We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Hotel Vintage Court to your Saves list
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The executive hotel wasn't too bad, but it wasn't great either. The room itself was pretty good (except the bathroom which was outrageously small), and was cleaned well each day. The staff were pretty awful, except the housekeeping lady who was perfectly lovely. Location was good, only a couple of blocks from Union Square. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a 'Poor' is because I imagine that most San Francisco hotels are pretty vintage(old)/boutiquey(small).

Jonathon, a member of the lobby staff, was terrible. We checked out at about 11am (give or take an hour, can't remember), and had to wait until about 6pm for a shuttle to the airport. Obviously we didn't want to wait in the hotel for that whole time so we decided that we would leave our bags with the hotel and go for a walk/explore/find something to eat. So we asked Jonathon if he could keep the bags for us, to which he said that there was no room out the back so we would just have to leave them in the lobby, and he would keep an eye on them. We were a bit uncomfortable with that, but ended up doing it anyway. When we got back the bags were still there, but it was a different concierge member and we were going to head out for a bit again, so we asked this staff member if he could put the bags and the back and explained that Jonathon had said there wasn't any room. The new staff member look at another one with a strange look and said there was heaps of room out the back, and put the bags there. So I'm not sure if Jonathon was incompetent or lazy, but either way it was pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations SHOULD be enjoyable! I however am a bit surprised that your review was poor when the Executive Hotel Vintage Court has had many happy and satisfied guests recently stay at our hotel. You noted a clean room and nice housekeeping staff but had a hiccup with our bell staff and process of luggage storage.

I apologize and have discussed directly with our bell staff about the claim check and luggage issue you received as it was poorly handled. I personally will make sure such error is correct for other hotel guests. Your comments are taken serious and it appears the service you received was not what you expected. If you did reach out to our staff and did not receive the proper service, please feel free to contact me directly anytime at 415-392-4666 so we can discuss your unpleasant stay further.

Again, I apologize but the Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable!

Sincerely,
Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    335
    154
    68
    46
See reviews for
79
345
55
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel truly is "Vintage" but I mean that in a good way. Its very old and the evidence of that all around you. The glass door knobs, the hexagonal tile floor in the bathroom, the old light fixtures, etc... This is the part of the hotel that some people like me consider charming, while others would consider old and rundown. For me, its much more interesting to stay in an an old hotel with all its character that to stay in a ultra modern business hotel in the financial district. Our room with the queen bed was on the small side but not too bad. Bathroom is small too but if you are just staying a night or two, its no big deal. Bed was plenty comfortable and room came equipped with a flat panel TV so not everything was from the horse and buggy days. Other reviewers complained about a musty smell but we didn't notice that in our room. The one thing that is true is the noise. You can clearly hear when people are in the hallway talking. Sound comes through the door like its not even there. Luckily our floor was fairly quiet that night but we did wake up when we heard people talking while coming up the stairs in the wee hours of the night. The best part about the hotel is the location... its a short walk to Union Square and only about a block away from the Stockton Street parking garage where we paid $34 for a 24-hour period. Staff was very friendly. We forgot to go to the wine reception which was one of the reasons we picked this hotel but I still give them points for offering it. We will definitely come back again to try it out. This is a great hotel for couples, not so much for families with kids.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bush Street will have a a better view but you also might get a lot of street noise. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmvcsf, General Manager at Executive Hotel Vintage Court, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Recent Guest, Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the Executive Hotel Vintage Court and our exceptional staff and services, location and amenities! As noted in your review, the Executive Hotel Vintage Court staff is always here to make your visit to San Francisco a joy and your accommodations should be enjoyable! Our success is and was to make your time with us memorable! Thanks again! Lastly, when you return to San Francisco please to not hesitate to contact us directly for room reservations or visit our website. Until then, I hope you and your future travels are secure and friendly as you have found at the Executive Hotel Vintage Court.

Best regards,

Bill Engelhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rooms are shabby and dirty with an odd smell. There was hair all over the bathroom, the shampoo was half used and the toilet seat was coming off. Wallpaper is peeling and surfaces are dusty. Needs updating and better cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Vintage style hotel in a central location. Very close to Union Square / Bars / Shopping / Downtown. Very close to convenient trams / red buses so forget renting a car. Not sure if they still do complimentary wine-tasting? They are on top of a fancy restaurant / wine cellar. Hotel is on the top of a very, very steep hill. Tip: Buy day-passes for the trams.

Room Tip: It's always a good idea to distance from elevators in vintage buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarwood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The year 2013 will be my third trip to the Vintage Count Hotel. That should say it all. The staff are the reason for returning. The smiles always happy to see you and what you have planned
for the day, and ready with new ideas. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Now to the best
part Wine in the lobby each evening. If your looking for a hotel within walking distance to all the good stuff-----stay at the Vintage Court.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Was
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Room was noisy. Blinds on windows do not keep out the light. Towels very old and worn. Front desk staff were not helpful. They messed up my bill and charged my credit card 3 times. It took a week of calling the hotel to get the bill sorted out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in this nice little boutique hotel several times and never been disappointed. Rooms are charming with comfortable rooms, modest bathrooms. The friendly staff offer help with restaurant reservations and city activities. The wine reception hour gives a chance to enjoy featured Napa wines. Previously we have dined at Masa's, a must restaurant for special occasions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Hotel Vintage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Vintage Court

Address: 650 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Executive Hotel Vintage Court 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBIANCE- Elegant, European-style AAA three diamond hotel, reminiscent of an inviting Napa Valley Inn - Intimate setting providing a high level of personalized service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff- Wine-themed hotel with each of the guestrooms adorned with names and artwork from California wineries- Warm and welcoming "living room" style lobby with fireplace and comfortable seating areas LOCATION- Historic 1912 building located on the Nob Hill side of Union Square - Two blocks from Union Square, San Francisco's finest shopping district- Less than one block from the Powell Street cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf- Two blocks from the ornate gate entrance of Chinatown and three blocks to the Financial District- Neighboring a wide variety of bistros, cafes and restaurants GUEST ROOMS - 106 spacious nonsmoking guestrooms on eight floors decorated to enrich the hotel's connection with the wine country- Penthouse suite with wood burning fireplace, view of city lights, original 1912 stained glass ceiling, and Jacuzzi tub - Writing desks, inlaid with outlets, in each guestroom - Telephone with extra-long cord, voice mail and dataport - Wireless Internet available throughout the hotel for a small fee - Fully stocked honor bar in each guestroom - Hairdryers, irons and ironing boards in each guestroom - LCD Hi-Definition television with full cable, Nintendo and pay-per-view movies GUEST SERVICES - Wine reception by the fireplace in the lobby from 5 p.M. To 6 p.M. Each evening- Valet parking with in and out privileges for $42 plus tax per day, self parking for $32 plus tax per day- Concierge services available, offering preferred reservations at restaurants- Fitness room, open daily 6 AM - 10 PM- San Francisco Chronicle and USA TODAY newpaper MEETING FACILITY - Private Boardroom with original stained glass ceiling with skylight from 1912 - Conference seating for 12 people or reception for 25 people - Drop projection screen in room, audiovisual equipment available upon request- Windows providing natural light and expansive city views MASA'S- Renovations are on place to bring a delightful dining experience in Summer 2014. Currently, a light breakfast service is available daily from 6:30 am to 10am in our dining room for hotel guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Executive Hotel Vintage Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Francisco
Vintage Court San Francisco
Hotel Vintage Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Hotel Vintage Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.