We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and surprisingly quiet in the rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location and surprisingly quiet in the rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You can't beat location as all other reviewers mention. Rooms are a good size and my room faced Geary Street but the double glazing on the windows worked incredibly well. If you are parking you don't need valet - around the corner is self parking for $18 a day if you show your hotel receipt. The Daily Grill just down Geary is great for casual dining and try Boulangere for breakfast. Booking.com had a terrific deal for a one night stay at this hotel which made value for money outstanding. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
58
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had the suite for 3 nights and enjoed it very much. The room was clean and the crew of the hotel were really nice and helpful and gave us lots of tips about the city. The location is very good, in the center of the town/Union Sq., and it's also easy to get from there to the Fisherwmans Wharf and most of the attractions of the city (and SF tm airport) by public transport. There are also few car agencies around so it's easy to rent a car.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cute room, and cute 4 poster bed, BUT that's it.

This was the absolute worst and loudest bed I've ever slept in in my life of travels around the world of 25 countries (luxury to basic). Don't book room #804!!!

The bed felt comfortable to sit on, but with any slight move while trying to sleep, it creaked so loudly and shook (no there was no earthquake) it kept both myself and my husband up!

As far as earplugs, the hotel is on a sleazy street with way too many homeless and loud characters.

I heard them through my earplugs, and heard the bed speaking through my earplugs too.

Horrible sleep. Thank god it was for only one night, or we would have changed rooms or even checked out.

We do NOT recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear ParkSlopeLocal,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback – we can’t fix things unless we are aware, so thank you for that.

As we are a boutique hotel, we find that all of our rooms offer something different to our guests; I was sad to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as you could have during your most recent visit. We are taking proper measures to look / fix the issue you brought up, so that they do not occur again.

San Francisco is a colorful city full of characters from of all walks of life, it is not one of danger but rather as you stated one of homelessness – it is a San Francisco problem and I assure you we (as a city) do a lot for all of our people. You have my sincerest apologies if this hindered your trip with us – as we do our best to ensure that all of our guests get to relax and enjoy their stay at our lovely hotel.

I would encourage you to come back for another visit, please contact me directly so that we can ensure that you have a great visit, with a great night’s sleep.

Again, my sincerest apologies.

In Hospitality,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

good hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Very close to attractions. The staff is smiling and very helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The wi-fi was very good. The breakfast(extra) was very good also.

Room Tip: We stayed on the seventh floor in a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Windows730 – thank you for the nice review from your most recent trip. We’re happy to hear that not only was the staff helpful but that you enjoyed your room and our amenities we offered.

We do hope to see you again soon – whether for business or pleasure.

Regards,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After looking at several hotels in San Francisco, we chose the Warwick for a one night stay before our drive down Highway 1 to LA. It provided the right price point and central location in Union Square. Check-in was good, and the staff at reception was really helpful with tips of things to see in a 24 hour period. We got there at 11am, and our room wasn't ready for check-in (check-in is 3pm). She offered to keep our bags, and give us a call if the rooms were ready early which was a nice touch. The hotel is designed with modern chic, and has lovely rooms with neutral colours and subtle print wallpaper with colour accents in the accessories giving it a boutique hotel vibe. The bed was soft and comfy and the room was completely silent from any noise from the outside. Bright and modern bathroom with all the amenities. The sink was located outside the room, which made it a bit different to other places we've stayed at. All in all a great stay at a good hotel centrally located. As an additional bonus, they have a loading bay right outside the hotel that you can use when getting picked up or dropped off by taxi or loading/off loading from your car (Geary Street side!)

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Taylor street side and 4th storey or above for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you thatguywalli for the candid review on our luxury boutique hotel, we certainly like hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay. You offered so many nice details about your stay and we appreciate it!

We look forward to seeing you again soon, we like the views from the 4th story on Taylor as well.

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and 2yo little girl absolutely love this hotel!!! The building and rooms are absolutely beautiful. What comes with this beautiful space is the wonderful team running the establishment. Super chill, great energy, and endless smiles. The best hotel in Union Square, check it out!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
TMKoller – thank you for the great review. We are so happy to have had both your husband and cute 2 year old at our hotel – she was an absolute doll! We’re glad that you’d enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was nice and clean, wifi was fast and it was quiet. The location is convenient. The best part were exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, especially Jesse. I think i finally found a perfect place where to stay when visiting San Francisco.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Aa x, thank you for your great review! We think Jesse is pretty great too, I’m so glad that he was able to assist you with recommendations and directions during your trip.

We do hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best,
Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.