We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save an additional 10%!
Ranked #89 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Hotel Union Square, wanted to stay 5 but they were fully booked. The location is excellent on Powell Street with the fascinating sounds of the cable cars and the atmosphere of a lively city. We had a room at the back which was newly decorated quite large for a city hotel and with sliding opaque doors to the bathroom which made the room seem larger. It was very very quiet although it took a while to get used to having no window and no daylight.A couple of nice touches were the coffee in the morning and the late afternoon wine drinking hour. There is a Walgreens directly across the road which we used for breakfast and food on the go and this was excellent fare. All the staff were very helpful and courteous, the only minor negative was that we had booked an early morning call for 6.00 a.m. for a trip pick up. When asked why we hadn't received the call the response was that they couldnt get through on the phone. Surely knowing how important it was someone could have knocked on the door . However this didnt detract from our opinion of the hotel and staff. I would definitely stay here again and would reccomend the hotel Union Square

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Pennybobs,

Thank you for taking the time of leaving a comment on Trip Advisor, I wish that we had been able to extend your stay with us, it looks like you had a great time in our Sleep and Soak room.
I would like to apologize for that missed wake up call and let you know that the matter will be addressed with the front desk ,I am glad this did not tarnish your stay but we should have found a solution right away.
We hope that you will choose Hotel Union Square again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    428
    190
    69
    54
See reviews for
151
446
89
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. The location was awesome for visiting San Francisco and the rooms were a good size for the area. We had an ADA room, so the bathroom was huge! The staff were very nice and helpful, they were able to take care of anything we asked for. The room itself was awesome, it had a 60's motif to it which was very cool. I would definitely stay here again.

My only complaints would be that the bathroom didn't have enough shelf space. Seriously, that is the only complaint I could make. Other than this, I was very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like an empty box, we stayed on the inside of the box. No view, but it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Tyrealhsm,

Thanks a lot for your very nice comment and also for letting us know about the areas that needs improvement. We are happy that you had a nice stay in San Francisco with us and we hope that you will return to Hotel Union Square for your next trip to this beautiful city.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Also a member of the Personality Hotels Chain, like its sister hotel Diva, this one is in fact better and a bit larger, though it is situated right next to a budget steakhouse. It is on one of the active and commercial streets, Powell. (1 block down you can grab the famed Powell Street cable car). The rooms are good size and wifi is good. Beds are comfy. Some rooms can be noisy due to location but if you dont mind being in Union Square, this is a busy but convenient location. I was there for business, but reasonable for families also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Brilliant hotel, great location.
We were upgraded to a "Giants Suite" and that was awesome!! Thank you.
Very wheelchair friendly. Helpful at the desk.
Make sure you go to "Tad's Steakhouse" right next door. Delicious, friendly and each time we ate there was yummy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear HeretoHelp Y,

We are so glad that you had a great experience staying with us and that you enjoyed our Dugout Suite, lots of fun isn't it? I am very happy to hear that you felt comfortable in the hotel with a wheel chair. This is an old building but we are trying our best to make things easy for all of our guests.
We hope to have you back soon at Hotel Union Square.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Staff very kind and helpful, specially Tom and Alex. Hotel isvery well located, just one block from Market Street. The bath sink a little bit too small, but the room I stayed was spacious and comfortable. I will certainly stay there in my next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at the Hotel Union Square and loved it! Great location, clean, nicely appointed rooms and friendly staff. Oh, and also GREAT LOCATION! I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Roderick S,

Thanks for letting us know that you had a good time with your son staying with us. We really hope that you will come back to Hotel Union Square next time you are in San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently visited SF and stayed at this hotel. The location was perfect. Only one block and one half blocks to the cable car turnaround, however, just walk half a block the other way and there was a cable car stop. The area was filled with all the shopping you can handle. The BART system was one and one half blocks away. It was a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the Farmers Market on the Wharf.

The hotel was clean. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were always clean. The daily wine reception, although not the best wine, was a nice touch. We stayed in an Executive King room. Although our windows faced to the inside and we had a view of the other side of the building, that didn't bother us, as we were in our room to sleep only. I would not recommend the Deluxe room as the room is very tiny, as experienced by another couple that came with us.

Room Tip: Select an Executive King. Any rooms facing the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domitille M, General Manager at Hotel Union Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Wynsktravellers,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review about your stay at Hotel Union Square. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and the surrounding area so much.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please come back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#66 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,931 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#9 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,237 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#43 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Diva
Hotel Diva
#83 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#69 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.