We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Staff friendly upon arrival and throughout the 4 night stay. Location of hotel is perfect:close to shopping, union square, walking distance to fishermans wharf, trams and bike rentals etc.
the room itself was quite dark and not very spacious and could have been cleaner. However the location outweighed the room itself

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel on trip advisor, we value your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. I apologize about the cleanliness of your room and promise to address this with our housekeeping department. I truly hope this does not affect your return to our hotel. We hope to see you soon.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    376
    164
    60
    46
See reviews for
121
397
82
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Union Square Hotel is ideally situated, close to shopping, transportation (BART, MUNI and streetcars) and, of course, Union Square.

Our room was MASSIVE, and quite comfortable. The decor is quite charming, befitting a boutique hotel. The bed was wonderful, and our room was quite quiet. (Our view was not spectacular, but this also probably helped in the quietness of our room). The bathroom was also very large, but the shower head was set quite low and we couldn't figure out if it was adjustable for my partner (who is 6' tall). The motion-sensor lights in the bathroom are quite handy. They do tend to go out if you're in the shower for a few minutes, but a quick wave fixes that no problem.

Wifi was strong, and is free for as any devices as you need. The mini-fridge in the room was also a nice touch for keeping drinks/snacks cool. The complimentary lobby wine was a nice touch as well. Overall, a great experience - would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Judging from other travellers' reviews, the size of rooms vary greatly. It may not hurt to requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Corey Q.,

Thank You for staying with us at Hotel Union Square! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the centrality, room size, design, and amenities of our hotel. We hope you think of us next time you travel to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The room we got was tiny, the bathroom was the smallest ever, so my husband who is 195cm tall had difficulty using the shower... It was also very noisy, the building is very old, so the window didn't shut properly so since it was the middle of winter, it made our stay and sleep more that uncomfortable.....
Will not stay in this hotel again, there are plenty more to choose from in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I am disappointed to hear that you disliked the room that you were given. I promise to address the issues in which you've mentioned with our maintenance department. I truly hope you changed your mind about staying at our hotel. We have a variety of room types and would be more than happy to find one that works for you.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I am currently staying here and dissatisfied with the room I got. Paid $234 a night and got a small room, with the sink separated from the bathroom. They didn't have a closet nor did they have a iron board OR a fridge. I had to request all of this when I got here. The only thing they had was a comfortable bed. This place sucks - save your money and go to Westin or Hilton up the street.

Oh yeah, the view is horrible. It's another building 5 feet away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I am sorry that the room in which you received did not meet your expectations. Had we been made aware of your dissatisfaction we would have done our best to find a different category for you. We hope you change your mind about our hotel and give us a second chance to make things right.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. Final room clean and comfortable. However despite booking more than six months in advance a two queen room, we were initially put in a weird kid suite( with a talking clown) and one bed. Alex on reception even lied to us and said it was an upgrade, and the hotel was full. After a heated conversation in which he again told blatant lies a room was located, that matched what we booked. Manager rang to apologise, and said they would follow up and contact us again to see if there was anything they could do or offer, this never happened. Stayed 4 nights, location excellent, good luck with the room selection and reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry about the inconvenience that was caused during your stay. Rest assured the issues concerning your check-in have been addressed with my staff. If I can recall correctly, I followed up with you shortly after your check-in and apologized, I also asked if there was anything else I could do for you in which you declined. I am sorry that you had a bad stay at our hotel and hope that you would consider staying with us again.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Located in central downtown SF, just a block from the Cable Car Powell Station and the subway. is a renovated building in a modern fashion. The hotel has access to a restaurant next door (Tad´s Steakhouse) that is quite fine for breakfast and subs. There are a lot of option for other hotels in the area, but it deserves a chance just because of its location, is perfect; I give not a higher rating because compared to other hotels the Union Square is just fine, but it not pretend to be the finest one, simply be a good option for travelers that clearly stay in the hotel just for the night. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the bathroom also comfortable and the quietness is a plus, even that we were in a room facing Powell Street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have stayed in SF many, many times in the last 5 years. I have stayed in old hotels, new hotels, ugly hotels & beautiful hotels. I booked this room based on the pictures on the website. The rooms looked very "hip" and modernized considering the building is almost 100 years old. I figured since i was taking my girlfriend for her first trip to SF, this would be a very pleasant place to stay. I even booked the "sleep and soak" room, thinking it was the nicer of the room options. and considering I paid over $400 for 2 nights. Upon arriving, the lobby was very nice and "hip" as the photos suggested. We were assigned room 619, but before we entered the elevator, the concierge stopped us and told us he was going to give us room with a better air conditioner (623). When we finally made it to our room, we were surprised to see that the room was very small and had NO windows to the outside world, at all. Going to the Bathroom was another problem. The neat looking sliding glass doors would not stay closed. which made for a very uncomfortable time when trying to privately "do our business". There was a very sharp towel rack in the very small tub/shower. We both continuously scrapped our backs, arms and shoulders on while trying to take a shower. We both have the cuts to take home as souvenirs. The bed seemed as though it was as old as the building itself, VERY VERY uncomfortable. I dont often have trouble sleeping or wake up with back pain. but the first night, i barely slept since the bed was so uncomfortable. The second night I was able to sleep only because i was so tired from not sleeping the night before. but woke up with terrible back pain that lasted the rest of my trip and make for an extremely uncomfortable 8 hour drive home. I had to have my key re programmed 2 times in the 2 days we stayed there because it stopped working on my door, which was very frustrating because we had to go all the way back to the lobby after long days of walking the city when all we wanted to do was lay down and rest. All in all, I am very dissatisfied with this hotel. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadivsor. I am truly sorry about the stay that you had hear at our hotel. I've taken note all of the issues in which were mentioned and had our maintenance department follow up on everything. I wish you had contacted the desk during your stay to voice your concerns so that we were able to move you into a different room. Once again I apologize for everything and hope that you change your mind about our hotel.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.