We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #53 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
windsor
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Quirky and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in May at the start of our California road trip holiday and at the Santa Barbara Kimpton Canary at the end of our trip. We looked at lots of hotels before booking this one and we were very happy with our choice. The location is great, right next to China town and just a stones throw from Union Square and trams that take you to Pier 39.
The welcome that we got upon arrival was lovely and friendly, our room, although small was spotlessly clean , wonderfully decorated and had clean fluffy towels, bathrobes, a king sized bed with soft and clean sheets and pillows, the room is so well stocked with everything that you could possibly need.
There are plenty of near by cafes and bars and restaurants to choose from.
Yes, there are a few noise issues but not through any fault of the hotel. Its a city, what do you expect, take ear plugs!
We spent a very happy and comfy 4 days here and can highly recommend.
Just one small thing that The Kimpton people need to note.....some British travellers do like their tea. You offer a wonderful service each morning of free tea and coffee but your English breakfast tea, although a lovely brand by the looks of it is grim! We went to Starbucks every day to get our tea because yours was so yuk! We had to do the same at your hotel in Santa Barbara. Please change the tea bags for next time we stay because we think your hotels are great. x

Room Tip: I would request a high up room to try and filter out city noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello squeezeWindsor ~ With a review like that, I will be sure that you have tea fit for a Royal the next time your here with us. Thanks for all of your kind words. We do all that we can to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. We even have ear plugs. :) Come back and visit us again soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    327
    96
    62
    26
See reviews for
133
319
71
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is our second visit to Hotel Triton. We love the location and the relaxed colourful atmosphere. We stayed in 2009 for 3 nights and decided to return 2014. Ok so it is slightly more tired but still the same plus's. We love happy hour in the lobby each night where we are given generous glasses of wine and get to meet some of the other guests from all round the world. Staff always on hand with big smiles and only too pleased to answer any questions and help out. The rooms are very different, great amenities and free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Heather H ~ I couldn't have said it better myself. Thank you for all of your kind words. We hope to be your home away from home here in San Francisco!

Ta,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for about a week and had no complaints. The hosts were pretty cool. I did not bring a charger and they hand delivered me a new one, lol...small things are what count! also i was able to make limo reservations with them in the middle of the night for the next day! Great location. We walked primarily everywhere and our feet hand no complaints. There are a few nice food places around the hotel...not to mention china town is ten feet away. Very great stay, thanks again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hey KULINARYKING ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We like to think "small is the new black!"

Come back soon,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I travel frequently to San Francisco, but this was my first stay at the Triton. It's well located, between Chinatown and Union Square. It's a great, quirky boutique hotel. I loved the colorful lobby and the little touches in the guest room...a copy of "Howl" by Allen Ginsberg; leopard print bathrobes, great comfy bed and well stocked mini bar...staff was friendly and accomodating; loved the wine hour in the afternoon.

Other reviewers mention the loud A/C...it didn't bother me a bit.

I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms 608 or 708---higher floors, corner rooms, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi BigSkyBison ~ Thanks for the awesome review. We hope to see you back sooner than later! Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed for a week to celebrate my 30th birthday. The hotel is in a fab location in Nob Hill, just across the road from Dragon's gate, the entrance to Chinatown. The rooms are small but nicely decorated with a comfy bed. The reception area is great, with retro films playing, iced water on tap and very friendly staff. There are bikes which are free to rent (first come first served) and we had a lovely day cycling to golden gate bridge and Sausalito. It's not a cheap place to stay, and breakfast isn't included, but for a special treat it was great.

Only downside was the bar next door threw all their bottles into the bottle bank at about 3am which woke us up every night, despite being on the 6th floor!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi eddlestoner ~ Thanks for the great review. We hope you had a great 30th birthday! I say we become your home away from home for every birthday from here on out. I'm sorry to hear about the bottle rockets. There is a pretty popular Irish Pub just behind the hotel which can be a plus or minus for some. Next time your here I'll treat you to a Guinness for sure.
Till then,

Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

As with other reviewers a/c blasting in your ear not conducive to a good nights sleep. No coffee making facilities, not covered by free warm coffee from lobby ( hassle) the design is different some great touches but as rooms so small and dark we found colours giving oppressive feel, glad we only stayed one night. Free wifi and great location. Parking a nightmare and very expensive but car park two doors down 34 dollars for 24 hours.shower not very hot

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello mairi_ok ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that it wasn't all that you had hoped for. We do actually provide in-room coffee although we would much rather you come hang out with us and other guests in the lobby. We understand that not for everyone so don't hesitate to ask next time, we'll take care of you. We hope you won't let this be your last visit with us.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Triton over the Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is located only a few blocks from the Montgomery BART station. Check in was a breeze. We made it just in time for the wine hour so it was a nice treat. I am an In Touch member so I was able to get $10 to raid the mini bar.
A few reviews mentioned how small the rooms are. We were in a queen room and there was plenty of room. Unless your are planning to run laps in your room, you won't have any problems with the size. The bathroom was a bit small, but it had everything we needed.
We requested a quiet room. The view wasn't great, but it was quiet so we were happy.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi jessc2078 ~ Thanks for sharing your experience with our friends on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear that you had a great time. We truly appreciate your kind words about the room size and the quiet interior rooms. You're totally right about the views but once you head out, the city makes up for that immediately! Come back soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.