We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of Union Square. It is an older boutique hotel with unique design and style. The staff was wonderful, the room exceptionally clean, and is located in the middle of shops and restaurants. There is a wine reception every evening and a coffee/tea bar in the mornings. One downside is the parking. It gets very crowded and difficult to maneuver during heavy pedestrian traffic. We come to San Francisco frequently and will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    363
    160
    60
    46
See reviews for
117
385
82
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location in San Francisco if you want to go shopping and see tourist attractions. Powell St station was less than a 5min walk and the bus stop for the "hop on, hop off" tours were literally around the corner! The rooms are spacious and decor is modern with an old school twist. Staff were friendly and helpful however, when we had to leave our bags in the hotel until our airport shuttle came to pick us up, the door guy was not happy. We had 7 suitcases and a few smaller bags between 3 people. We were travelling back home to Australia so baggage allowance is a lot more generous. I understand if he was stressed out but at the same token, this is a hotel and people leave their bags ALL THE TIME. I felt like he wanted me to get out of his hair and to be honest, I was scared to even bring the rest of my bags down because I didn't want to piss him off!

I would stay here again but maybe next time, I'll bring fewer bags...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Whitney C.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thourough review to share with other travelers. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the central location and accessibility of Hotel Union Square. Our warmest apologies for the lack of attendance to your many bags - we will be sure to address this on our end. Glad to know that you were happy overall and we hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel has an amazing location. It is right in the heart of Union Square. Perfect for those who want to shop with lots of stores and malls. For those who want food take your pick of restaurants there's something for everyone in walking distance. The trolley is a mere stones throw away. The hotel staff is extremely knowledgeable and can pretty much answer any question you have. I'm going back to San Fran. In April and I will defiantely be staying here again. It's in the heart of union square so if your looking for peaceful and quiet then this is not the hotel for you. You can hear the city around you and all the activity and that's one reason I liked it. Also on a side note be sure to book your Alcatraz tour before you leave home or you won't be able to visit it. It sells out quickly. If you want to do a wine county tour we did muir woods then 2 Napa valley winery's and one Sonoma winery. We had lunch in the square in Sonoma we booked thru all San Francisco tours our guides name was Andy and he was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and thorough review to share with others. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, the centrality of the hotel, and all the amazing experiences this city has to offer! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to SF in April.

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The location is great! And the price is ok. We got a small room, the bathromm was a good size with a great shower. I think this room was not remodelled, it smelled a bit of mold and we could see it on the bathroom walls-not to bad. We kept the window open, and we only slept there. Was a big closet, would have been great with some light in there! Our biggest complain was that our neighboor was snoring so loud that he kept us awake....inother words-not very sound proof! We where out exploring most of the days, so for just a place to sleep it is ok.
The staff was nice and friendly and the valet parking was convenient.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel on trip advisor. We are truly sorry about the room that you received during your stay here at Hotel Union Square. I hope that you contacted the front desk during your stay as we would have been more than happy to accommodate you with a different room. I promise to address this with our housekeeping team and follow up with the issues you've brought to our attention. I hope this doesn't affect you returning to our hotel in the future, please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you have.


Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great friendly staff, in particular the duty manager. Fantastic location if you are coming from the Powell St subway - 3-5 mins walk!; and right in the middle for shopping. Great character and vintage, although a little cosy - for the price you cannot complain.

Room Tip: Don't have big expectations if you are use the the Large chain hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It exceeded my expectations in nearly every respect. The hotel is in a great location (i.e. close to many great restaurants, stores, BART station, cable cars). We were in town to attend some baseball games at AT&T ballpark and we could easily walk there from the hotel.

The staff was very professional and extremely polite. We had interactions with the front desk, maid service and concierges and they all did whatever they could to make sure our stay was an enjoyable one. The concierges really spent a lot of time with us pointing out the best ways to see the sites and for that, I'm very grateful.

The room was really terrific (we had a double Queen). It faced Powell Street so it was a little noisy at night, but it's a major city so I wasn't put off by it. The size of the room was bigger than expected. Plenty of room to spread out and store all of our clothes, plus the safe and closet came in very handy. The bathroom was very clean and the tub had one of the best shower heads I've ever used.

The room had an air-conditioner but we never turned it on the entire week we were there. The room stayed nice and cool so long as we kept the windows cracked open.

For someone on a budget, I would highly recommend this hotel. It's location is fantastic and the staff made us feel right at home. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: I would make sure I got a room with a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear William T.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review to share with other fellow travelers. We are so pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations and that our hotel staff was so hospitable! Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Lovely hotel with lots of character. Excellent location as far as the trolley cars go. No guest laundry on site though. The nearest one is in Post Street, about 5-6 blocks away.
Tad's Steakhouse next door is an excellent place for meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#84 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.