We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, good price for an expensive city.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Town House to your Saves list
Town House
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1650 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Central Coast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, good price for an expensive city.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Town House Motel is close to Fisherman's Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge. It is on the "Jump on, Jump off" bus tour route and is also close to other public transport so getting around is easy. It is not far from the town centre at Union Square either.
Our room was comfortable but basic but there was plenty to do in San Francisco without having to spend much time in your room.
Breakfast was very basic, - a pastry and a piece of fruit, juice and coffee or tea to take to your room. The couple who run the motel are helpful.
There was no air conditioning - only heating, so the room got quite hot! Personally, I like to be cool to sleep. Be aware that San Francisco can be quite cold in summer. If you are going on top of a bus for a tour across the harbour you need warm clothes to add e.g. A coat or jacket over a cardigan or sloppy-joe. Otherwise you will freeze!

Room Tip: Ask for a room back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

10 minutes walk from the Fishermans Wharf, ideal for a budget stay. Although the motel is on a fairly busy road, it wasn't noisy at night. Staff were helpful, & free parking was a bonus. Rooms were basic, but clean. Breakfast was very limited, and had to be eaten back in the room. However, there is a diner a few minutes walk down the road, if variety is required.

Room Tip: No lift available for the 1st floor, so if you have a large amount of luggage, request a gound floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

When you're on a budget in San Fran your options are pretty limited and so I picked this motel even though I wasn't thrilled with it. Staff were okay, not very friendly but not rude either. Parking is free which is a massive bonus. The rooms were a bit of a surprise when I walked in. I generally stay in midrange priced hotels which in San Fran just isn't an option price wise so it was a different kind of experience. Room was clean enough although there were dark hairs around the bathroom and bedroom and my partner and I are both light haired. This made me feel a little unhappy about the cleanliness. Ultimately after a day or two I got used to the room and it offered us a great location and base in San Francisco within our price range. If places like this didn't exist we wouldn't have been able to afford to visit San Francisco but I don't know if I'd stay again. I think I'd save up a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here on a family vacation. Location was just excellent, we could walk or take the bus/trolly everywhere very easily. Nice, clean, room, and free parking was really a plus. The breakfast wasn't much, but pleny to get us all going in the morning. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Standard motel, but pricey for what you get. Rooms are OK and clean, but no air conditioning and the sound insulation is poor - you could hear conversations next door and people walking around upstairs. Breakfast is very limited - they need a toaster. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Location is good. You can walk to the wiggly part of Lombard Street and Fisherman's Wharf without too much of a problem. Plenty of bars and restaurants on Lombard and Chestnut, a block away.
In case you are not a confident driver, parking is very tight - you have to drive in and then reverse out onto the main road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a very nice property. It is in a great location, can walk to all kinds of restaurants and easy walk to the waterfront. It has free parking which in this area is very rare. It is an older property but it is taken care of nicely. The room is extremely small but well appointed. The bathroom was really too small, you could barely turn around, but everything worked. We planned on staying 3 days, but it was very cold, so we left after 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Town House and found it to be very comfortable and on one of the main streets of the City but not plagued with noise from traffic. Owners helpful and pleasant enough and the location was great for getting around. we went on a Tour Bus around the City and over the Bridge and were impressed with the value for money as we would not have seen 1/2 of the sights had we not took the tour.

Room Tip: We were up on level 1 and were not disturbed by any traffice noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House

Address: 1650 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Hotel San Francisco
Town Hotel San Francisco
Town Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.