We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Save Saved
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman's Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location but old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I choose to stay here because of the location close to everything we were doing - Fisherman's wharf, the Piers, Golden Gate Bridge, and Alcatraz. In that case it was perfect. However the hotel is very old, run down. Don't expect a big room. We booked a 2 queen room with a cot. So for 5 of us we were cramped. They ran out of room for parking, however made an exception to allow us to park in one of the handicapped stalls out on the street. Our room had a water view but also had a view of all the street vagrants. The city collects garbage through the night and very early in the morning. So between loud people and traffic you don't get much sleep. Water flow was very sad in the shower and lamps were burnt out. No air conditioning which can create poor air flow in room. I recognize that this is one of the cheapest hotels in San Fran by the piers but considering is was still pricey to stay here I was hugely disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms all enter from outside walkways. If you don't want lots of people walking by your room boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    195
    117
    36
    28
See reviews for
122
193
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent four days in San Francisco and wanted to stay near The Wharf, Little Italy and China Town. Most places in the area are very expensive, around $300 per night for a room with a king bed. The Wharf in was almost half the price and a decent hotel. Since we were on the go non-stop while there, we didn't need anything fancy and this place fit the bill. If you book more than 30 days in advance you get an additional discount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The front desk clerk was very rude and disrespectful. I was extremely displeased with his service and would NEVER stay here again! If I wouldn't have lost out on my money for our stay I would have cancelled this hotel and stayed elsewhere! The main reason I booked this hotel was for location, which is fantastic, but that is the only positive thing going for this hotel. Once in our room we discovered fried shrimp underneath one of the beds along with someone's tennis shoe. Not sure how long it's been there, but that is disgusting! The room smells like a musty locker room, I'm surprised that smell overpowers the shrimp under the bed. Such a disappointment!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Would not recommended this hotel at all. Although the location is great the customer service is poor, room dirty and very loud at night. The walls are paper thin could hear people in the room next in the lavatory. For the money stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Maybe stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Mature couple. Location perfect, close to wharf, trams, buses and cable cars. Rooms clean and well presented. All at your door step. FREE PARKING. Bed comfortable. Nice view. Great restaurants close by. Do not waste money on the upmarket hotels because you spend most of your time sightseeing and just enjoy the city. The gentleman at the reception was a joy, helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had spent time in SF, though never near Fisherman's Wharf. I picked this motel because of 3 things: reasonable price, free parking and near Fisherman's Wharf and my meetings. The Fisherman's Wharf area is disappointing: gritty and dilapidated with not much to see. The Wharf Inn was perfectly adequate for my 3 things. I also found the staff completely polite and accommodating when I asked if I could park there early before I could check in and late after I checked out.

The motel is l shaped. My room was toward the back of the l and quiet enough. No glamor but not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location; one block off the touristy areas of Fishermans Wharf; a 10 minute walk along the waterfront to Pier 39. Two blocks from the Mason St. cable car terminus.

Parking at the hotel is free; a bit tight and sometimes a bit limited (but I've never NOT gotten a spot - and I'm an out-late person). Rooms are good; not excellent. If you want to go to SF, I think you want to be in a location where you can wander out of your room into the restaurants or boats to Sausalito or Alcatraz and NOT have to drive and park and pay !!

The rooms here are 60% of the big name rooms in the area; plus the big-names also charge for parking. So a better value can't be found - tho typically you'd expect a higer quality room for prices asked here. It IS San Francisco and it IS the most desireable location; so there you have it. I've stayed here several times and have always enjoyed the location very much and the rooms are OK.

Room Tip: Really all rooms are the same, on a level above the parking areas and a bit sheltered from the troll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman's Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.