We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, Funky Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #54 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cool, Funky Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pros-
Cool and fun designs in the lobby + nice fireplace for the cool weather
Nice and helpful front desk folks
Evening reception with nice wines and warm apple cider + bourbon!
Location: right next to entrance of chinatown, super close to union square but not right in the middle of the chaos, several nice restaurants and shops on the block
They were kind enough to upgrade our room and give us a bottle of champagne + card for our anniversary :)

Cons-
As other reviewers have said, the rooms are a little on the dreary side. Not sure why, b/c there are interesting decorations n such. It must be the green walls or smthg.
Bed was too hard for me. I'm a soft mattress person and the room mattress was too hard.
I definitely wouldn't recommend staying in anything smaller than a king room if you are two people, it will be waaayyy too small for you guys. Just keep in mind...double and queen rooms for single person only, king and suites better for couples and more.

Overall, we really liked staying in Hotel Triton. It's not as luxurious as some of the other hotels we saw but it was just right, esp. for not spending that much time in the room. If you can overlook a couple small things, I think this place has everything you need plus little things here and there to make your time in San Francisco more enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, let the front desk ppl know when assigning you a room. We were given a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi krisell333 ~ thanks for posting your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. What we love most about the hotel is exactly what you shared. COOL & FUNKY! We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Till then,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltrtion.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    429
    321
    101
    62
    26
See reviews for
138
332
72
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After reading reviews regarding this hotel we were looking forward to splurging and staying in one of the celebrity suites. However, what we didn't know when reserving, the suites are first come first serve. That means that when we got there, we were very disappointed to find out that all the suites were gone except for the Kathy Griffin suite. This was the worst, over priced, disappointment possible suite. Nothing special except for a box on the wall with a shoe in it. The couch and furnishings clashed and nothing actually looked good! One in our party was an interior designer and struggled with the ill fitting design. Don't bother to upgrade to a suite- if you get stuck in this one it isn't worth it!

Room Tip: Don't bother to upgrade to a suite! If you get stuck in the Kathy Griffin suite you'll regr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear raevaughn ~ I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I hope this doesn't keep you from thinking of us again in the future. Should your plans ever bring you back to San Francisco please reach out to me directly. I would love an opportunity to make this up to you.
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a recent business trip. The location was fantastic--mere steps from ChinaTown and walking distance to the convention center and North Beach. There also is an amazing free yoga class net door. The staff was great--very pleasant and efficient and the wine hour was wonderful--we met some interesting people. I have to say, though, that when we were in the room, I felt downtrodden and depressed. It's small and old, like many SF hotel rooms. The views are mostly dreadful. The plumbing leaves much to be desired--"low flow, I don't like the sound of that." The more time I spent in the room, the worse I felt, despite the somewhat forced decor ("Howl" in every room?). This is the opposite of how most hotel rooms make you feel--luxurious. The bed actually has springs that creak! We even looked into trading up to suite, but it was dark and just as dismal, save for an in-room jacuzzi. Overall, it's a great location, but I don't think I would stay there again because I did not get the uplift feeling.

Room Tip: You may need to ask for a king bed. believe it or not, they have some rooms with just a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Mocksee ~ that is a bummer. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your room. Reach out to me the next time you’re in the city and we'll see if I can find the right fit for you.

Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I love the lobby fireplace, wine hour and fresh baked cookies! I had stayed here a few years ago and remember enjoying my visit so I decided to stay again with my daughter for our mother/daughter get away! I am looking forward to our next visit at the Hotel Triton! Also a great location, a few blocks from cable car, shopping, next to Chinatown.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or kids activities to comment on. Hotel in general was quiet, however, we were tuc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel triton this week and had a great week ... Gotta love wine hour and it's style and location .. Special thanks to Audrey and Tawney ... Will definitely stay there again ... Great resturant right next door too

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi MartStaff ~ Thanks for the great review. I shared it with Audrey & Tawny and it was all smiles for the rest of the day. Thanks again for making it happen.

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Triton. The room was cute, cozy and perfect for a family of three. The front desk staff was so nice and helpful. They even had treats in the room when we arrived(candy and wine). The hotel is at the front of Chinatown and any easy access to everywhere. A quick walk to the bus for a short ride to the Wharf or the other way to the most unbelievable shopping area.

Room Tip: We had room on the main street. I thought it would be noisy, but it really wasn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was in a perfect location for exploring San Francisco by foot. You can easily go out the front door and start walking and it's also very close to all forms of public transportation. The decor is quirky and the room was very clean and cozy. The front desk was very helpful and the free wine hour is always a nice bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi Leigh L ~ thanks for the great review! You are totally right ~ we are definitely in the heart of the city.

Till next time,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#78 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Triton - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.