We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place, Interesting people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wharf Inn to your Saves list
The Wharf Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting Place, Interesting people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

So, we stayed at the Wharf Inn from October 1st to October 5th. It was a very nice and interesting experience. Though the hotel was basic, it was clean and comfortable and the staff was exceptionally friendly.

When we got to our room, we ended up having some questions about the facility itself. I work in the Hotel industry in Ohio and I was curious. The people at the desk were happy to answer any questions that I had. 1. We had a small dog. We noticed that there wasn't any place for the dog to go and I believe that someone on here mentioned that.

It turns out that the pet policy is a brand new thing that started within the last couple of years and until then it has never been a pet friendly hotel.

The free parking was amazing but we were curious to know why there was no breakfast and only coffee. Being in the industry myself I figured that it had something to do with overhead costs and having to charge for parking or other things. I was right. How do I know? I asked!! people don't ask these things any more. I was told that there was no space for breakfast which is true as the lobby is very small, and I was also told that the overhead cost was pretty high and that they would have to charge for parking if we had breakfast. I am totally okay with that. I am not a complainer as some people seem to be.

The 2nd night, we realized there was no A/C. it was a little warm but we figured that it was San Francisco and in an older building it probably wasn't installed. We asked about that too. San Francisco isn't warm most of the year anyway. the only night we really could have used it was the night of the 2nd, but the 3rd night we were freezing and the staff happily obliged and gave us heat! Yay for heat!

The only downside was the noise on the street. This is nothing that the hotel can help. San Francisco is a noisy city all night long. We go every year so we know this. This however was the first time we stayed at the wharf Inn. And we will stay there from here on out

It was very tough to get a reservation at first because we didn't realize that the days that we were booking were still in peak season and we had been trying to get a room since August. We finally got in!! Even when we were there they were sold out every night. To avoid booking problems for next time we went ahead and booked out dates for next year. We were told to book in advance if we want to come June-October anyway. I can see why.

So to sum it all up. We loved it. It is basic and absolutely no frills. But they have free wifi and free parking. If you're they type that needs pampered and have everything brought to you, then don't stay at the Wharf Inn. If you're the type like we are where we just sleep and shower and kick back and enjoy the view of the crazies on the street. Then this is perfect place for you!!!

P.S. The only views they really have are of the 7 eleven across the street. Not much of an ocean view but that's okay. Nor do they have fridges or Microwaves, but were more than willign to heat up the baby's formula

We will stay here again! and wil recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Request a quieter room if you don't like the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    216
    133
    44
    31
See reviews for
140
212
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Regarding the situation this hotel is perfect => just next to the Fisherman's Wharf with the SAF Tram two blocks away. There is free parking for guests and our room was clean and nice. Ok, it's not a 5* hotel but there is all you need for a 1 to 2 nights stay. Breakfast is not included but you will find a lot restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I had never been to San Fran before, and we only had 2 days to be there, so we wanted the full fisherman's wharf Experience. We hired Frisco Limo to pick us up at the airport and deliver us to the Wharf Inn, which was a great experience and cost the same as a cab, but far more private & comfortable. The Wharf Inn is not a high end place, but was clean, comfortable, and SO CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!!!!! The staff is very helpful, coffee in the lobby and we could walk everywhere from there! Look over our balcony at the wharf and see the edge of alcatraz. Walked pier 39 and then on to the Alcatraz departure pier 33. We took the Angel Island Tour & Alcatraz tour all in one day! We even rode the old trolly cars through the hills to downtown and then back on to come back! This was the most memorable 2 days and we wouldn't have had such a grand experience, had we stayed at a hotel farther away. The Wharf Inn is very suitable, and so close to all the sight seeing venues! WE will go back for SURE!

Room Tip: ask for a room with private balcony facing the wharf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days in end August. If you want to be near to the wharf, this is it. It is literally a stone throw from Boudin...

Best of all, it gives free car parking, although i didnt drive during my stay in SF. Dun think anywhere else in the Wharf actually does that. And its so so near to Safeway...

Of course it cannot be compared to the nearby Sheraton with their outdoor fireplace... but it depends on how deep ur pocket is then...

I would definitely come back here esp if I drive and want to stay here the wharf...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Nice location, but this hotel is worn out and the beds we had were terrible. We received conflicting guidance from the hotel office staff on activities. The hurricane on the East coast extended our stay - the Wharf Inn basically kicked us out, and we ended up going to the Radisson 1 block away. This hotel was much better, similarly priced, friendlier staff, and much better beds!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great Location, Free parking, Clean Rooms, Excellent Service! A little pricey but walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was the very first place we stayed when we arrived in America for a 3 week holiday and it was exactly what we hoped for - Clean, spacious and comfortable perhaps a little noisey but what can you expect when your hotel really is right in the centre of Fishermans Wharf. The front desk staff were helpful recommending places to eat when we arrived feeling jet lagged after our flight from Heathrow (The hotel is 30 minutes and about $45 from the airport.) Everything from the famous cable cars to Pier 33- departure for trips to Alcatraz aswell as plenty of places to eat. Breakfast is best had at Bourdin Bakery just 2 minutes from the hotel and not too expensive which can't be said for the rest of the restuarants on the Wharf but most that we tried where of good quality so we didn't mind.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf Inn

Address: 2601 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wharf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Wharf Inn San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.