We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for an SF Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location for an SF Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a great stay at the Wharf Inn. The Manager was kind enough to upgrade us to a slightly larger room which is great with 2 teen kids in tow. The room was clean and the beds comfy. Tho there was some street noise, we all seemed to be able to sleep in past 9:30 each day. It is walking distance to anything at the Wharf and the street car picks up at the corner to travel down the Embarcadero. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    222
    138
    45
    31
See reviews for
145
215
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with another couple in May 2014,price, location - within easy walking distance to Pier 39, etc, and free parking being the attraction. The rooms were basic, both rooms were clean, but our sofa was grubby. Bathroom small but adequate with toiletries and hair dryer from reception no problem. Very small safes at reception, not in room. We were on second floor facing car park and was quiet except for plumbing noise. San Francisco was experiencing a heat wave, but the ceiling fan was fine in our room, but our friends on third floor were too hot.
Reception small but adequate, free hot drinks available. Front desk variable. "Steve" was there when we arrived in the afternoon and again the following afternoon and was brilliant, so helpful, full of ideas, directions to places and recommendations for eating places, one for breakfast and the other for dinner, both excellent. Late evening totally different service. The man behind Reception barely looked at us when we asked him a question. He looked down at his mobile phone the whole time and was texting. We asked if he could recommend a place for breakfast and his response was 'Californians and I eat in our own homes, so would not know'. The Chinese lady on in the mornings did not appear to understand much English, or maybe our accents, as were from the UK, so difficult to get any information from her.
Wi-fi was fine in our rooms. Security could not have been better for a motel style hotel. The room key card was needed to get to the stairs or to use the lift, so no-one could get to your bedroom door. No fridge or coffee maker in rooms, but for the price by Fisherman's Wharf, we were not expecting it.
It is a tired hotel and needs some work on it, but there are definitely plus points to the hotel which overcome its shorts falls.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

For the same price we went across the street and stayed at the Sheraton which was WAY nicer. The pillows and sheets
Looked like they had not been changed in a week or more. There was hair in the shower and the floor was dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The wharf inn is really a motel and is costly as it is a thirty second walk to pier 39 and fisherman's wharf. Reasonable rooms with good bathroom and great fluffy towels. Good queen size bed and sitting space by the television, with a table and coffee table. No meals, but then breakfast on fisherman's wharf is part of the experience. They do provide free tea, coffee and chocolate at reception 24/7. The staff at reception were kind and helpful. Parking is of course free and we seemed to be the only people who did not arrive there in a car. For the wharf inn location is everything and we did not mind spending a lot because of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you like watching reality talk shows or noisey 'all hours of the morning' garbage truck pickup dumping commercial bins, really loud plumbing, giant painful pillows with broken sleep then you will love this place. Facing a 711.

Spend a bit more for somewhere else away from any busy shops. You are only paying for the close proximity to fisherman's wharf.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is at the heart of the action at Fisherman's Wharf. I stayed here primarily because of the free parking and location. It is convenient to good restaurants, the wharf and attractions. My first impression was that it was a motel. Upon entering the room I felt it was drab, but it was just that the decor was too bland. There was nothing wrong with it. It could use more ventilation. My room faced the wall of some other building which helped the noise from all the tourists at the wharf. I would recommend to someone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the wharf are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is like a motel, fairly basic but has everything you need. It's clean, the rooms are a good size, the shower was surprisingly good, really strong & hot. The location is excellent, right on the Fisherman's Wharf. It's across the road from a supermarket which is convenient for water & stuff. There was quite a lot of street noise & construction noise from outside, but we knew from the reviews to expect that, the bed was really comfy, and we were so jet lagged that it didn't matter! The room was warm, so in summer, check there's aircon.

Room Tip: We had a sea view from our balcony, but that does mean overlooking the street and the supermarket, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.