We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very warmly welcomed when we arrived, the staff are so friendly and helpful. I booked this room for location as its near to Union Square (actually nearer than I thought) I didn't realise how nice the decor would be, a sort of Farrow and Ball type Heritage colour scheme; The Hotel has just been redecorated and has a new Bar (great atmosphere, nice to return to after a night out and have that last drink) a new Restaurant, pricey, but excellent food and service, in all areas the staff are friendly and engaging. could not fault this hotel for the price and would recommend and will possibly return. A very good Music venue with different bands almost every night around the corner on Mason street (Biscuits and Blues) all the top shops around Union square, walking distance to china town, and cable car stops/ terminal and the BART station (Powell St) 10 mins walk you can also get the F line trams to Fishermans wharf and Castro/ Mission 10 mins walk on Market street. We had breakfast at Davids Deli every morning, a few doors away and a nice meal (Ramen) at a Japanese restaurant Katana Ya a few doors away (20 -30 mins queue for table sometimes). All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the Warwick primarily for the location - it's just off Union Square - but it has a lot more than that going for it. The rooms are newly renovated so they're modern, airy, big windows, lovely bed, fridge, nice bath etc. The rooms are small but you expect that in any big city. There is a lively bar downstairs and a classy looking restaurant (we didn't try). The staff are brilliant and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure we got the best from the local area. You get a page on arrival with bar and restaurant recommendations and we weren't disappointed with the ones we visited. It's pricey - but possibly because we were there while Pride was happening and the city was packed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In town for a short time so I just spent one night at the Warwick. However I really enjoyed my stay and wish I could have stayed longer. I had room 708 which was a beautiful corner room with lots of lights and great city view. I'm use to staying in city hotels so I can sleep through regular city noises. I wouldn't recommend this room if you are a very light sleeper. The room was spacious and loved the decor. When traveling for work I always need a safe that can hold my work laptop, iPad, and noise canceling headphones and the safe in this room didn't disappoint.

The check-in was quick and easy. I got a great restaurant recommendation from the front desk staff. The hotel is located across the street from a drugstore, a couple blocks from Starbucks, and close walking distance to restaurants.

I will stay here again and looking at another one of their hotels in Athens, Greece.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location - a classic hotel in the heart of the theater district and a stone's throw from Union Square. The employees' manners are impeccable and they make guests feel special. It's a little pricey - we were there on 4th of July so it was probably more so than usual. The room we had was small, so I can't imagine what a suite would have cost. There are no "extras" included - wifi costs extra, no free breakfasts, etc, but that is par for the course for hotels in this area so don't be put off by it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really great, recently re-done boutique hotel -- of course the rooms are not huge, but the service is great. Was booked here by a business travel agent and was very pleased. Would rather stay here than larger hotels nearby like the Hilton, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here July 4th weekend and fortunatly they could accommodate us last minute at a great rate. We opted for the junior suite facing the street with a balcony. The fact that The Warwick was newly remodeled induced us to stay here rather than at our normal hotel on the next block and we were pleasantly surprised with the offer for complementary welcome cocktails at the bar European which was gorgeously remodeled. The best surprise was the new restaurant Aveline, by Top Chef Casey Thompson where we dined one evening.

Room Tip: I always like rooms that face the street, but be aware that street noise will be a factor. A high f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home in Cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is situated close to Union Square in the Downtown so very convenient. It was just had a facelift and all the rooms are immaculate and very well equipped. The staff are absolutely lovely and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. There is a bar and restaurant attached to the hotel which are very good, if a little expensive. Our only complaint was that often they forgot to replenish the tea and coffee in the rooms. However a call to reception quickly put this right!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible. The rooms are larger with two lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear country-baggers,

I was very happy to see that you appreciated our renovation. We have made great changes to the hotel, restaurant and bar and are looking forward to others experiencing the re-imagined hotel. Even with all the efforts to remodel we are most proud of our wonderful employees who work to create a very personalized stay with all our guests. We appreciate that you would take the extra time to recognize their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to your next visit to The Warwick San Francisco.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.