We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Amazing location and prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Its pretty hard to beat this hotel in terms of location (located in a major shopping district, waterfront & mission district less than a 30 min walk). The staff was also very helpful and will go out of their way in terms of making the best of your stay!

I was located on the 7th floor overlooking Powell street. If you are looking for a quiet room, I wouldnt suggest any rooms that overlook Powell street as it gets quite noisy, but nothing unbearable.

If I make it back to SF, then this hotel will be first on my list to book at.

Room Tip: If youre looking for a quieter room, ask for something not overlooking Powell st. If you dont mind a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    426
    161
    60
    52
See reviews for
184
382
88
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Your internet will not work. The hotel stinks very strongly. It's disgusting in the hallways. The rooms are old and depressing, and will ruin your vacation. There will be banging noises late at night and early in the morning, keeping you from sleeping, ruining your day. I hate this hotel. It feels like one of the homeless who inundate this city runs this crappy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad1971, General Manager at Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear RM,

I am so sorry to read about your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly so that I can get the full details as to what occurred and so that I may have the opportunity to make this right. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Chad Olson
General Manager
415-617-1027
colson@villaflorence.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights last week and will start by saying that you can't beat the location. On Powell Street and in Union Square, you can walk or hail a quick cab to anything entertaining. If you like boutique hotels, then this may be the perfect place for you. The service from check-in to check-out was very friendly, helpful and prompt. The lobby is charming and has a cute bar for a quick beverage or snack before heading out to a great restaurant nearby. Ideal if you like wine, but only beer choices are Anchor Steam and Peroni, yes, only two beer choices...

The hotel is obviously an old and refurbished property which means your room and bathroom are tiny. The bedding comfort level was average at best, so bring your own pillows if you want a good rest. Avoid room #229 unless you want a view of huge loud HVAC units on a dark and shaded roof, thereby providing a "cave like" experience in my room. I also never needed a wakeup call because the room is next to the fitness center, so 6:00 AM sounds of treadmills and chit chat among the visitors were enough to wake me quickly.

Overall a 3+ experience for what you would expect from a unique boutique hotel in a fantastic setting in Union Square.

Room Tip: Ask about where your room is located to avoid the fitness center and HVAC views. Bring your own pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Despite I think it cost too much, I have no issue to report. Good service, very well located just close to Union Square, nice facilities and delicious food by its restaurant. It fits nicelly for both business and pleasure purposes.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved staying at the Villa Florence. The location doesn't get any better. The quality of the room for the price was amazing. Not much on the TV for kids but we were not really there for the television shows anyway. The restaurant there is first class as was the hotel.

Room Tip: No view from the room, but the quality for the price was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfy, room nice, bathroom great, and staff great. Now, I'll cut to the chase. I was surprised with an administrative fee upon arrival. I booked through Priceline and have never experienced additional fees until here. $20/day for administrative fees with the only specific billable item mentioned being wifi. I am all about paying for what I use an nothing else. However, I asked if these were mandatory fees and was told yes. $20/day for wifi is outrageous, especially when my cell service was much faster.

I followed up a few days into my stay and the staff at the front desk accommodated my concern and took care of the administrative fees. Paying for wifi is one thing, but if the hotel is not charging enough for hotel rooms and then recouping that monetary gap with an admin fee... well it feels deceptive to me. If other hotels are pulling the same in order to advertise lower prices to have a competitive edge, then shame on the industry. I've stayed at many hotels recently and have not experienced this. Maybe it's a California thing. I do not know. Double-checking the hotel's website reveals nothing about administrative fees.

One other note is that the TV in the room rebooted every 2-4 minutes; consulting the Internet revealed this was a common and known issue with that model Philips. Not a big deal as there is much more fun lurking in the fantastic area of town you're in.

Overall, a nice hotel in a nice spot with generally great staff. Just ask a lot of questions about fees before booking.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I really don't do reviews but I promised the staff I would say something. I couldn't have been happier with my stay. Not only did I have a great time in the heart of the city, I met amazing people (staff made me feel like family) and made every effort to make my stay comfortable after I had a flight cancelled due to weather back home on the east coast... and when the New England Patriots lost, there was a bottle of wine in my room to help dry my tears. If you get a chance to stay here, it's a treat. Great people, great location and awesome food. I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel

Address: 225 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Bellissima. A taste of Italy in the heart of Union Square. The Villa Florence embodies the feel of a modern Italian urban villa, providing warm, exceptional service and charming accommodations to its guests. With its fusion of eclectic European flair and metropolitan energy, the Villa Florence is authentically furnished and is ideally located in the epicenter of San Francisco – steps from Union Square. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the JRK Hotel Group, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including CO Bigelow bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. While visiting the Villa Florence, guests can dine casually at Bar Norcini, located within the hotel. It’s an intimate wine bar and from the decor to the wonderful selection of wines, charcuterie and cheeses, Bar Norcini celebrates the flavors and traditions of Italy. Just next door, adjacent to the lobby, you'll find Kuleto's Italian Restaurant, a San Francisco institution for locals and visitors alike for over twenty years, serves exquisite Northern Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Florence Larkspur Collection
Villa Florence San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Florence, A JRK Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.