We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, poor Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #135 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Would not recommended this hotel at all. Although the location is great the customer service is poor, room dirty and very loud at night. The walls are paper thin could hear people in the room next in the lavatory. For the money stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Maybe stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    233
    146
    49
    32
See reviews for
152
230
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Mature couple. Location perfect, close to wharf, trams, buses and cable cars. Rooms clean and well presented. All at your door step. FREE PARKING. Bed comfortable. Nice view. Great restaurants close by. Do not waste money on the upmarket hotels because you spend most of your time sightseeing and just enjoy the city. The gentleman at the reception was a joy, helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had spent time in SF, though never near Fisherman's Wharf. I picked this motel because of 3 things: reasonable price, free parking and near Fisherman's Wharf and my meetings. The Fisherman's Wharf area is disappointing: gritty and dilapidated with not much to see. The Wharf Inn was perfectly adequate for my 3 things. I also found the staff completely polite and accommodating when I asked if I could park there early before I could check in and late after I checked out.

The motel is l shaped. My room was toward the back of the l and quiet enough. No glamor but not a bad place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location; one block off the touristy areas of Fishermans Wharf; a 10 minute walk along the waterfront to Pier 39. Two blocks from the Mason St. cable car terminus.

Parking at the hotel is free; a bit tight and sometimes a bit limited (but I've never NOT gotten a spot - and I'm an out-late person). Rooms are good; not excellent. If you want to go to SF, I think you want to be in a location where you can wander out of your room into the restaurants or boats to Sausalito or Alcatraz and NOT have to drive and park and pay !!

The rooms here are 60% of the big name rooms in the area; plus the big-names also charge for parking. So a better value can't be found - tho typically you'd expect a higer quality room for prices asked here. It IS San Francisco and it IS the most desireable location; so there you have it. I've stayed here several times and have always enjoyed the location very much and the rooms are OK.

Room Tip: Really all rooms are the same, on a level above the parking areas and a bit sheltered from the troll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here as part of a 10 day coastal road trip. We chose the hotel based on it's location, price and onsite parking. We knew that this wasn't going to be a luxury hotel by any means and we were okay with that. What particularly bothered me was on our 2nd night, we were woken by someone trying to break into our room (presumably someone who was confused and thought it was their room?). Given the proximity to Fisherman's Wharf and lack of strong security, the incident left us feeling a bit shaken and we couldn't wait to get out of there.

You get what you pay for. Just make sure to dead bolt your door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We live about 80 miles from San Francisco, and we go into the city for two- or three-day weekends about three times a year. Hotels in areas like Union Square and Fishherman's Wharf always charge for parking. THIS ONE DOES NOT! Making a reservation on line was simple. The room for one night was $129.00 tax included, and parking was free. Five-minute walk to Pier 39, ten-minute walk to Gharadelli Square--in other words, superb location.

There is nothing fancy here--but the room was spacious and clean. I actually wondered about even reviewing this place--didn't want the word to get out that this is undoubtedly the best value in San Francisco, but it is and is worth a visit. View was non-existent (at least from our room) but the room was off the main street so it was quiet--even on a Saturday night.

Don't expect the Ritz here, but this is a wonderful bargain. We were warned on previous Trip
Advisor Reviews that the hotel was not spotless and it was noisy. Maybe we were lucky, but we will return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street. Probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Wharf Inn for 3 nights. To put this review in perspective, my wife and I travel a lot. We understand that there are many differences in places to stay. However, one thing that should never be sacrificed in a room is cleanliness. Here is what we found at the Wharf Inn.

1) View room was not a "view room" due to the windows being filthy, both inside and out.
2) Carpets along the walls were so dusty, it actually looked to be a different color carpet.
3) Bathroom vents & heater vents were absolutely filthy.
4) Room chair had dark stain & the sofa had a rip in it.

The heater also did to work properly. It was either full on or off. The fan in the heater also rattled.

I can't say anything about the other rooms. I can only review the room that we stayed in. We highly suggested staying away from room 322.

We normally do not take the time to complain to the management when we find a room this bad. We simply take our business elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wharf Inn is an independent 51 room hotel with 50 guest rooms and 1 Penthouse Suite built in 1959 located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most tourist-friendly neighborhood. We are steps away from Pier 39, cable car terminals and Alcatraz boats. Walk to world-famous restaurants, browse through colorful shops at historic Ghirardelli Square and the Cannery, ride cable cars and street cars to North Beach, Chinatown, and the Union Square shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.