We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square to your Saves list
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cable Car Package!
Ranked #81 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every stay I have at this hotel somehow goes awry, but every time the personnel is just incredibly accommodating. This time a personal thank you and shout out to Rebecca at the front desk and Cora who resolved everything from an unfortunate room view to delayed room availability to the lack of DVD player when all we wanted was to snuggle and watch a movie... Outstanding customer service deserving of the Westin name. Only complaints I have were of the ridiculously rude Hertz person onsite and the fact that parking rates were raised to $60/night---we just parked a block away for half the rate...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    1,167
    629
    312
    167
See reviews for
564
996
186
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every time we visit SF we stay at the Westin St. Francis. The location is so convenient, the staff is excellent, the room service is great. Everything is within walking distance to include the BART which I use to visit family in Newark. My family and I have stayed at both portions of the Hotel, the old original building and the "new" area. The original area gives that "back in the days" feel and the rooms are well maintained. I will continue to stay here when I come to visit SF.

Room Tip: We have Starwood membership and get to use the Starwood preferred line instead of the normal check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am excited to hear all the things you love about the hotel and I am happy to hear you will stay with us again. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Out of its lobby we directly face with Union Square in the heart of San Francisco.

Walking distance to Union Square Tram Station, Conference Hall, lots 24 hours diners nearby so you can skip for hotel breakfast.

Easy access is the main plus for this hotel, the surrounding is just great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just backed from a trip in SF while stayed at 25 floor of the tower building. The deco is modern style but the view out of the window is pretty amazing.
The scenic lift is pretty as well.
I can see the sunset every evening and the fog covering the whole city every morning.
Pity that there is no SPG club lounge in the hotel.

Room Tip: higher level is betty in view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to be a part of our Starwood Preferred Guest program. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My first visit to the St. Francis was twenty plus years ago, my most recent experience showed changes, new restaurants, but the same high quality service and accommodations in the center of activity of San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for a wedding. Rooms were supposed to be on same floor or "close". We were put on a different wing entirely. Receptionist forgot to give us info all people checking in for the wedding were suppose to receive. Rooms were not ready until well after check in time. We were overcharged and have been given the "yeah we will look into it" or "yeah, we see your point and will credit you" and most recently "yeah, I don't know why that credit didn't go through". Save yourself and stay somewhere else. You would probably be better off near fisherman's wharf.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear we were not able to put your rooms close to one another. Unfortunately, we can not satisfy all guest room requests. Regarding your refund for your overcharge, please contact me at danielle.perez@westin.com if you need further assistance. I apologize for the inconvenience and will be happy to make sure the transaction has been completed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here while in San Francisco and it was a great experience. The location is great. The hotel was clean and the rooms were also very nice. The valet service is a little disorganized but the rest of the hotel staff more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.