We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Greenwich Inn was OK!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greenwich Inn to your Saves list
Greenwich Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3201 Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Morgan Hill, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Greenwich Inn was OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed at the Greenwich Inn from September 25-27, 2009. We requested a lower level room and they honored that request. We were in room 16 and it was clean and had a refrigerator which was cool. The bathroom was clean but there was NO counter space. Also you may want to bring your own wash cloths, they didn't seem to have any. The Queen size bed was comfortable. The size of the room was adequate for my husband and I. There was free parking provided. The worst thing was the heater, it was so noisy we turned it off. It was a good thing the weather was still warm. It maybe a problem in the winter months though, I don't know how anyone could sleep through the noise. It is on a busy road with a fire station nearby. The Greenwich Inn is in a great location, within a walking distance to the marina. It’s only a five-minute walk to the Palace of Fine Arts, Exploratorium, Fort Mason and the Presidio. The hotel is 10 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, the Cannery and Pier 39. You can walk or take public transit, located across the street from the hotel, to reach these locations in about 10 minutes. It is in a good safe location.
Mel's Diner is right around the corner and has great food. Ihop is nearby too. Safeway is only a few blocks away. There is also a great Deli right across the street. For the price we paid I think we got a good value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    42
    55
    19
    27
See reviews for
20
77
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

This place has gone downhill since being sold recently. We have stayed here previously as we have relatives living nearby. It's well located and with parking available (tight spaces provided). Up to the recent sale, I'd say it was well worth the price (under $100 per night). We've stayed here after the sale and it was awful. Rooms were musty, bed linens were torn. Our room only had one set of towels, when we asked for more, the request was not politely received. They need to raise the standard back or give it back to the previous owners.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

On this trip we were on a very tight budget so we booked in Greenwich Inn.The Inn is in a great location (nearby to trendy restaurants) and within a walking distance to the marina!
For the price that we stayed there I am not going to complain about the size of the room and since it was adequately furnitured it was fine by me but it was quiet dirty and it had a constant smell. But the worst thing of all was the heating. Even though it was end of May it was very cold in SF and with all the humidity we had to use the heating but it was so NOISY that we couldn't even talk to each other or listen to tv, let alone to sleep. So at night we had to turn it off and I could hardly sleep as it was so chilly in the room. Don't go there in winter!!!
I will agree with other reviewers that is on a noisy road with lot of alarms from the fire station nearby

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Greenwich Inn is a good motel considering it is in San Francisco. It could do with a little more parking space though... Room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortabel. Great shower btw! The owner was welcoming, but nothing more than that.
The walls are pretty thin, so be prepared for some traffic noise during the night, especially when the fire trucks depart from the fire department right around the corner!
It is located in a nice neighbourhood with lots of cosy shops, but is a pretty long walk from downtown San Francisco or Fisherman's Wharf/Pier 39. Take the car or public transportation (which is cheap!) to get there.
WiFi available, but you need to ask for the password first!
Overall we enjoyed our two-night-stay here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

+: The location is convenient, close to several shopping streets, felt safe.
+: Free parking (limited number of places, but we had no problem), free internet, coffee machine.
+: Cheap enough
-: The room had a bad smell that wouldn't disappear, it wasn't very clean (I never walked bare feet on the dirty carpet), it is small and there is no place to hang the towels.
+: they changed the towels and made the bed everyday.

All in all, we don't spend much time in the room, so we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Needs to be updated
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Ideal for a short trip in SF.
Free parking and Wifi. Good neighborhood. Shops, Restaurants, Bus etc. around. Last but not least it`s cheap.
We would come again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed at Greenwich Inn during our first visito to San Francisco. It is in a convenient location if you arrive by car. The motel has a reasonable amount of parking. Moreover it is very close to Lombard St. where you can find lot of places for a breakfast or a dinner if you don't want to go far. Mel's drive inn (just two black from the motel) would be a good choice.

I've been in Frisco only twice (one at Greenwich Inn and one in another Motel) so I'm not a great expert of motel prices here. However, considering it was during a week-end and comparing the Greenwich Inn to the other motel we used during our second visit, I can say that Greenwich Inn has a good price vs. quality ratio.

Rooms were clean and we had no complaint.

  • Liked — It is in a good position
  • Disliked — Too much noise from the street early in the morning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Inn

Address: 3201 Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenwich Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel San Francisco
Greenwich b&b
Greenwich Bed Breakfast
Greenwich San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.