We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wife is Picky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“My Wife is Picky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Elevators were a bit slow, but who cares. We really loved the carpet choices. The linens and bed were very comfortable. We, too, were spoiled with an upgrade to a suite with a balcony overlooking the theaters. This hotel is just so comfortable. We chose this based on our experience at the Warwick New York. Try the Pimm's Cup at the bar. Only regret is not using the highly rated restaurant.

Room Tip: Wait for your 30th anniversary and they might give you an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ksanfan,

Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! We are thrilled to know that we could be part of such a special occasion. We are happy to know that we were able to continue your appreciation of the Warwick family. The Warwick New York is an amazing property and it is a great compliment to know that we were able to meet your expectations of Warwick International Hotels after staying there. I did want to let you know that we will be upgrading our elevators in 2015 as the last portion of our renovation. Thank you for pointing our comfortable beds and linens. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We hope you will choose to visit again before another 30 years go by.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rode the Bart in to the city. This hotel is a short walk from the Powell street station. We were granted early check-in. Upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised with the décor and ambiance. The staff was very friendly. We were upgraded to a suite, which was beautiful and tucked away off by itself. It had a completely separate tv sitting area and bathroom! The bedroom was very nicely decorated, comfortable bedding, big closet area and as a plus up to date technology. When it came time to track down the ice machine, I was instructed it would just be delivered to my room I will stay at this hotel again next time we stay in the city.

Room Tip: Splurge for the suite, well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kaila P,

Thank you for writing such a nice review of your stay. I was very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and would be willing to return. Surprisingly, we often hear from our guests about the ice machines not being on the floor; we are such a small hotel that there really isn’t a place for them on the guest room floors. We are more than happy to deliver ice to our guests whenever they need. We appreciate that you mentioned our ambiance and décor. We have recently completed a major renovation and updated all our guest rooms and suites. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you to The Warwick San Francisco.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great find, The Warwick San Francisco Hotel was an excellent choice for us. We received a warm welcome on arrival and found the friendly staff were attentive to detail and willing to help with such matters as airport transfers. The rooms are large enough - not huge but certainly all we needed. Free wi-fi, mini-fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and a comfortable queen-sized bed. We were on the 7th floor and noise was not a problem. We slept well. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There is restaurant and lounge at ground level. Location is brilliant and central. It's a short walk down Geary Street to reach Union Square, cable car routes and Macy's. The big Westfield Shopping centre is also easy walking distance. We always enjoy San Francisco (especially Boudin's for sour dough bread baskets filled with clam chowder), Fisherman's Wharf and long walks through Golden Gate Park. We had only three days in San Francisco this time made very pleasant by our stay at this hotel. Well done management and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor towards the back or side of the hotel. Rooms at this level are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Geo2008,

Thank you for such a great review. We are always happy to learn that we are considered a “great find”. We are very committed to providing a comfortable and enjoyable hospitality experience in the heart of San Francisco. Thank you for pointing out so many positives from our wonderful location to the welcoming staff and all points in between. When it comes time to visit San Francisco, again, we would welcome an opportunity to have you return to The Warwick San Francisco. Thank you, again, for your wonderful comments and for your patronage.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Warwick for 6 nights for our 24 anniversary. Staff was amazing and anytime we needed anything they brought it to our room, however we weren't to happy with the cleaning staff! They never vacuumed or moped until I asked them to. Over all it was a good time, do take some air freshener with you because the hotel is old & kinda smelly

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Arkansas101,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for making a stay with us part of such a special occasion. I was happy to know that our staff was able to make such a positive impression during your stay. I was, however, disappointed to learn that housekeeping did not clean the room to our usual high standards. We have taken your feedback and have shared with our entire housekeeping staff in an effort to improve. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. We hope that you will consider staying with us, again, in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is small and cozy which suits me just fine. It is very clean and well kept up. Make a left out of the hotel, walk 2 blocks you will be in the center (do not turn right you will end up in an iffy part).
If you book on their site they will give you a free pass to an external gym. There is a cool looking restaurant which I have not tried. The room was an average size but well decorated with a coffee machine and free wifi.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Boobyg1,

Thank you for the very positive remarks and five star review. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your visit and would be willing to return. We appreciate the special mention regarding our cleanliness and central location. Perhaps on your next visit you will have a chance to try Aveline or The European. We look forward to your return visit to San Francisco and The Warwick San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Warwick exceeded our expectations in every way !.The place is impeccably clean, the staff is attentive, the restaurant and lounge are exceptional...We enjoyed our time at the hotel as much as anything we did during our visit.
Fun times at the European ! Thanks to the crew there for treating us like royalty.
Thanks

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony and fireplace .THe higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Billm403,

It is great to know that we exceed your expectations. I was thrilled to learn that you had a chance to visit our restaurant and lounge, both Aveline and The European have been well received since opening last June. I was most happy to know that you felt treated as “Royalty”. We take great pride in providing a comfortable and enjoyable hospitality experience in the heart of San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you to The Warwick San Francisco.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here on a business trip to San Francisco. I normally stay at the larger hotels in the Financial District, but they were booked. On the plus side, they have made renovations to the hotel and it looks in good shape. However, my room was very small. It did not even have space for a desk, sofa or upholstered chair. Instead, all I had was a round side table, barely 3 feet across, and a small wooden chair. Not enough space for a business traveler. No closet or chest of drawers. Only an antique armoire. No room service, no business center, no hot breakfast. No views of any kind (my room looked across an air shaft into an apartment about 10 feet away). With only eight floors to the hotel, the street noise got loud at times. Also beware that they give preferential treatment to people who book through their website, as opposed to a website like TripAdvisor or Expedia. I booked through the latter, and ended up with a tiny room. A colleague of mine booked on their website and was upgraded to a larger room and given a token for free drinks at the bar. (A sign on the front desk confirms that the token is given to anyone booking directly with them). I don't think it's a good business practice to treat some guests like second class citizens just because they found their hotel on another website and booked it there.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear SoCalTMac,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your honest and direct comments are very much appreciated. I wanted to let you know that we have been offering a full breakfast in Aveline for several weeks now. The feedback has been very positive on the menu. If you stayed in October you must have just missed the beginning of our new breakfast menu. With regards to the closet space, as the hotel is more than 100 years old and built without closets we wanted to maintain our history during our renovation and the armoires are a perfect fit to continue to function as closet space. We have made every effort to enhance the size of the armoires to accommodate hangers, shelving and laptop compatible safe for our guests use. If a guest requires additional space for their stay we do have several different room configurations and suites in various sizes and styles that may be more suitable. We are always more than happy to offer suggestions given our available rooms at the time of your stay.

I was disappointed to learn that you had an issue with the added amenities available to those of our guest who book directly with us and the perceived slight by upgrading your colleague. We are happy to have our customers find us in any way possible. That being said, we do extend some courtesies to those that book directly with us, as a special incentive. We hope that our guests appreciate the added value and will book directly with us in the future. However, I can assure you that the decision to upgrade guest when necessary is not based on source of booking. We take many factors into account, and honestly, it just may have been a little lucky for your colleague. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I would be happy to assist in any way possible. Thank you, again, for your feedback and patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#80 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.