We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square to your Saves list
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cable Car Package!
Ranked #82 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The location is unbeatable, right in Union Square, surrounded by the cable cars, shoppings and dining options.

The building is a hallmark of the city. And it provides everything you'd expect from a Westin hotel.

As almost every hotel in San Francisco, the rates are rather high. But you can look for good opportunities particularly when there's no conventions in town.

The rooms are rather small and the internet costs are still too high. But this seems to be business as usual in SF.

Overall, a very good cost/benefit ratio.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    1,165
    628
    312
    167
See reviews for
564
995
186
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Making reservations at this hotel is the most challenging thing I've ever done. First they don't have it, then they find it for a different date, then they correct the date but it's a different rate. NO TWO PEOPLE can confirm the same info. To top it off, the down comforter had 3 stains: one looked like old blood, the other 2 were yellowish. Go figure. Just stay away from here all together.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your feedback with us. I regret to hear of your experience and would like to better understand to rectify the matter. Please private message us at StFrancisGM@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I just returned from a stay here, and although the accommodations were pretty nice (I think we got a better room as SPG Gold members), the staff seemed disorganized, understaffed and not up to the task (despite coming across as well-meaning). We called ahead for a crib, but it wasn't there. Arriving at midnight, there was no bellhop around. We asked for the crib immediately and had to call back an hour later to ask again. The safe was broken and I wasted a morning trying to get someone to fix it, when it was already broken upon my arrival so I don't understand why they didn't fix it previously. Minor complaints, but when you spend this kind of money, you expect good service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I regret to hear of the issues experienced during your stay and share your feedback with the appropriate department heads in order to ensure these issues do not happen moving forward. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We booked this hotel through a travel agent as we knew nothing about San Francisco. The location is brilliant. The sense of being part of SF history is great too. Our first room smelt a bit odd, musty. We unpacked and my son noticed the carpet in the closet was wet. I tried not to let it bother me and went for a walk, but when we returned, i realised that the toilet cistern must be leaking into the closet. It was getting late and my children were very tired. The front desk were great. We were moved that night to a parlour room of a suite in the old building, which showed how lovely the old building can be if you are lucky or pay extra, and the following day were moved to the new block which is almost like a totally different hotel, really comfortable, clean, modern. I would stay here again, but only if I knew I would be in the new tower.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! I regret to hear of the initial issues you experienced with your first guest room but am happy that our front desk team was able to turn it around and fix the problem. We have just completed a full guest room renovation in our Tower building and will be moving on to refresh the guest rooms in the Landmark very shortly. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful 5 days at the Westin. The staff, especially the lobby host Marichu Alvarez, couldn't do enough to make our stay any more enjoyable. The hotel is centrally located so that shopping is nearby, good restaurants and transit. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The landmark rooms are older and smaller than the tower rooms. We found them to be more than adequat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your kind review with us! I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that Marichu was able to make your stay exceptional. I will be sure to share your compliments with her and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Westin chain in the USA is terrible. Not a 4 star according to world standard. First room in old building smelt like mould and was tiny. For $385 per night single room that's unacceptable. They moved me to another room 'in old building'. I booked this hotel on booking.com that only shows pictures of new building rooms. Very disappointed!! Only good thing is location. Manager is not customer focused and provides a low level of customer service. He does not solve issues to an acceptable standard I would expect from SPG group member hotel. Or is SPG just a sham!!!

Cafe area small no natural light, very small selection food and drink.

Room Tip: Ask for new building rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for sharing your feedback with us. I regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations and would like to further understand your experience. Please private message us at StFrancisGM@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed here for Bay to Breakers 2014. Convenient access to bart for transit to the starting line. Valet parking on site, which is always a bonus in the city. Good proximity to Union Square for shopping, too, if that's your thing. We had a corner room on an upper floor, which allowed great city views. Room was chic, large, clean, and comfortable. Room service was prompt and tasty, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis as your destination hotel during Bay to Breakers! I am so pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for Bay to Breakers 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.