We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, trendy and laid back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W San Francisco

Save Saved
You added W San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #58 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, trendy and laid back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to good restaurants, market and the wharf. Staff is wonderfully accommodating. The concierges were spot on with reservations and suggestions. Rooms are W in that they are bright and light and up to date.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi J M,
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We really are located in a great part of the city and we have an amazing team here that is constantly going above and beyond to create memorable experiences. It's our promise of service to our guests to provide Whatever they need, Whenever they need it, so please come back and leave it on us to make it an unforgettable stay!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    452
    199
    88
    48
See reviews for
141
404
109
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect from a W. Rooms are well appointed. The Fantastic Suite was spacious and a great place to entertain friends. I've stayed here many times and the front desk staff always behaves like their annoyed they have to check me in. Crack a smile folks and ask me how my trip was. I may look worn out and annoyed too from travelling all day but humor me and be pleasant for just two minutes. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Edward H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with the online community. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Fantastic Suite and that you found the hotel and our amenities to be up to your expectations. I'm so sorry that your interaction with our Welcome Desk staff was not satisfactory, as it is very uncommon to receive negative comments on our level of customer service. I do hope that you keep coming back and next time you visit, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We appreciate your loyalty and I'll be happy to contribute in any way to making your next stay memorable!
Warm Regards,
Claudia Nuta
claudia.nuta@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This has all the hallmarks of a classic W! It's cool, trendy and hip. The lighting is subdued and the staff most helpful. When I was there the was a convention group staying and partying in the bar.
The bar is on the ground level and is friendly and welcoming.

The restaurant in the hotel is good. I only had breakfast there and the welcome was great. The breakfast equal to that.

Hotel is well located to walk in to the heart of the city and downtown. Union Square is a short walk and you have access to quality shopping about 7 mins walk away. The downtown area or CBD is no more than a 15/20 min walk away.

There are good selection of restaurants within short walking distance.

The Bliss Spa is within the hotel and is good if slightly pricey.

Ask for a high floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - it will allow a restful evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us in San Francisco! I am glad you had a chance to eat at TRACE, our new farm to table restaurant. Recently, our Executive Chef Paul Piscopo became a beekeeper, and we are using our own Rooftop Honey from the top of the hotel!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Sincerely,

Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Little bit of the "conventioneer scene" but...

This hotel has a great location. Great service. Nice rooms. Decent prices for SF.

Starwood Member? They gave me 500 points for declining room service one night.

Quiet rooms. Friendly staff.

Workout facilities are kind of weak but nice pool!

Room Tip: Window view on the Bay Bridge side is great. If you can get a corner room that's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia N, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Scott B,
We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location, our top-notch service, the modern chic room design and the amazing view of the Bay Bridge. Thank you for making a green choice and for being a loyal Starwood member, I am very pleased to know that you have opted out of Styling your room - it's a great contribution to our efforts of staying green.
All the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to W San Francisco!
Warm Wishes,
Claudia Nuta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Walking into the hotel room I thought the view out the window was a painted picture. We had a view overlooking the embarcadero and the bay bridge. We were also on the 28th floor so it was an incredible sight to see. This hotel was in walking distance of many main sights, union square, ferry building, market street. I definitely will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review! The views from the top floors are truly epic, and I am glad you enjoyed them!

I love our SOMA location, easy access to everything in San Francisco, plus a cool South of Market vibe.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here multiple times and it has been just fine, not outstanding but fine. However, like they say customer service is best revealed when there is a problem and they failed grandly when one surfaced. The short of it is I booked a client there for a week and prepaid their visit as well as provided credit card information, at checkout the staff could not find the pre-payment,credit card information or notes pertaining to the visit. The staff (including the manager) proceeded to outright embarass my client and his wife and actually asked them what they were "trying to get away with"! I was mortified when I heard about this, not to mention that it took a great deal to smooth things over and certainly put an unwanted spin on my business negotiations following the visit. All in all a very bad experience. There is more regarding a lost bag for several hours (taken to the wrong room) forgotten dinner reservation with concierge and down pillow mix-up, but the horrible checkout took the cake. I am experienced with W hotels and have amassed about 150k SPG points with that chain alone, but I will never book another client with this property..frankly it was just too costly business wise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post this feedback on your recent experience. I am sorry to see that you and your clients experienced any issues. I would love the chance to communicate directly with you on this issue, and ensure that we discover what happened. I do hope you contact me at your convenience, brad.wulff@whotels.com.

Thank you, and I am looking forward to it!

Sincerely,

Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at this property in December of 2012, during a one-night whirlwind business trip.

I'm a frequent Starwood guest and have now stayed at every Starwood property in the Bay Area. My experience at this W was simply fantastic. The service at both the front desk and concierge were top-notch. They were courteous, respectful and much more helpful than your normal, everyday staff. In addition, the lobby bar was wonderful with nice, stiff cocktails, good service and good music. It was a nice place to wind down after a day of business (or pleasure I guess). The room was not large, but it was laid out very well with clean, contemporary furnishings. And the bed was dreamy!

I travel often to the Bay area and will make this property my default. Well done guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello, and I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We love having SPG members in house, and it is always a pleasure to know we are reflecting positively on the brand!

Thank you for the continued loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#84 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.