We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    204
    125
    40
    31
See reviews for
132
203
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mohegan Lake, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is all about the location. It is right in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf. If your looking for glitz then spend the extra $100 a night or more, but if your priority is being in the heart of the action, this is your place. Once we parked he car, it stayed there for the duration of our trip, except for a short ride to Lombard St. Our family, including our 3 girls (10, 9 and 6) walked to the Alcatraz pier and trolly car line. Yes there are issues around the hotel, and the area in general, but we felt safe in and around the motel. The area was noisy at night, but that's the trade off for the location. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the end of June. Room was so small I had to go outside to change my mind. No amenities - had to "borrow" an iron and an ironing board (one of the small ones) from the front desk. My room had a view of some kind of transformer. Some of the staff were ok, but others weren't even friendly. The location is good and there is free parking, but next time I'll pay more for nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy. The only let down was no coffee facilities in room but coffee in Reception. Perfect location to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 all in walking distance. All tourist attractions and tours within walking distance too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Wharf Inn was our hotel in San Francisco for 4 days, this hotel’s location is great if you want to be in the centre of the happenings at the Pier, it is a few steps away from the main road close to numerous upmarket, budget and fast food restaurants, shops and about 200meters from Pier 39, a close walk to the Cable car start point, where the Golden Gate bridge view is spectacular. If you want to get to the centre of town you would need transport. It is also close to a tram stop and the hop on hop off bus stop. The rooms are very spacious and well laid out for any type of traveller. Free parking for guests and the staff are helpful with free coffee in reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The location was truly amazing. We walked around at Fishermans Wharf at night and went sightseeing with the red open-top buses by day. There is also walking distance to the Alcatraz ferry. The room was clean, but a little bit small. You can hear the ouside traffic and people pretty good, as well as you neighbors. Very helpful lady at the front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Considering we would be sightseeing all day and only needed a bed and a shower , this hotel done the job.
It is old and worn a little , certainly time for a update , but for the price , you couldn't go wrong.
It's just a shame there is so much noise at the store across the road at night ,from all the homeless people that seem to congregate there and yell to each other ...
Then you have the early morning trucks delivering , or picking up waste bins or street sweeping , and when i say early , i mean 5am.
You can hear just about everything , there is no sound proofing i'm sure ! so do yourself a favour , ask for a rear room .... the view is not worth all the noise !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.