We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location - Free Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Save Saved
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Free Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night because of the location. From the reviews I read I was honestly worried about staying here and considered changing hotels but for the price and free parking and location we figured it's only 1 night lets chance it. I'm glad we did.

The hotel is nothing fancy but the front desk was helpful and the property is really in a good location. It felt safe because of their cameras around and the front desk is across the elevator. I also liked that you need your room key to call the elevator.

Our room was basic but actually bigger than the room we had at the Handlerly Union Square. First time I've been in a hotel that had a big old tv. Most have flat screens but no big deal as I wasn't there to watch tv. We didn't have a view which would have been nice but for us we don't stay in the room much so it didn't matter. I believe our room had an a/c control but I wasn't sure how to work it so just set it at 70 and turned on the ceiling fan which made the room comfortable.since SFO is normally cool anyway. The location is across from a 7-11 and when you leave the hotel and walk toward the wharf you end up at Boudins Bakery. A short walk will take you to Pier 39 (sea lions) and a walk the other way takes you to Giradelli Square. This was a great central location. They also offer free coffee and hot cocoa in the lobby all day which was a nice added touch.

I'd stay here again if I wanted a hotel near Fishermans wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    199
    117
    38
    24
See reviews for
116
189
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sparks nv
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We always love staying here.. This time we had the penthouse. Check the rates for different times of the year. Rates can double in all San Fran properties during certain months. The access to public transport is great, 2 blocks from a cable car, half block from street car and bus. We get the 3 day passport pass good for unlimeted travel on Muni. The Embarcardo has free maps of transportation system. The hotel is basic, not a lot of frills. but, parking is free and the rooms are clean. We love to go to Boudin's in the a.m. for fresh bread for breakfast. Only half block from wharf. The penthouse has a full kitchen. It's roughly the cost of two rooms, has 2 bedrooms, living, kitchen combo, and 2 decks. We love it here.

Room Tip: if you arrive early they will usually let you go ahead and park. Once you check out you can leave y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great location, Hotel is very basic, we had a hand-I-cap room. The room was clean and staff was friendly. No added cost to park on site. Balcony rooms facing the street are a must, great view of the bay, but a little noisy. Rooms have fans overheard, no A/C (not needed). Walk to Fisherman's Wharf and other sites. City tour buss and street cars half block away.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing street are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA MONICA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My sister had to cancel a non refundable reservation, and the manager Michael agreed to cancel the reservation for a small fee. This is why dealing with small businesses is better than dealing with large corporations. Other large hotels or businesses will never refund a non refundable fee. Thank you - Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great location of hotel right by Fisherman's Wharf. Walked to many sites right from hotel. Ask for "Balcony" rooms, I think 210-215 and 310-315. Our view was of a large white brick building and there was no air circulating or breeze. Room was very warm with no air conditioning. No blow dryer. Beds very comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly as well as guests.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony/view rooms. Stay away from back rooms that face building next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay in San Francisco and the Wharf Inn is in a perfect location. The fact you had to swipe your accesscard to use the lift or stairs was extra security for us and our children. We stayed in a "suite" as we had 2 adults and 3 children but still found this very small. 2 large bed and a creaky fold out couch. Plenty of storage for our clothes and a great shower, however no fridge or beverage facilites. You could make a coffee or hot chocolate in the foyer but would have been happier being able to make a coffee without having to leave my room in the mornings. We had a external corner room which was terribly noisy and we had to ring the front desk to ask another guest to turn their TV down as we could hear it through the floor (our room didnt have any others adjoining. I would probably look for another place to stay if I was to go again, but the location was very hard to beat. 2 min walk to Fishermans Wharf, 5 min walk to the trolley cars, a Supermarket 1 block away....

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the streets unless you can sleep through the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Is the worst experience I have ever had. We were going to stay just for one night, the location great but once we enter the our room we saw that our pillows had some blood stains, we call front desk and the guy said that it could not be true that the room was cleaned before we came and that if we want new sheets we should come to pick it up at the front desk. I told him that the least they could do is bring new sheets and change it, but he was really rude, almost yelling at me,and insist that the room was clean and he was not going to bring it. My husband went to the front desk to pick the sheets and the guy star yelling at him saying the if we want a five star hotel we should go to the Sheraton, my husband took the sheets and came up, then this guy came into our room with this actitude to check if the pillows had something, and said that it might be that one of the employees cut themselves while changing the sheets (again with his rude actitude). He told us that we could leave the hotel if we want but we only have 5 minutes to decide. We payed $200 for one nigh in that hotel, we left the hotel immediately and will never come back, a customer should never be treat like that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.