We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th wedding anniversary mark and suzanne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
united kingd
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“25th wedding anniversary mark and suzanne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

had been to las vegas for 5nights and stayed in massive hotel was nice to come to a smaller hotel as soon as we arrived and checked in the receptionist was very helpful and as it was our anniversary there was a bottle of wine and snacks left in the room for us great atmosphere and loveley artdecor in the rooms was very central for all bars and restauraunts would definetley stay at this hotel when we return which hopefully we will .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    375
    164
    60
    46
See reviews for
121
396
82
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon in Hotel Union Sq San Francisco. When we booked the hotel we expected this to be a low part of our trip (we had stayed in a 5 star hotel in Las Vegas and we were going onto a 5 star in LA) however, to save money we decided to stay in this hotel which was not one of the big brand hotels like the rest. Nonetheless, we couldn't have been happier about this decision...First of all we were hit with the personality (quirky features and pleasant surroundings), secondly by the warmth of the staff. The receptionist informed us that we had been given an upgrade which we considered standard enough for couples on honeymoon but when we arrived in our fantastic room were found a letter from the manager along with free water and popcorn. The personal touches made our stay that little more special(this must be why its called personality hotels) and when we asked the concierge for information about the city, he gave us honest and worthwhile advice as to the main attractions and trips to go on.In actual fact we would go as far to say he was the most helpful person we met in America, sorting out the next two days for us. I think his name was Jammy or something similar. He deserved a good tip. Anyway we strongly recommend here. D and D Barrett.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights in this hotel in July 2012. I am stunned at the comments of another reviewer as to the concierge. I can only say he had a different one from us, because the concierge could not have been more helpful. Even when our flight was delayed and the shuttle had to be cancelled, then called again at short notice, both the concierges we dealt with could not have been more helpful.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, and yes, we were woken by the construction workers across the street, who have to work in the early hours before the traffic starts. We discussed a room change, but wake early anyway, so stayed where we were. The room was fairly small, but we really only sleep there when on holiday. Interestingly there were suites which were empty, as people all want cheaper rooms, but the tariff on them was less than we paid for our room, through a travel agent. The front desk staff were fantastic, and the coffee in the lobby is a nice touch, but who is going to be there mid morning when you are in that great city. The Happy hour from 5.00 to 6.00 was nice, with lovely Californian wines, and a singer as well. I thought it a bit off, that an Australian couple brought 4 of there friends, who were staying in another hotel, to partake of large quantities of the free wine.
The hotel is ideally situated, a block from Union Square and from Market street, the main shopping area. Chinatown restaurants are 10 minutes or so away on foot, and the famous cablecar starts at the bottom of the street. The cable car is quite expensive, but a must do when there.
There are good breakfast and dinner eating places all around the hotel.
It is quite a long way to Fisherman's Wharf, and very hiily, requiring a taxi or careful use of the Hopon-Hopoff bus, but taking the one going the wrong direction can entail a 2 hour circuit including across the Golden Gate Bridge. We did, got off quickly, and then had a nasty walk back through the Tenderloin, home to the bums and homeless people.
As an aside, be warned that you should buy tickets to Alcatraz on line before leaving home, as they can be sold out over two weeks ahead.
As in all American hotels, there are coffee making machines in the rooms, ice machines every second floor, but no refridgerators in the rooms, as we would expect in New Zealand.
There was free Wifi in the hotel, and free internet in the Business Centre.
To sum up, the hotel was a renovated character hotel, in an ideal location for the tourist in San Francisco. The rooms were small, comfortable and adequate, and the staff were excellent.
To sum up, we

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHEND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here on stop over for 2 nights. The hotel was ideally situated for shopping and dining, with trolley stop right outside. The room was small but comfortable and very clean and tidy perfect for a base when sightseeing (the bed was very comfy had the best nights sleep). The staff were really helpful and knowledgable. The hotel had an art deco style and was beautifully furnihed with a large open foyer/reception area serving hot drinks, the room was of the same style and had lots of information books on local life and sights so very helpful. I would defernately stay here again. Great value for money. Some people say that the rooms are cramped and the corridors maze like but I felt this added to the charm of this unique hotel and even though the rooms were on the small size, as they say good things come in small packages.

Room Tip: If you want more space book a suite, if you like cosy comfort the standard rooms are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for four nights in July and thought it was really excellent! The staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating, from the young lady at the front desk, (Coffee), to the conceirge and the manager, (Tony). We had a room at the front which was very nice and, although a bit noisy with the cable cars, but that's the experience we wanted. I mean imagine complaining to friends that we were woken up to the sound of the most famous cable cars in the world? Don't think so!
The early evening free wine in the lobby was great and gave guests a chance to relax and mix. we even had a guy with a guitar one night! Although, the sight of some guests filling up a couple of glasses and taking them up to their room was pretty disappointing. Not really what the hotel had in mind I guess? Ah well, some folks!
All in all, a lovely hotel in the perfect location which we will have no hesitation returning to next time we're in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

For $200 a night, you would expect a pretty decent to good stay, right? Well, not if you are staying at the Hotel Union Square. We were greeted by a man at concierge who obviously hates his job. He checked us in to a room that is in the deepest, darkest recesses of a maze which make up the hotel (which could be cool under different circumstances). The room is the size of a closet, with no air conditioning or ventilation of any sort. The closet and shower essentially make up the same room. We felt completely suffocated and went back downstairs to the concierge to see if anything could be done- the man just crossed his arms over his chest and without even looking at us or checking the computer, said "I'm sorry, there is nothing I can do." Can't you at least pretend to be genuine? The only plus I can tell you is that I am writing this review from the free wi-fi. Then again, that's in addition to feeling like someone is walking into our room every second because the walls are paper thin and every time a door opens or closes, our entire room shakes! Amazing area, but at the end of the day, not worth it!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding we chose a junior suite as we were staying for 4 nights and wanted plenty of space so glad we did as a few friends said there rooms were tiny and cramped. Ours definitely wasn't small we had a huge sitting area and spacious bathroom and king size bed the rooms theme was of the Giants the local team so coloured orange and black it added a fun touch to the stay. The rooms are not quiet due to the noise from the street trams,traffic and construction workers which is hard to ignore. The only hiccup with the wedding was due to the concierge booking a limo company which didn't turn up the one booked by the brides father separately came no problem. The concierge offered taxis for the other guests which made them late. The next day he offered to reimburse the cost of taxis provided everyone had a receipt for the fare .surprise no one kept their receipts we were at a wedding. Shame but it didn't spoil what turned into a lovely wedding. Just don't rely on concierge for important bookings. Everything else with hotel was good.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.