We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
HULL CITY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here in Febuary for 3 night, the rooms clean a little dark, all you required for a short stay, breakfast was plentifull, very cenral, shops and restaurant right on you door step. Open bus across the road takes you to the pier and fishemans wharf. we found this very usefull.
There is a pool, the area looked nice and clean.

Room Tip: our room was a bit dark. 2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    375
    164
    60
    46
See reviews for
121
396
82
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Although Hotel Union Square has an excellent location, the room I stayed in was incredibly small and a major disappointment for the price I paid. Bathroom and work desk space was also not up to par. Flimsy work desk chair too. Security lock didn't work either and it took me an average of 12 times to enable the room key/card to work.

Photos of the room are very misleading - no frills, no robe - can use a better description

Being a native Northern Californian, I stayed in several hotels in San Francisco but decided to try something different. Needless to say, I will not be coming back to this hotel. Front desk service was also below par.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you know what you're getting with the "No Frills Double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Tristarbr,

First of I would like to thank you for taking the time of leaving a review on Trip Advisor.
What a disappointment to read that your stay did not match your expectations. I am terribly sorry that you had some issues with your lock and the furniture in your room. I don't know if we had the opportunity to, but I wish we had the chance to fix those issues and/or change your room.
Making our guests happy is what we continuously aim at and we hope that you will reconsider staying with us another time and get the stay you were expecting.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I'm staying at this hotel for 4 nights (5 until 9 March 2014) with my husband at the 3rd floor.
This is our first trip to US and since we will have a long trip, we brought heavy baggage. On day 2, the one and only lift available in this hotel is out of service and continued until the last day of our visit. The last night before check out, the hotel management had already told us by letter that, since the elevator is out of service, they will provide service to carry our baggage, on that time, my husband told me that this hotel have a very good service and next time we visit SF we are planning to stay again here.
The next morning when we checked out, my husband call the receptionist to send someone for helping us carrying our luggage. To our surprise, he (the receptionist) told us that there aren't any people who can help us and he told us to bring down the luggage on our own...
What kind of hotel is this? after giving us the memo to help carrying the luggage and when we really need the service they told us that they cannot help?
We end up to carry on 5 luggage our own, from 3rd floor without someone from the hotel (even the receptionist) who can help us.
I will never staying in this hotel again, ever!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Pinkdonuts,

Thank you very much for taking the time of writing a review about your stay.
I am very disappointed to read that you did not have a good experience while staying with us.
First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the main elevator being down. While waiting for it to be repaired we did offer to all of our guests the use of the service elevator which needs to be operated by someone.
I am sincerely sorry that you did not get the assistance you were asking for and rest assured that this matter will be addressed with the Front Desk. This is certainly not the type of service we want to offer our guests.
I f you were to change your mind I would be more than happy to take care of your reservation myself and given the opportunity we would show you that what happen during your stay is not the norm at Hotel Union Square.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for three very enjoyable nights. Easily reached by BART from the airport. Great location near cable car terminus and street car route. Very friendly and welcoming on reception and helpful concierge. Recently refurbished room overlooking the street with no noise problem from traffic or cable car. Useful diner two doors up for breakfast.
We missed the wine receptions but welcome coffee in reception in the mornings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This ended up being a gem of a location to stay at having a business function near by. Close to anything you'd like to do downtown including great restaurants, BART and trolley cars. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would have given a 5, but during our stay there were elevator issues and then something going on with the fire alarm. Those issues wouldn't keep me from not staying here again. Rooms are small but functional, Wi-Fi was free with good connection speeds. If you like boutique style hotels this is a great choice.

Room Tip: I had a room near the stairs, and was a little noisy with foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Greetings Phil S

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Union Square. We are very happy to hear that you had a good experience and you enjoyed the great location. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Best Regards
Domitille Montoro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Union Square was phenomenal. We were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse suite and greatly enjoyed the rooftop balcony. The contemporary decor was right up our alley. The little window in the shower provided an awesome view of the city. The staff, concierge, and hotel manager were all very friendly and hospitable. The location of the hotel puts you right in the center of everything you want to see in the city. All this at such a great price!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Personality H, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Orry D,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and very happy to hear we met your expectations. We hope you will choose Hotel Union Square for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Domitille Montoro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Reception was friendly. Good location for bus and cable car. We got the room on 3rd floor and there was bad smell overall in the floor and really bad in the room. we are not sure it was due to the fact washroom window was opened when we got the room. The sink in the washroom is very small. Beds were comfortable...

Smell was very bad...and always noisy in the night and hard to sleep

Room Tip: find a room without smell and away from front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sara111Toronto,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time of leaving a comment about your stay.
I would like to apologize for the fact that your stay did not meet your expectations, as you are saying this is an old hotel and in a same room type rooms are slightly different, given the opportunity we might have been able to move you to another room that would have worked better for you. I am also sorry that there was a smell that inconvenienced you in your room, thank you for letting us know, we are always trying to improve ourselves and can only do it thanks to our guest's feed back.
I hope that you will consider staying again with us next time you are in San Francisco.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.