We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth It” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis) (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #41 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

It's fine. I called ahead and asked for a quiet room because I'm a very light sleeper. I specifically asked for a room not near an elevator. When I arrived, the front desk sent me to my room which, as you guessed it, was literally right next to an elevator. I had to switch rooms.

Later that night, I wanted to access the Internet via Wifi for work. I just wanted to check email from my room. Nothing worked. The front desk told me I should come downstairs and have them help me. Since I am not an idiot and know how to access Wi-Fi from an iPad and it was nearly 11 o'clock at night and I was in my pajamas, I opted not to. But if you're going to offer your guests Wifi, it should work.

Honestly, there were a number of lovely things about this hotel. But those two incidents colored my stay so badly that I will not come back.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
51
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was staying next door. And had to find a room for one night only. Saw this hotel, went on their website. and got a great room under $160. They offerred a 'upgrade' cornerview room, and would be awarded at check in. I did not receive it. did not matter; the room was amazing! Great colors/decoration choices. Helpful lighting, the bathroom all black marble, and roomy shower. I felt so much more comfortable here, than at the previous hotel. All clean, very attractive lobby. Nice restaurant below. If I wouldv'e know stayed here the whole time. It's in a perfect location: Taylor/Geary. The interior design and decorations are 5 star. and the price/room rate that night was very acceptable. This was a very plesant surprise! I had room 300, directly next to the elevator. I could hear it. But that did not ruin it, although I am certain other rooms are quieter. My room faced the alley off Taylor street. The Staff was very helpful and engaging at check in and check out.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms, not facing the alley, or next to the elevator, are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Warwick for the first time for a couple of days for business last week, and although I chose it for the location (VERY convenient and close to everything I needed) I was surprised at the wonderful service and amenities... the check in was flawless, and the room very comfortable and elegant, and the price was very reasonable. Because of the location I used it to meet several clients, and it was easy for them to come and go, and the quality of service was impressive. Love it. Will make it my regular place for future visits for work and fun!
Shelly

Room Tip: Loved the corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The service and staff was excellent. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The location was ideal for getting around the city and great shopping and close to many restaurants. Our room was very comfortable. I would go back there again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel due to the hotels that I normally stay at being sold out. I was hesitant to stay at this hotel as it was 40% cheaper than other four star hotels in the area. After my stay, I realized why this hotel prices below the others.

There is no self-parking at the hotel and the valet is not a true valet. I pulled up to the curb outside of the hotel to see a sign that advised guests to park their cars, lock them, and bring the keys to the front desk. There was no one, or cart, to help with the luggage. However there was a doorman to open the front door.

I got checked in an up to my room fairly quickly. I booked a junior suite with a fireplace. The room was nicely appointed but was not as big as you would think for a junior suite, but still nice. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. You almost have to go out before turning around. However, the bathroom was finished nicely. Disappointingly, there was a faint odor of sewage around the toilet and there was a damp odor in the hallway.

In each room is a room service menu that lists breakfast and dinner foods. I ordered dinner and was pleased with the quality, but could not believe the price relative to what was delivered. I am used to paying ridiculous prices for hotel food, but at the Warwick not only was the food excessively expensive, the amount and quality left us feeling somewhat ripped off.

The next morning, I called to order breakfast in the room only to find that they don’t have room service for breakfast, despite breakfast being on the room service menu. I was told that there is a restaurant downstairs that opens for breakfast at 7. Unfortunately, I had to leave at that time for a meeting.

When I checked in, I was told to call 10 minutes in advance before I wanted my car. I did so but still had to wait about 30 minutes for my car to emerge from the valet. Being late for a meeting and no food being available left me somewhat disgruntled.

If you’re not in town on business, and you can get the hotel for a good rate, I would recommend staying. Be mindful though of the several limitations of this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Warwick for the location and very fair price, we were not expecting such a beautiful room and wonderful staff. The was so polite and welcoming to us and really made us feel special. The Hotel manager introduced himself in the lobby as we were departing and extended a welcome to return, Virginia in the restaurant was so pleasant and the tall young man at the desk was also very kind.
This is a hidden treasure in Union Square, we will be back!

Room Tip: High floors are always best downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute trip to The City to play, we discovered a special little gem of a hotel. Perfectly located, walking distance from Bart station, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Hotel is boutique style, small, comfortable, clean with super friendly staff eager to please. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill K, Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for very your kind words regarding the Warwick San Francisco. We are honored to be your little gem of a hotel. With a staff that is happy to look after you and all of San Francisco at our doorstops, we glad you had fun and look forward to you next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#87 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.