We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close Convenient to Fisherman's Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Close Convenient to Fisherman's Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this motel/hotel. While the rooms are older, they are clean and the office staff most amenable. It is within one block of all the action at Fisherman's Wharf and walking distance to Pier 39 and Ghiradelli Square. Parking is free too...another bonus.
Beds were comfortable. The furniture and TV's could use some upgrades. There is no air conditioning, but then most of the shops around Fisherman's Wharf do not have AC since the climate is so mild.

Room Tip: There are two mini suites. Each is large and each has a lot of room to "spread out". Furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    204
    125
    40
    31
See reviews for
132
203
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you don't care about cleanliness,having no A.C. and spending a lot of money come here.This place is a DUMP.There are other places across the street that are a lot nicer.Had to open balcony door to keep it cool in the room.Very noisy on the street in the wee hours of the morning.People yelling and screaming, garbage truck emptying dumpsters right below us.Lousy experience.Woke up tired every morn.Ended up cancelling res. for later in the week after going to Yosemite for 3 days.Booked a much much nicer room I block from this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Let's face it...affordable hotels with free parking is pretty much non-existent in San Francisco, especially next to the wharf. So when I stumbled upon The Wharf Inn after searching other places online, I was so grateful. Make sure to book this place way in advance because it fills up quick. Here's why:

The price is great. Our room was $250 which I consider very reasonable due to its location. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised to open our hotel door to a very spacious room. We stayed in a double queen room and were able to fit our baby's stroller, pack 'n' play, along with all the luggage, and still plenty of space to walk around. Usually the hotels we stay at in San Francisco are super cramped. You walk in and the bed is right there. Another unique feature to the room is that the window is wall length, from floor to ceiling. My one year stayed occupied staring out and waving to the other guests. The best part about staying here is the convenient stroll you can take to Pier 39. That was the main reason my husband and I decided to stay here. Literally a 5-10 minute walk across the street to the pier. Oh,and did I mention there's free parking? You are allowed to leave your car in the lot after you check out until 3pm that same day, which is a nice plus too.

Even though I plan on visiting again, there's a few things to mention. Breakfast is not provided, but there is complimentary coffee and powdered hot cocoa at the front desk. If you need to use an iron or blowdryer, make sure to ask for these items when you check in, since they're not in your room. The beds are hard and the room we stayed in did not have a tub. This was only a concern for us since we bathe our baby in the tub. It was only a minor inconvenience though. They also do not provide a baby crib whereas EVERY hotel we've stayed at in the past have.

Despite these little disadvantages, I still believe it's highly worth it to stay here at The Wharf Inn. If you want location, a roomy space, and free parking, this is the spot.

Room Tip: Bring a pack 'n' play for your baby since cribs are not provided. Request a room in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A great place to stay. I would recommend this hotel. Little noisy in the street at night, but overall a great experience. Conveniently located to Fisherman's Wharf and all the public transportation. Parking was included in the coffee although not in the room was at the registration desk and available 24 hours a day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Wharf Inn for 2 nights in April, 2014 in the "Penthouse Suite" which is a separate unit on the rooftop. The location is, without a doubt, it's best attribute. Everything we required was either within walking distance or easily accessible. The Inn's accommodations (ie. decor and furnishings) are most definitely dated, but would that deter us from staying again -- absolutely not! The beds were very comfortable; the suite was clean; room amenities were in good working order (although no a/c - there were plenty of fans in the unit); tv might have been old -- but to be honest I don't even remember turning it on the whole time we were there; price was extremely good for the area and included parking; staff was helpful and were there 24/7; we had no problem with noise whatsoever, not at the front of hotel nor in the sleeping quarters which are located facing the back of the building (however, because our unit was somewhat segregated not sure if the rest of the motel units are or not). Overall the experience was good, we would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staff is highly accommodating. It's an awesome location just steps from the Fisherman's Wharf. Nice room, nice beds, good amenities, coffee in the lobby. Really nice stay and great deal from hotels.com. Will stay again. It's a motel so expect it to be as much. Free parking, awesome!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Wharf Inn for 2 nights while visiting San Francisco on our way to Los Angeles. The Inn's location is right on Fisher Mans Wharf, just a short walk from Pier 39 with easy access to public transportation, cable car and tour stops. I felt very safe out walking the whole time we were there- as early as 8:30am and as late as 10:30pm. The Inn staff is fantastic! They are very welcoming, friendly and happy to offer advice, answer questions and help in anyway possible. The property itself is old but well maintained and our room was clean. There is free wifi, coffee, tea and hot chocolate (drinks located in the office). Additionally, the free parking is a huge bonus since public/street parking is difficult to find.

Now for the downside, as I mentioned this is an older property, the beds were uncomfortable and the shower was low for me (I'm 5'3"). The hotel does not have A/C. However these things would not deter me from visiting again.

The Wharf Inn is a great value in San Francisco compared to the more pricey hotels and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building would be quieter, however the views of the bay are in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.