We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overall pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed at the Warwick last month - the hotel has been newly renovated in all rooms and the results are great. Location is on Geary St which I understand has a shady history however this hotel is at the good end. Turn left out of the hotel and you'll walk past galleries and luxury stores before you hit Powell St in about two minutes. Turn right out of the hotel is ok just walk too far down here although you have absolutely no need to.
Rooms are clean, bathroom really nice and the rooms are quiet. The fridge in the room is empty so you can use it for you own stuff which is always quite cool. nice bar downstairs for a night cap.
The only thing that let the stay down was an episode with the airport transfer with the guy at the front desk. I was told the night before I left that the shared minibus would be fine as the hotel was the last stop. Turns out this isn't true, thankfully I found out before I got on the bus and subsequently made my flight. The guys at the front desk in the morning were great and helped me out, just a shame the night time guy let them down.
All in all I would recommend staying here, just organise your own airport transfer or leave plenty of time to get there

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I loved this small hotel! Their recent updates are wonderful. We had a suite that was made out of two smaller hotel rooms, so we had two bathrooms and a sitting room. The only drawback was that we faced the alley. Very nice and so tastefully appointed. Everything was very clean and fresh. The staff is very friendly as well. The restaurant and bar were top-notch. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with street facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I took the advice of other travelers and requested a quiet room on a high floor. I got 701, which would have been fine (view is back of building next door) except the a/c fans on the roof were really noisy. Thank goodness I travel with earplugs! Otherwise, the room was pretty quiet.
I prefer a dark room for sleeping and it would have been except the reading lamps never go completely dark. Instead they serve as night lights. And the light I wanted to stay on - the bathroom light - went off in the middle of my shower each time. It's motion activated and you have about 5 minutes before you need to start waving your hands around outside the curtins. The noise from the bar is loud in the small lobby, and the elevators are old fashioned. Everything was clean. The staff were very nice and gave me complimentary wi-fi and newspapers. The bed was one of the most comfortable ever, and that's why I give the Warwick 4 stars. I'm heading back to The City in a December and am seriously thinking of staying there again -- in a different room.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

location of warwick hotel is excellent a few minutes walk to union square where all the major shops are and the terminus for the cable cars. reception staff were excellent on booking in very helpful in suppling maps and explaining where we were and where to go. room was bit small but very clean ererything supplied that u would need. very friendly bar and very modern. would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff are very friendly, room comfortable and more spacious than expected. Location is excellent and would love to stay again. Food in restaurant was good, overly fussy as was service but we enjoyed our meal and a few drinks in bar afterward.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Moss1005,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I was very happy to see that you found the room to be comfortable and the staff very friendly. I was especially pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner in Aveline and drinks in The European. We will look forward to your next visit to San Francisco and The Warwick San Francisco. Thank you, again, for your comments and your patronage.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were traveling from San Fransisco to Los Angeles and stayed at this hotel .
Hotel was comfortable and close to Union Square. Good location for shopping, cable cars etc. Lovely room, recently refurbished and surprisingly quiet . The staff were welcoming and helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Caryl1952,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be willing to return. While we do have a great location and have recently completely renovated the property, it continues to be the staff that receive the most comments. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you to The Warwick San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Hotel, very clean and remodeled, we been there before on our Wedding Anniversary back in 1999. Nice to come back 15 years later and find it even nicer. great staff, very friendly and professional personnel, gent by the name of Jessie was very helpful and went beyond the norm to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: From what I saw, any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear daniel m,

Welcome back to The Warwick San Francisco. It was great to see that you enjoyed your return even after fifteen years. It was great to know that we are even better than you remembered. I was most happy to learn that Jessie was able to make such a positive impression during your stay. We are lucky to have such a great group of people working with us. I will be certain that Jessie and everyone at the Front Office are aware of your comments. Thank you for taking the time to recognize their efforts. We look forward to the next visit, hopefully before another fifteen years passes. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.