We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 5 nights this May. The hotel is located really conveniently for all the local attractions. It was much better value for money compared to other bigger named hotel chains. Because of this, we were able to book their Balcony Suite room which was lovely and spacious. One word of warning though - the hotel is located on Geary Street which is a really busy road. Our room was at the front of the hotel and due to road traffic and fire engines late at night, ear plugs are essential! I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    56
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
68
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Family stay in SF; we prepaid for a deluxe double and the wonderful lady at the desk told me that for the same price, a suite would accommodate better with 2 kids; that was just the start...this place is in a great locale (the fear of the tenderloin is bogus) and everyone at this hotel was super nice and took care of all our needs. Don't pass this place up!

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you jackstraw71 for the awesome review! We’re so glad that we could accommodate you and your (sparkling) girls on your trip to San Francisco, our suites are definitely better / larger when traveling with family.

We promise, next visit, to make sure to remind you that those keys are magnetic – so your girls don’t have to relax in the hallway. It was an absolute pleasure to have you!

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I found this hotel by reading the trip advisor comments. It lived up to the positive comments completely. The front desk staff were more than helpful finding me places to rent a bike, great restaurant suggestions and anything else that came up. The room was clean and well organized. The sink was outside of the bathroom but the bathroom was reasonably large, clean and updated. I had a great stay in San Francisco at the Warwick and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks Susan M for the really great 5-star review! We’re all so glad to live up to the reviews and make your stay enjoyable during your vacation.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Warm Regards,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is great. The staff were on point, and everything was as expected. Apprehensive at first because it wasn't a large hotel chain, but that's what I liked best about it. Had everything I needed. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
David G –
Thank you for making our staff’s day! They loved reading your review and knowing that they were the ones to make your stay great.

We are all looking forward to your next trip from Texas.

Regards,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was very cute! Seemed newly renovated. Bed and pillows were comfy. Sheets and towels could be a bit softer. Had separate bar and restaurant on site, however we did not go to either so I cannot comment on the food/drinks. We parked at the parking garage next door and had Warwick validate it and it was $20 less than hotel valet. Walking distance to Warfield although be prepared for a lot of homeless people. Overall the rooms are cozy but that is expected in SF. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 400 is next to the elevator. 401 and nice and quiet. Not street side so no street noise. Draw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks youngblood916 for the great review. We’re so happy that you had a great time for your concert trip!

We’re looking forward to seeing both of you on your next visit to SF.

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a nice central (union square) hotel, near the Powell street cable car and subway/train stop, so you don't really need a car if you stay here. There is a nice bar in the hotel, and staff are very friendly. It is European style, so rooms are a bit cramped (ours overlooked an alley with a French sultry sketchy massage parlor). There is a restaurant in the hotel as well, that was pretty nice, but we were more adventurous and went out looking for local hot spots for dining. Very clean, quaint, and quiet overall. Can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Higher the better for quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks L F, for the ‘pretty good’ review. We’re glad that you enjoyed our location to all things San Francisco! As we are a boutique hotel, some of our rooms are on the smaller side – we do have all of the same amenities available and glad that you enjoyed!

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What makes this hotel a good option is its location, 3 blocks away from Union Square. Surrounded by hotels and restaurants, the Warwick offers nice service and vintage decorated rooms. The bathroom furniture is beautiful and they got new bedding. Staff is great and amicable. Maybe the price is a little bit high on the summer but it is worthy of its location.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Lalatorrea – we love our location too! So glad that you and your friends enjoyed your trip to San Francisco, and we look forward to the next time you visit.

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.