We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Union Square to your Saves list
Hotel Union Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Sacramento, CA
1 review
“Would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Union Square for one night in Jan, 08. My room was on the 2nd floor and overlooking the street. We stayed there because we thought we could walk to our conference site and the hotel did have an outdoor parking lot right behind the hotel. However, the room was very small and did not appear like the web page photos, not even close. Although the room was fairly clean, there was no clock and there was no phone "map" to show which button takes you where. My friend's room down the hall had no window at all and her phone did not work at all so she had to change rooms. We both decided we would not stay there again for the price and the unrealistic advertising. The front desk staff were nice but the hotel is dingy and has a lot of thing wrong with it, things broken, chipped tile, cigarette butts thrown outside the window and lying on the roof etc. etc. Did not make me feel relaxed or rested. Just wanted to leave asap.

  • Liked — nothing except front desk people were good
  • Disliked — rooms were not attractive or repaired properly, no attention to detail
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    373
    163
    60
    46
See reviews for
120
395
82
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed here end December 2007 and into the New Year. Website shows lovely Boutique style rooms, well, they're obviously not all renovated yet! Even in reception there are pictures up of nice rooms, you're lucky if you get one though. Our party occupied 2 rooms, both were small and nothing like the pictures. Our bathroom was dingey to say the least, fittings were rusty, bath grubby, cracked tiles, most of it bodged together with filler and very outdated. Got the feeling the whole placed needed a good clean. It all stinks of stale food too, think this might be to do with the noodle house next door. On the positive side, staff very friendly and location perfect for shopping and dining without the need for taxis. Complimentary tea/coffee/hot choc in the mornings and wine for an hour in the evenings was welcome and a nice touch too. Think I'd stay somewhere else when returning to San Francisco unless they refit the rooms or they can guarantee me one of the rooms already renovated!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Confused this hotel with the Union Square Plaza Hotel, in which I stayed a few years ago, and am very sorry I wasn't more careful.

I stayed two nights in room 220 and it was a dump. When we arrived we were given room 210. This was quite a big room and seemed quite and well appointed. Unfortunately it was not ready / clean and the cleaning staff had gone for the day. When we were taken to our new room it was terrible. Tiny, noisy. Truly awful. We went back downstairs to try to understand what was going on and were told that room 210 was an upgrade, but since it was not ready 220 was the only other room available. We would have made up the nice room ourselves but there weren’t even sheets on the bed. Needless to say we were very upset. We reserved over a month ago and could not understand how we were stuck with such a poor room.

It’s clear from the first room we saw and other reviews posted that if you get a decent room you’ll enjoy your stay, but if luck is not on your side you’ll regret every minute your in the hotel room. Unfortunately there are far too many bad rooms (and they really are awful) and far too little control over which one you get to recommend this hotel. Besides, there are many other hotels just as well located that are in the price range and much nicer so why stay here?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was very noisy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Hi

I stayed for seven nights this November and was surprised to find it was not as bad as some people think. I was on the third floor and had a view of the courtyard, ok not great to look at but quiter than it whould have been on the main street.

It looked recently re -carpeted and the decor and furniture was ok, I must admit the bathroom looked a litte worn here and there, but it was not any worse than the Hilton Hotel I stayed at at Heathrow airport, that room needed redecorating and at least the windows should have been cleaned.

My only gripes with the room are no net curtains to stop people seeing directly into the rooms when you open the curtains and they could do with better quality linen on the beds. The location makes this hotel above average.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and the location is perfect, tram lines almost outside the door, a 2min walk to the Muni and pleanty of places to go to eat drink and shop.

  • Liked — Location, service, saftey and security.
  • Disliked — Cheap linen on the beds and no net curtains
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

(sorry I'm a little late for this)
We had a little trouble at check in, getting the room we booked, but I believe it was mainly because the guy was new. We had to go back down, to get moved to the proper room, but the manager stepped in and fixed us up right away.
We had a corner suite room for $169/nt+tax (Sun&Mon). It was Humongous! An incdredibly large room (see pics), with an outstanding view of the street cars. It's and older hotel, but we found it had lots of charm. The street car noise did not bother us at all. We thought it was pretty cool, hearing the street car bells ringing. Again, you can't beat the price for that kind of a location!
Plus, there is a very, very, very large shoe store just across the street! (I like spoiling my girl! I think she got 4 or 5 pairs this trip..... not shown in the picture :)
This boutique hotel is part of "Personality Hotels" which owns 4 other chic hotels around union Square. They all looked pretty cool.
See em at: ---

  • Liked — location/price, it's charm
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondgo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Union Square for 1 night on Nov. 3. The staff was very friendly, and very helpful. We stayed in room 403 which was facing the street, and the room was a good size. Our friends got room 420, and it was smaller than my bathroom at home. There was noise from the streets, especially when the garbage was being collected at 4 a.m. but, it was our choice to leave the windows open, the bells clanging from the cable cars was just part of the charm of S.F. There is no A/C, however, SF rooms doesn't usually need A/C, but it would be nice to at least have a fan. Parking was convenient since it was onsite, but cost $30 +tax (with in& out privileges). A little cheaper next door for parking if you don't plan to take the car back out.
Big downside was we had a "do not disturb" sign on the door, and housekeeping came in once and stripped the bed while we grabbed coffee, and knocked once again while we were in the room. They just need to be made aware exactly what that sign means. Overall, we thought the hotel was clean, not bad for a short stay.

  • Liked — The front desk staff and concierge and location to great restaurants
  • Disliked — Housekeeping coming into our room when we said do not disturb
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Recently spent three nights with my wife at this dump....needs major renovation. It is nothing like their website...all the pics on the web must have been take with a wide angle lens...my room faced Powell street on the third floor and was the size of a postage stamp. All we heard was street noise and were force to sleep with the window open because there is NO A/C, I repeat, there is NO A/C!!! What kind of place has no A/C....very bad. We would have checked out, but every room in town was booked because major marathon in town. All I heard from other guest were complaints after complaints.....STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — All of IT
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Square

Address: 114 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Union Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Complimentary morning coffee & tea in the lobby•Complimentary evening wine reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Square San Francisco
Union Square Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.