We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth while staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth while staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Wharf Inn was our hotel in San Francisco for 4 days, this hotel’s location is great if you want to be in the centre of the happenings at the Pier, it is a few steps away from the main road close to numerous upmarket, budget and fast food restaurants, shops and about 200meters from Pier 39, a close walk to the Cable car start point, where the Golden Gate bridge view is spectacular. If you want to get to the centre of town you would need transport. It is also close to a tram stop and the hop on hop off bus stop. The rooms are very spacious and well laid out for any type of traveller. Free parking for guests and the staff are helpful with free coffee in reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    205
    125
    40
    31
See reviews for
133
203
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skudeneshavn, Rogaland, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The location was truly amazing. We walked around at Fishermans Wharf at night and went sightseeing with the red open-top buses by day. There is also walking distance to the Alcatraz ferry. The room was clean, but a little bit small. You can hear the ouside traffic and people pretty good, as well as you neighbors. Very helpful lady at the front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Considering we would be sightseeing all day and only needed a bed and a shower , this hotel done the job.
It is old and worn a little , certainly time for a update , but for the price , you couldn't go wrong.
It's just a shame there is so much noise at the store across the road at night ,from all the homeless people that seem to congregate there and yell to each other ...
Then you have the early morning trucks delivering , or picking up waste bins or street sweeping , and when i say early , i mean 5am.
You can hear just about everything , there is no sound proofing i'm sure ! so do yourself a favour , ask for a rear room .... the view is not worth all the noise !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the location and weren't disappointed with that aspect. I stayed here about 25 years ago and it has definitely aged since that time. Management needs to consider replacing stained chairs and pillows. Ick. No air conditioning but ceiling fan did the job. Would most a different place next time in SF.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the cheapest rate we could find at the Fisherman's Wharf area so we were skeptical. What a great surprise!

Pros: clean beds, clean bathroom and towels, comfortable room, convenient walking location to FW & Embarcadero, Ghiradelli Square and other spots via a short cab ride. Free parking and wi-fi. Best rates. Friendly staff and helpful. Parking close to rooms so you don't have to haul luggage far and elevator access for second floor guests.

Cons: blow dryer, iron and board are available, but you must go ask front desk for them. Make sure to request them when you check in so you don't have to go back down. Water temperatures fluctuate so be careful when you start the shower- I had to adjust for a few minutes since the water initially came out ice cold before hot. No HBO or premium channels/movies.

Things to consider: not a four star hotel so don't expect flat screen tv, modern decor, nor a coolness factor. Basic and a little outdated, but still worth every penny. Towels a bit thin and shower curtain a bit broken but still worked. Older motel-style inn with outside room access only.

Overall: Happy to have stayed!

Face: Happy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night because of the location. From the reviews I read I was honestly worried about staying here and considered changing hotels but for the price and free parking and location we figured it's only 1 night lets chance it. I'm glad we did.

The hotel is nothing fancy but the front desk was helpful and the property is really in a good location. It felt safe because of their cameras around and the front desk is across the elevator. I also liked that you need your room key to call the elevator.

Our room was basic but actually bigger than the room we had at the Handlerly Union Square. First time I've been in a hotel that had a big old tv. Most have flat screens but no big deal as I wasn't there to watch tv. We didn't have a view which would have been nice but for us we don't stay in the room much so it didn't matter. I believe our room had an a/c control but I wasn't sure how to work it so just set it at 70 and turned on the ceiling fan which made the room comfortable.since SFO is normally cool anyway. The location is across from a 7-11 and when you leave the hotel and walk toward the wharf you end up at Boudins Bakery. A short walk will take you to Pier 39 (sea lions) and a walk the other way takes you to Giradelli Square. This was a great central location. They also offer free coffee and hot cocoa in the lobby all day which was a nice added touch.

I'd stay here again if I wanted a hotel near Fishermans wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparks nv
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We always love staying here.. This time we had the penthouse. Check the rates for different times of the year. Rates can double in all San Fran properties during certain months. The access to public transport is great, 2 blocks from a cable car, half block from street car and bus. We get the 3 day passport pass good for unlimeted travel on Muni. The Embarcardo has free maps of transportation system. The hotel is basic, not a lot of frills. but, parking is free and the rooms are clean. We love to go to Boudin's in the a.m. for fresh bread for breakfast. Only half block from wharf. The penthouse has a full kitchen. It's roughly the cost of two rooms, has 2 bedrooms, living, kitchen combo, and 2 decks. We love it here.

Room Tip: if you arrive early they will usually let you go ahead and park. Once you check out you can leave y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.