We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy. The only let down was no coffee facilities in room but coffee in Reception. Perfect location to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 all in walking distance. All tourist attractions and tours within walking distance too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Wharf Inn was our hotel in San Francisco for 4 days, this hotel’s location is great if you want to be in the centre of the happenings at the Pier, it is a few steps away from the main road close to numerous upmarket, budget and fast food restaurants, shops and about 200meters from Pier 39, a close walk to the Cable car start point, where the Golden Gate bridge view is spectacular. If you want to get to the centre of town you would need transport. It is also close to a tram stop and the hop on hop off bus stop. The rooms are very spacious and well laid out for any type of traveller. Free parking for guests and the staff are helpful with free coffee in reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The location was truly amazing. We walked around at Fishermans Wharf at night and went sightseeing with the red open-top buses by day. There is also walking distance to the Alcatraz ferry. The room was clean, but a little bit small. You can hear the ouside traffic and people pretty good, as well as you neighbors. Very helpful lady at the front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Considering we would be sightseeing all day and only needed a bed and a shower , this hotel done the job.
It is old and worn a little , certainly time for a update , but for the price , you couldn't go wrong.
It's just a shame there is so much noise at the store across the road at night ,from all the homeless people that seem to congregate there and yell to each other ...
Then you have the early morning trucks delivering , or picking up waste bins or street sweeping , and when i say early , i mean 5am.
You can hear just about everything , there is no sound proofing i'm sure ! so do yourself a favour , ask for a rear room .... the view is not worth all the noise !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and weren't disappointed with that aspect. I stayed here about 25 years ago and it has definitely aged since that time. Management needs to consider replacing stained chairs and pillows. Ick. No air conditioning but ceiling fan did the job. Would most a different place next time in SF.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was the cheapest rate we could find at the Fisherman's Wharf area so we were skeptical. What a great surprise!

Pros: clean beds, clean bathroom and towels, comfortable room, convenient walking location to FW & Embarcadero, Ghiradelli Square and other spots via a short cab ride. Free parking and wi-fi. Best rates. Friendly staff and helpful. Parking close to rooms so you don't have to haul luggage far and elevator access for second floor guests.

Cons: blow dryer, iron and board are available, but you must go ask front desk for them. Make sure to request them when you check in so you don't have to go back down. Water temperatures fluctuate so be careful when you start the shower- I had to adjust for a few minutes since the water initially came out ice cold before hot. No HBO or premium channels/movies.

Things to consider: not a four star hotel so don't expect flat screen tv, modern decor, nor a coolness factor. Basic and a little outdated, but still worth every penny. Towels a bit thin and shower curtain a bit broken but still worked. Older motel-style inn with outside room access only.

Overall: Happy to have stayed!

Face: Happy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkat2986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night because of the location. From the reviews I read I was honestly worried about staying here and considered changing hotels but for the price and free parking and location we figured it's only 1 night lets chance it. I'm glad we did.

The hotel is nothing fancy but the front desk was helpful and the property is really in a good location. It felt safe because of their cameras around and the front desk is across the elevator. I also liked that you need your room key to call the elevator.

Our room was basic but actually bigger than the room we had at the Handlerly Union Square. First time I've been in a hotel that had a big old tv. Most have flat screens but no big deal as I wasn't there to watch tv. We didn't have a view which would have been nice but for us we don't stay in the room much so it didn't matter. I believe our room had an a/c control but I wasn't sure how to work it so just set it at 70 and turned on the ceiling fan which made the room comfortable.since SFO is normally cool anyway. The location is across from a 7-11 and when you leave the hotel and walk toward the wharf you end up at Boudins Bakery. A short walk will take you to Pier 39 (sea lions) and a walk the other way takes you to Giradelli Square. This was a great central location. They also offer free coffee and hot cocoa in the lobby all day which was a nice added touch.

I'd stay here again if I wanted a hotel near Fishermans wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#34 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#19 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,433 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,517 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
#109 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing