherman's Wharf and this rest of the trip I wanted to stay somewhere downtown, around Union Square. I am a SPG member so I'm always looking to stay at a W hotel.

First location: being that your going to do a lot of walking in San Francisco, this is the best location for the area. Not too far from a BART station, across the street from the convention center and the Metreon which has a movie theater and some great places to eat. Maybe five blocks from Union Square where there's stores and restaurants nearby. I did a lot of walking so I was able to walk to AT&T Ballpark, walked by Ubisoft and even made to the Embarcadero.

Now the hotel: The lobby bar area had a nice vibe to it, a cool place to grab a quick drink or a place to hang out at night on the weekend. I decided to get a pedicure/foot massage from Bliss Spa and they did great work, love that place and there products. A little pricey but worth it to me. Hotel staff was professional and very helpful. Clean, comfortable and quiet rooms, the best beds(I had a king) and fantastic decor.I was upgraded to a corner room with free wifi. The wifi was fantastic, almost like the router was in my room. I recommend booking this hotel when going to San Francisco. I'll be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello, and thank you for providing a review on your stay with us! First, we love having SPG members in house, and I thank you for your continued loyalty to W Hotels!

I agree, our SOMA location is perfect for experiencing a neat part of town, with easy access to everything else.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Thanks again,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to good restaurants, market and the wharf. Staff is wonderfully accommodating. The concierges were spot on with reservations and suggestions. Rooms are W in that they are bright and light and up to date.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi J M,
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We really are located in a great part of the city and we have an amazing team here that is constantly going above and beyond to create memorable experiences. It's our promise of service to our guests to provide Whatever they need, Whenever they need it, so please come back and leave it on us to make it an unforgettable stay!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect from a W. Rooms are well appointed. The Fantastic Suite was spacious and a great place to entertain friends. I've stayed here many times and the front desk staff always behaves like their annoyed they have to check me in. Crack a smile folks and ask me how my trip was. I may look worn out and annoyed too from travelling all day but humor me and be pleasant for just two minutes. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Edward H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with the online community. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Fantastic Suite and that you found the hotel and our amenities to be up to your expectations. I'm so sorry that your interaction with our Welcome Desk staff was not satisfactory, as it is very uncommon to receive negative comments on our level of customer service. I do hope that you keep coming back and next time you visit, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We appreciate your loyalty and I'll be happy to contribute in any way to making your next stay memorable!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This has all the hallmarks of a classic W! It's cool, trendy and hip. The lighting is subdued and the staff most helpful. When I was there the was a convention group staying and partying in the bar.
The bar is on the ground level and is friendly and welcoming.

The restaurant in the hotel is good. I only had breakfast there and the welcome was great. The breakfast equal to that.

Hotel is well located to walk in to the heart of the city and downtown. Union Square is a short walk and you have access to quality shopping about 7 mins walk away. The downtown area or CBD is no more than a 15/20 min walk away.

There are good selection of restaurants within short walking distance.

The Bliss Spa is within the hotel and is good if slightly pricey.

Ask for a high floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - it will allow a restful evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us in San Francisco! I am glad you had a chance to eat at TRACE, our new farm to table restaurant. Recently, our Executive Chef Paul Piscopo became a beekeeper, and we are using our own Rooftop Honey from the top of the hotel!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Sincerely,

Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.