We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Lovely hotel with lots of character. Excellent location as far as the trolley cars go. No guest laundry on site though. The nearest one is in Post Street, about 5-6 blocks away.
Tad's Steakhouse next door is an excellent place for meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    384
    166
    60
    46
See reviews for
123
403
84
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a great stay very clean, very helpful and morning staff more helpful and friendly than the evening staff. I was grateful how its close and walking distance to all that I needed. I would recommend this place to someone who wants to walk or catch the trolley actually all kinds of public transportation is available.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street but it was very quiet my whole over night stay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Awesome staff that was very helpful, I had some trouble with check in but they assisted me and gave me excellent customer service:-)
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlev, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

4 days in San Francisco and want to stay downtown. This hotel is located perfect, and the service is in top. The Rooms is great, and a lot of space. Everything you need for a City break :-) Would recommend this any day.

Room Tip: Room with two queen size bed, housed our family of 2 adults and two boys17,14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights.
On arrival the hotel didn't have my reservation even though I'd booked a junior suite directly through their own site and had the confirmation in my hand. After a brief phone call to her superiors the lady at the check in desk upgraded us to the penthouse. A lovely gesture.
I can't vouch for the others rooms but the penthouse is amazing, the private decking area on the roof is just amazing.
Hotel itself is in a perfect location on powell, right next to cable turnaround and union square.
All staff friendly and helpful.
Memorable experience and would recommend to friends and family alike.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we stayed there in a sleep and soak room, we chose this one cause my bf and I like to basically be out of the hotel all day long walking and enjoying the city, so for the price/quality it was amazing! is the best location you can get to move around, just all around you have all kind of stores and the cable car few steps from it and the best the bart 1 block away which made it easier to move from-to the airport, my only "but" would be the room is quite dark and hot cause is not facing the main street or a window, but the staff always kept the fans and AC on to receive us in a cool room, it is definitely a personality hotel in decoration and service! honestly if you want a perfect location this is the one..

Room Tip: sleep & soak room- if what you want is a great location, this is a simple room with good price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Abril,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Union Square. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location ideal for exploring San Francisco. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Megan Brandt Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Totally fit the bill for my business trip and meetings across the Square…However, I will say that I felt a bit weird like I was walking into a 1980's brothel. In Eastern Europe. Designed by Dracula.

Way over stylized,dated, a tad loud and even a little creepy if you're coming in alone and late night as I did from the airport.

Clean, compact, and a bit bare, the rooms are the typical size you would find in the historical buildings of the area.
If you're not used to that or interested in something more luxe, check whether they offer suites, or try a hotel in a modernized building.
The location is convenient to the tourist attractions and the staff was very friendly and knowledgable.
They also offer morning coffee and a Happy Hour with complimentary wine.
I believe there is a very close BART station as well.

Green Features: The did offer a great thing, the opportunity to buy water for the underprivileged when you buy the water in the room…$3 a bottle or so, and you get to help the world! Great!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expecations. The last thing I would want is for our guests to feel weird staying at our hotel. Please consider one of our sister properties also located near Union Square on your next visit to San Francisco. Hotel Diva will offer a similar decor with a modern style, and Kensington Park for an elegant style hotel. Once again I do apologize for not meeting your needs, I do hope you change your mind and try one of our sister properties instead. Have a wonderful day.

Lennin B. Ledesma
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel is an average hotel, rooms are not very large and can be a little dark if not facing the main street. All the rooms dont have a safe because of which we were forced to change rooms. However the location of the hotel is fabulous and would recommend it for someone who would like to keep the budget under control.

Room Tip: look for a room with a safe facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.