We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel, superb location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel, superb location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights earlier this month.
The location is great, on Powell St, right beside Union Square! The nearest BART station is right down the street, which makes it easy coming from the airport.
The lobby is very nice and the staff was helpful.
The room wasn't very big, but it was functional and the bed was very comfortable.
The room had a iPod docking station, flat screen TV with more channels than you can watch and a coffee maker. The shower was great and had really good pressure.
We had no view and the window was quite dirty but we didn't care! The room overall was in good condition and very clean. Good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    425
    160
    59
    52
See reviews for
183
382
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is spectacular in terms of architecture and service. They've modernized the facilities but didn't over do it. You still get the old time charm and elegance that an older hotel has to offer. We had a junior suite which was plenty of room for 3. The couch folds out to a full size bed. There is a modern bathroom that allows for privacy. The windows open so you can get fresh air too. The location is great - right in the heart of Union Square. It's so close to restaurants, bars, shopping and public transportation. Loved, loved, loved the hotel. Staff have an amazing ability to remember you and your name. Standout employees for me were: Victoria, Art and Sean. Kudos to you all and thank you for spoiling us for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: Junior suites a must for more than 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was our second visit to Villa Florence and although our first visit had us staying in a larger room we quite enjoy this old dame of a place.

Great lobby bar, Kuleto's restaurant is awesome and well priced and out the door is a plethora of options for eating, drinking and carrying on. Of course the famous cable cars go right by the door and this simply adds to any trip.

If I were to make any comments or concerns it would be smaller size of this years room. Last year we stayed in a King room and I would have preferred that option again. The queen or double bed room we stayed in was a little tight.

I agree with one other item I read about adding on additional fees and taxes. Probably a good idea to get this sorted as you make your reservation.

We would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for 420 or 520...big room with a king and excellent bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in the city centre this is a great location, just up from Powell st on the BART, on the street for the cable cars, and a block from Union Sq (however I'd recommend fishermans wharf over the city centre).

The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff very helpful.

The only thing to consider is they add the tax, city tax, room tax, admin fee (the list goes on) on top of the price quoted, so what looks a good deal can soon not be one!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here 1 night after meetings in the Bay Area before flying back home. The room was clean, but catapulted me back to the 80's, when the colors where in fashion and the room actually decorated. The paint in the bathroom was falling off the wall, the A/C didn't stop making noise in the "off" setting, you can hear the neighbors talk (and other things too).
The location is very central to San Francisco. 1 minute walk from the BART, the cable car, the trams on Market street, Union Square etc...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just 5 min walk from Union Square, 10min walk from Moscone Centre, you only have to walk to anywhere in town. Cable car stop is just across the hotel, so travelling down to Fisherman's wharf is a breeze if you decide not to take the long walk down.

Rooms are spacious with nice warm showers. There's a gym for those who are visiting San Francisco in the rare instance the weather is too unpleasant to run outside. Beautiful Italian themed restaurant on the ground floor for your meals.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was pleasant and comfortable enough but I thought overpriced for what it was. Our check-in experience was pleasant and the staff friendly, particularly the bellman Albert. The hotel is done up in a Tuscan-style which looked quite tired but I had a large comfortable (king) room (small bathroom but everything you needed). The main thing I disliked about this hotel was that all the corridors had this very strong stale smell that was really unpleasant. My friend was staying on a different floor and she said the same. I also had a room facing the main street, which was extremely noisy so pack ear plugs or request a room facing the inner courtyard (my friend was offered this at check-in but no mention of the street noise was made to me). We had breakfast at the hotel and this was tasty with good service. I also visited the hotel gym, which was very small and extremely basic and could do with an upgrade. At over $400 a night (inclusive of tax), this was more expensive than the really lovely hotels I had just stayed in at Soho, NY and central London and just did not seem worthy of that price tag. I was really shocked (the booking was made by my business travel agent) but I have heard that San Francisco accommodation is expensive in general so maybe you need to really shop around. We got the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf from our hotel, which was easy to do. Fisherman's Wharf itself was a bit tacky and touristy though. Far nicer was the Russian District, which was walking distance and had really cool restaurants and those typical San Francisco streets.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel

Address: 225 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Bellissima. A taste of Italy in the heart of Union Square. The Villa Florence embodies the feel of a modern Italian urban villa, providing warm, exceptional service and charming accommodations to its guests. With its fusion of eclectic European flair and metropolitan energy, the Villa Florence is authentically furnished and is ideally located in the epicenter of San Francisco – steps from Union Square. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the JRK Hotel Group, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including CO Bigelow bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. While visiting the Villa Florence, guests can dine casually at Bar Norcini, located within the hotel. It’s an intimate wine bar and from the decor to the wonderful selection of wines, charcuterie and cheeses, Bar Norcini celebrates the flavors and traditions of Italy. Just next door, adjacent to the lobby, you'll find Kuleto's Italian Restaurant, a San Francisco institution for locals and visitors alike for over twenty years, serves exquisite Northern Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Florence Larkspur Collection
Villa Florence San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.