We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort and class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“comfort and class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

i recently stayed here five nights at your hotel and wanted to say my experience was comfort and classy. The room was stylishly decorated. muted colors of grey, blue and white and the bathroom was terra cotta. I have stayed in many hotels and even though it is considered a 3 star it should rated a 4 star. The staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make my stay as a wonderful as can be. This hotel is centrally located and a skip and hop to Union Square where all the upscale shopping is done. The bar was a wonderful experience, with the same muted colors and soft lighting. There is a restaurant annexed to the Warwick and tHIS IS A MUST do! The food is a dining experience not to be missed. Thank you Warwick for making my stay as pleasurable as this exciting city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside is most likely less noisier. The garbage pick up at 6pm made loading noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay at the Warwick. Stayed there for 4 nights during a vacation in July. The staff was polite, friendly, and willing to answer any questions about the area. The hotel was clean and quiet. Plus walking distance to the major public transportation systems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is always a treat to have a “Great stay” review. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be willing to return. Thank you for pointing out our wonderful staff, clean quite rooms and convenient location. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great central location. Just off Union Square. Staff friendly and beautiful hotel. Walking distance to trams, union square, Chinatown and great shopping. Room was clean, very comfortable beds. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Clare B,

Thank you for the positive review. I was happy to see that you consider us a Great Hotel. We are, indeed just off Union Square and located in the heart of San Francisco. I hope that you had a chance to take advantage of our location in one of the best shopping locations in the world. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you to The Warwick San Francisco Hotel. Again, thank you for the taking the time to share your comments and for your patronage.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of 6 stayed in a suite and were decently comfortable with 2 kids on the pull out and twin babies in cribs. We were on the 7th floor facing Geary street and did not don't it to be too noisy at all. The actual hotel itself was very quiet. I felt like we were the only people staying there at times. Although everything was recently completely updated, it seemed a tad bit like it was cheaply done. A lot of storage was in the room which was nice for all of our stuff. The cleaning service I was a bit disappointed in. It seemed like all they would do is make the bed, provide new towels, and take the trash, but half the time they didn't even get the trash or refill the coffee. It's very much within walking distance to union square. If union square is where you plan to spend most of your time than this is great for you. If fisherman's wharf is more your gig than choose somewhere closer to there. The staff was hit or miss. I think the evening and weekend staff seemed a little more friendly than the others. Overall we were pleased with the hotel but would probably book closer to fisherman's wharf next time for no reason other than location.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jaymarti,

Thank you for your comments on your stay. I’m pleased that the space was sufficient for your whole family in one room and that it wasn’t too noisy. Please accept my apology in regards to the housekeeping issue. I will be following up with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure our staff knows and consistently provides service up to our brand standards. The remarks you made certainly are not what we want to be known for. We appreciate your feedback as we always have room for improvement. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great experience with the Warwick Hotel in San Francisco. Excellent location. Wonderful staff. Called ahead to make sure it was in a good area for our trip. Was not disappointed with anything the staff told us. Newly updated and refurbished.

Room Tip: They will try to give you the best room if you tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just left the Warwick Hotel on Monday morning after a 3 night stay and it was excellent ! We had really nice and spacious room , super clean and comfortable . The reception staff were excellent particularly Jesse & Lawrence . These guys go above and beyond - they gave us great restaurant recommendations , printed directions , hooked us up with free gym passes , and directed us to a garage around the corner with a great overnight rate and in and out privileges ( we didn't use the hotels valet parking as we were travelling by harley ) . They always greet you warmly when your coming and going , it's just a really nice personal touch .
The hotel is extremely well positioned and just a couple of blocks from union square .
It's not our first visit to San Fran and it won't be our last and I would definitely book the Warwick again .

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a week with my girlfriend, visiting SF and attending a conference. The facilities were exactly what you would expect from an urban boutique hotel -- very nice but somewhat cramped. What really made the experience for us, though, is the EXCEPTIONAL service received from the staff, especially Lawrence and Jesse at the front desk. The staff catered to our every whim. For instance, my girlfriend really liked the fruit-infused water next to the front desk, which was taken in every night at 10pm. One night, we got there at 11pm and my girlfriend mentioned to Jesse on our way up how much she had loved the water. The next evening, Jesse apparently arranged for the water to be left out later, without us having made the request! On another occasion, my girlfriend wanted to heat up some leftovers that we had in the fridge (no microwave in the room). Lawrence came up to the room to ask how hot we wanted it heated, saw the "do not disturb" sign on the door, went downstairs to call us and ask, and brought up the properly heated dish about 10 minutes later. Perhaps the best service I had received ANYWHERE, including places like the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok.

The hotel is not perfect. The location is ideal for an urban SF experience -- but urban means that you're next to the two largest nightclubs in town. Try to get a higher floor and expect some ambient noise until 2am on the weekends.

But overall, I'd definitely stay again. Highly recommended especially for heavy sleepers.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to several mega-clubs, so get as high of a room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Virtual9mm,

I am beyond thrilled to hear how our staff was able to exceed your expectations. An experience like yours is what we strive for. As a smaller hotel, we have the luxury of getting to know our guests on a personal level and adding special touches to make your stay that much more memorable. Jesse and Lawrence will be honored you mentioned them and thought so highly of them. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to The Warwick San Francisco.

Best Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.