We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accommodations in Union Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Save Saved
You added The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cable Car Package!
Ranked #85 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodations in Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Union Square and I have to say, the beds at the St. Francis are the most comfortable around!!! We will go back just for the great night's sleep! The room was clean and we loved that you can crack the window for a bit of fresh air and to listen to the sounds of the city!

Room Tip: Get a view, it is worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    955
    1,027
    558
    285
    157
See reviews for
487
890
169
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from a trip to San Francisco, staying at the St. Francis. The hotel is attractive and the location was very convenient. Other than that we were underwhelmed. Our room was a large room with a sitting area in the old part of the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The sitting area was just two chairs against the wall and a huge open space. The closet held the safe and it was a trick to get the closet door closed without it getting stopped by the door to the safe. The real problem however was the fact that we could hear every word uttered in the room next door and in the hall, as well as the sound of any nearby door. Was woken up every night by other guests conversing in the hall on their way to their rooms and by the sounds of other travellers getting up and leaving in the morning. I am quite familiar with my neighbors room service requests and bathroom habits. There are so many other hotels in the area with rooms of equal quality but newer and quieter, I would not choose the St. Francis again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

San Francisco has no better location for a hotel than the St. Francis Hotel. I have stayed here a dozen times. The old rooms in the front are worth a bit extra, they have character a bit more space and light. The rest of the hotel in my opinion has been turned into a W Hotel and if I wanted to stay in a W Hotel I would go down the street. The service is your typical Westin Hotel nothing bad but also nothing spectacular. The lobby used to have lots of color but like I said they turned it into a W style Hotel so it doesnt feel as relaxing to me. But other might, all in all though you cannot beat the location.

Room Tip: As long as you dont mind the cable cars all night long stay in the front of the hotel in the old par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

There is nothing spectacular about this hotel except for the views and location.
On all other points this hotel is average to slightly above.
I recently stayed over the NYE holiday for two nights but have chosen this property three or four times prior.
Expect long lines at check-in/car pickup and for front desk staff to be friendly yet short (they are typically overwhemled even via the preferred line).
The room finishes are just ok but if you manage to wrangle a room with a view then the focal point shifts away from the slightly drab interior.
Alas, the hotel allows you a central location that can't be beat for the price point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated and rooms good. There were some errors though that need to be sorted. We received our welcome pack from Virgin Holidays on the penultimate day of our holiday and the original one left at reception for us had gone missing. We didnt even know there should have been one til we called the holiday rep who said she left it at hotel reception on the day prior to our arrival. When I complained to the hotel, they graciously offered a credit to our account for use in the hotel. Great - we thought- until they informed us of the bar charges already made to our room for drinks in the hotel bar which we had never been in or taken drinks at. When I questioned this, the guy said perhaps someone gave the wrong room number!!! Consequently we didnt use the credit because we were not happy with there security of charges. Double check your bill when checking out!
On out last but one day, a conference began with in excess of 8000 attendees. As you can imagine, you could not move about the place and as for getting a lift - forget it! There was already one lift not working but trying to get a lift to the 12th floor along with 8000 other people was somewhat frustrating. On our final day - with a late check out of 1pm, we were greeted by the housekeeping team trying to do our room - at 8.30am!!
Would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After searching Trip Advisor we came across the St. Francis, a wonderful old world hotel. We were initially put off by some bad reviews. But these were obviously from a customer who stayed in the old part. However, the secret is to stay in the new section, eg on the 17th floor where the room was just lovely and very, very spacious with beautiful bathroom and luxurious furnishings. The view was a bit industrial hence my rating (you get what you pay for) but at least we could still see a tiny view of the famous bay even with a bit of San Fran fog). But that being said, it was in an ideal position right opposite Union Square (and an easy walk from the train station). Cable cars go past its door down to Fisherman's Warf. Room price (if paying ahead) was very reasonable for a major city. The foyer is opulent and spacious and there is always someone to lend a hand. The cafe in the foyer and restaurant provided very good service and food. Book a table though as the restaurant is very popular. I would recommend staying in this grand old hotel if for no other reason than it is a piece of history and a reminder of a bygone era, where it was known for its superior standard and famous guests. And still would be! An extra bonus was the gorgeous Christmas decorations including the wonderful sugar castle and toy train in the entrance. A great holiday location!

Room Tip: 17th floor was good. But not if you don't like open glass elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear TheTessa:

Thank you for staying at The Westin St. Francis and for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. It is great you enjoyed both our storied history and great Union Square location. And it is wonderful you would recommend us. I hope you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with a lot of charm in San Francisco, the Westin St. Francis is it. Directly acrossed from Union Sq. and in the heart of the shopping district, you couldn't find a better place to stay in the city. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Room service is quick and the views are great!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_St_Francis, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Niam78:

Thank you for choosing and The Westin St. Francis and thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff and location. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms
The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.