We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge to your Saves list
San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2755 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #49 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location and service are definitely the best parts of this place. A quick walk up to the Presidio which has a nice walking path all the way out to the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was fine and bed was comfortable. The place itself isn't much to look at and I feel in any other city it would be an $80 a night kinda place... but this is San Francisco where everything is expensive. There are some good restaurants within a few blocks and a little dive bar up the street which has a very friendly bartender. As stated by many on here Raymond and Bruce were both as nice and helpful as people in the reviews make them out to be. They really did make our experience of San Francisco better because of the help and advice they offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    320
    79
    15
    11
See reviews for
244
287
51
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our first visit to the TL Presidio in 2011 (previously reviewed) was great and we expected nothing less when we returned.

Actually, I wanted to write a scathing review so no one else would go there as now I have to book 6 months in advance to ensure that I will get a room--but the truth shall set you free so here goes.

The stars of TL Presidio are Raymond (thanks for all of your help on the bummer Yosemite tour), Tyler (the manager with Hawaii ties), Niki, and Bruce. It is as though the staff at TL Presidio were imported from Hawaii. Raymond and the gang truly have the Aloha Spirit. Everyone is very helpful and is genuinely nice. For our family it is the staff that makes or breaks our stay at a hotel/motel.

The TL Presidio is very conveniently situated. At the end of Lombard Street you are in easy walking distance to the #30 Muni line that takes you right to Fisherman's Wharf. From there, hop on a cable car (or Muni bus) and cruise into Union Square. Why pay $25+ for parking. Also within walking distance is Columbus Street which is the new hangout for cool trendy restaurants and boutiques.

The TL Presidio itself an unremarkable property staffed with remarkable people. The premises are kept in excellent repair. The furnishings are current and clean. Parking is a little tight at times, but there are a few secret spaces that you will have to ask about. I won't tell you here.

If you want a fancy hotel with mints on your pillow, this is not the place for you. Spend $500 a night at a hotel in Union Square (and $40 to park your car). If you want a great San Francisco experience with wonderful tips from knowledgable people--there is no better place.

All of the staff are great, but Raymond goes above the call. He recommended a Yosemite day trip for our family and booked it for us. The tour turned out to be a disappointment due to a broken tour bus. The tour company balked at reimbursing us. One call from Raymond and we received a full refund. I doubt a 5-star hotel could have done the same.

Our family has been there twice and the next time we return to the city by the bay we will surely return to the TL Presidio--as long as Raymond and the gang are there.

Aloha from Hawaii,

Waipahu Traveler

Room Tip: If you are older stay on the first floor. This 3-story motel does not have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wow! What a great place to stay from the location, clean hotel, free breakfast & afternoon tea too the free high speed wifi. This place as the lot but wait.... The staff especially the manager Raymond were fantastic. He went out of his way to help us with information about San Francisco and with the transport around the city. He is so knowledgeable about this fantastic city.
The cost is reasonable and I'll definitely be back to stay.

Room Tip: A room on ground level as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Went to San Francisco with limited knowledge and left with a good idea of how awesome the city is. Each and every staff member I interacted with (shout outs to Bruce and Raymond!) knew what they were talking about, were extremely friendly, and made me smile and laugh. I felt safe and respected. Location is absolutely wonderful - it wasn't in the middle of the bustling city and the craziness of Highway 101 only a short walk away couldn't even be heard from my hotel room. The Presidio is close by, and access to multiple useful bus lines were all within acceptable walking distance. Transportation is huge in San Francisco, and the staff knew what lines to take and how to get around and which was the easiest and fastest for a commute. I was extremely thankful for the staff holding my luggage for a short time before checking in and after checking out as my flights were at odd times compared to check in/out times and I wanted to maximize my exploring time.

The room was clean and the bed acceptable. Outside talking and footsteps could be heard occasionally, however it didn't distract me. Breakfast is minimal, but well stocked for its size. The price is worth the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Terrific location within 100ft of The Presidio, and few blocks of The Palace of Fine Arts. Also, a short 4 block walk to Chestnut St w/ a host of terrific bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is a little dated, but clean and perfectly serviceable. And the staff are remarkably helpful. We dealt often with Bruce Langley at the front desk. He gave us a ton of good suggestions for restaurants; coupled with a heavy dose of eclectic, SF local color.
It was a nice place to base out of and it's in a superb part of town, especially if you like walking.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Room was small but clean and in good condition. Much nicer than it appears from the outside. Free parking if you get there early before the lot gets full, which is a huge bonus in San Francisco. What truly sets this hotel apart though is the customer service. Bruce was so friendly and drew us maps to get all around town by public transportation, which worked out well. He was extremely knowledgeable about the city and gave us a lot of great tips. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge

Address: 2755 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travelodge
San Francisco Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco at The Presidio Travelodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.