We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice combination of modernism and history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square to your Saves list
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cable Car Package!
Ranked #81 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and nice combination of modernism and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in both the old and new wings and loved the insight that we got into the history and personalities that came before us. The location was super convenient and nice to see the action on the square from our room in the old wing and the tip of the bridge from our room in the new wing. What would have been the cream on top was if we did get fussed over by the staff even though it was one of our birthdays and a special trip for us - we did let the folks at the spg booking know. I guess this is an aspect of Asian hospitality we are so used to that we kind of used in hotels of this class.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    1,167
    628
    312
    167
See reviews for
564
996
186
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Location remains the best as trip was mix of business and pleasure. Could walk to conference and conference hotel --- and plenty of great places to meet clients near the hotel. As I recall, used to have to pay to go to the health club and now no longer need to - OK health club, but want to give a plus that one no longer needs to pay. First time I stayed in the Tower section (the newer one). Had high floor for SPG Gold Member and the view was great.

Room Tip: I prefer the Tower section versus the older part of the hotel that has smaller rooms and more limite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for being a valued Starwood Preferred Gold Member! We truly thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood brand and to the Westin St. Francis. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Westin gym has just recently been renovated and replaced with all new equipment for our guests to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The setting of this hotel – its early 1900s décor mixed with more modern amenities, and its fantastic location – made for a perfect quick weekend vacation for my family. We stayed in the old building that maintained vintage cues, and our room was ideal for us. It was clean, spacious, and the beds comfortable after a busy day's worth of trekking about. Will be back again. I heart SF.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the traditional guest room that you stayed in. We are celebrating our 110th anniversary this year and do capture a sense of beauty and historic charm that we are very proud of! We hope to welcome you back to the Westin St. Francis very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing if you love shopping and walking around very close to China town as well, and a short car drive away from the mission and other fun areas. Its staff is friendly and the hotel is very clean, the hotel rooms are an amazing size and very comfy to stay in. This is a historical hotel with lots of history and everything about it is great for a nice weekend stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis and for your kind words! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, as well as the services of our staff and hotel. We hope to welcome you back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

You cannot fault the location of this place right on Union square and within walking distance to pretty much everything. The rooms are well decorated and of a good standard although the basic room is very small. They have a cool little bar in the lobby and the gym is excellent. I went for a King room (booked on a travel agent website) and when I entered my room I noticed the bed was tiny. After calling reception I was told they would change my room and was moved to a King (no apology). I wonder if they do this to see if they can get away with it or if it was a true mistake - double check you get what you pay for!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin St. Francis! We truly are the perfect location right on Union Square with many different dining and shopping options. Our gym has been newly renovated as well and replaced with new equipment for our guests to enjoy. I am sorry to hear that there was a confusion with the booking of your bed size. I am sure it was an honest mistake as travel agencies are not entirely familiar with our many room types. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

location this hotel is perfect city centre (in front of union square), classic hotel well maintained, easy to catch tram go to fisherman wharf, interior lobby is classic style, the reception staff quiet helpful but concierge staff not helpful, we must take our baggage ourself. bedroom quiet large, comfy, clean n tidy,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Westin St. Francis! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are located in a prime San Francisco destination where nearly everything is very accessible. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our concierge staff, as this is not the level of service we provide. We hope you choose to see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Back again. This time four nights at the old tower, 11th floor. Opposite to some reviews, I found the room far end of the corridor big enough for one person. Quiet and clean. Shower renovated and plenty of warm water. WLAN internet access included in my corporate rate, though the wired telephone from pre-historical age. Best valet parking in the city, but it does not come cheap. Major big plus: tasting room for Chateau Montelena: finally I was staying the nights it is open (wed to fri). If you do not have the time to drive up to Calistoga, this brings the northern Napa to you in the heart of San Fran. Thanks!

Room Tip: If you stay at the old historical tower, ask for higher floor and windows towards Union Square. Lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin St. Francis as your destination hotel in San Francisco! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with the many amenities that our hotel offers. We hope to see welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.