We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W San Francisco to your Saves list
W San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #63 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The W is always, hip fun and funky. But I really enjoyed this one. The bar wasn't too packed. The food at the bar was excellent. The food at the restaurant was also excellent. The service was very good. Used the spa and the treatments were good as well.

Room Tip: Corner room have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello, I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you really had a chance to experience all of our outlets and amenities during your time in San Francisco.

We are really proud of TRACE, our new restaurant, and I am so glad you found the food excellent.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    488
    216
    96
    51
See reviews for
146
435
117
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Before we even got to San Fran, the W concierge service had set up dinners, rides etc.. for us over the phone. When we walked throught the doors, the staff meet us and made us feel right at home. I cant compliment the service enough. It was beyond exceptional. They made a great weekend turn into a memorable experience. The rooms were amazing and the beds were unreal. I would only recommend staying at the W for a fun, pleasurable, youthful, courteous and professional hotel. I would definately stay here again. Thanks W San Francisco!

Room Tip: The corner suites had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us!

We LOVE receiving great feedback on our service, as we take it very seriously. It is always our goal to live up to our Whatever/Whenever culture, and I am happy we succeeded with you!

You are so welcome, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great corner room on the 14th floor with nice views of the city. Wonderful staff, extremely friendly and courteous. Very knowledgeable consierge with nice restaurant recommendations. Awesome lounge upstairs. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was in town for an overnight and all day meetings, caught the BART from SFO and walked to the W.

First, the W's reception lobby seems strangely located, you go through the revolving doors into... the bar? Wander down past the bar and in what looks like a large hallway is the reception area. The staff is truly friendly and provide great service.

Was given and upgrade to a high floor corner room (thanks SPG!) that was very large, had great views looking out to Market Street facing side. The room was clean, bed was great and had an enormous bathroom, somehow that standard tub/shower seemed a bit out of place in this room.

Elements of the room were showing some mileage, bits of the desk were missing/broken, and in general some painted areas were scuffed/dented.

However, it's a great location if you're attending a conference at Moscone or visiting SF, eg. the art museum is right next door and you're just off Market Street and can catch the street cars or the BART.

Room Tip: If you can get a high floor, the views are truly great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello, and thank you for staying at W San Francisco on your recent trip.
Congratulations on taking the BART, you sound like this wasn’t your first trip to the Bay Area! It is really easy to get to W San Francisco from SFO, and a lot of our seasoned travelers make that choice.

I am so happy that you found our Welcome team helpful, and we do have a main entrance located near the Welcome Desk, but the entrance to our Living Room bar is really popular.
We love being able to upgrade our SPG members, and really appreciate the continued loyalty.
I hope to welcome you back to W San Francisco on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Looking at the fabulous Bay Bridge while my plastic Buddha shines on me. What a gorgeous spot.
The lobby and bar are sophisticated and being next door to the MOMA makes them creative in location. It's in the air.
This was a business trip and my cohorts all agreed it was stylish.
The service was a little strange almost too many young people who didn't have a clue.
Left a sweater in the lost and found and they gave me a hard time about sending it to me, REALLY. Took three calls to the hotel and I still don't have the sweater!

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed our SOMA location, it is a great part of San Francisco.

I am sorry you found the service to be strange, we pride ourselves on offering a Whatever/Whenever level of service that really differentiates us from any other property.

I hope you recovered your sweater, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menlo park, ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are not the target audience for the W's of the world. I really wish I had had a hotel catering to me hen i was 30. But I like the youth vibe of the W's I have stayed at. And at the W SF at least the lights are bright enough to see where you are going. The hotel is beautiful. We got a 30th floor room with great city views. Lots off expensive booze around the room, none of which was sufficiently tempting. Excellent fast free wifi throughout. I didn't realize that the hotel has a very nice pool. Next time I'll bring a suit. Good dinner and breakfast menus. A very interesting use of light sculpture, that is more or less the signature of W. Valet parking puts your car in the MOMA garage around the corner, since the hotel does not have their own garage. You can park it yourself there for $30/24 hours and save the valet fee.

Room Tip: all rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time at W San Francisco! We cater to a wide variety of guests, regardless of age.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time, and I do hope you take advantage of WET!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The common areas of this hotel - entrance, desk, bar, lifts - are very W: dark, modern, full of music and design elements. The rooms are more standard, yet new, clean-cut and cleverly designed to fit all facilities and high-tech equipment into a relatively small space (given that this is in the middle of a very expensive city, one can't expect large rooms). The bathroom is particularly pleasant, with marble, large towels and great Bliss toiletries. The special W bed is a clear highlight, extra-comfortable and really plush. San Francisco town center starts only a few steps away and there are restaurants and cafes just around the corner. There is as much glass as possible so you can see the view, though in this part of town there is little more to see from above than high-rise buildings. All in all, it is a great city hotel - price aside - and I would very happily stay again!

Room Tip: The review is based on a second-tier room type (one above the standard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.