We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy boutique hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off and Free Wi-Fi
Ranked #89 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cozy boutique hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel in a great location. Just two blocks from Union Square. The decor is old San Francisco. The staff is friendly without being overbearing. The bathroom was in good working condition with beautiful marble floors.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear glennopp,

I was happy to see that you found our hotel to be comfortable and in a great location. In fact, your headline says in all. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us on Tripadvisor. I am certain that our future guests will appreciate your comments. If you future travel plans include San Francisco we hope your will consider staying with us, again. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    228
    102
    36
    34
See reviews for
97
241
49
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Warwick in August while traveling for business. This was my second stay, my first was equally excellent. The hotel is in the process of renovating its rooms and I had the fortune of staying in one of the freshly renovated rooms. The room was well furnished and somewhat more modern than the hotel's other rooms (I uploaded some photos).

There is noise from Geary, but that comes with the excellent location, which is easy walking distance from the Embarcadero and Financial District. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Hal C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are in the process of completing two model rooms for our upcoming renovation at the end of the year. I was happy to see that you enjoyed what we have done so far. I, also, appreciate that you found our staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We are very proud of our employees and lucky to have a great group of people working with us. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We got this room at the Warwick from priceline. If we would of paid full price I would of been really upset. We were there four nights. And they did refund one night stay. I would never stay there again. The only thing I could say is the lobby is nice, the hallways are nice and they had one gentleman that was helpful. Let start with the room. It really made it that we didn't want to spend any time in it. The blind were dirty and very outdated and torn. The shower curtain was old disgusting. Ceiling in the bathroom had bad patch work. The carpet old and stain. Thick dust behind the TV stand. This place and especially the bathroom looked like a bad motel 6 room. I haven't stayed in those I'm a long time, but it was like I had a flash back. There are to many other places in the city to stay at, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mdsanoka,

We appreciate that you would take the time to share your feedback with us. I was disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced with regards to the cleanliness of your room. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. We will make every effort to improve and to re-double our efforts in housekeeping. Though we enjoy hearing the positives, it is often those comments of a more direct nature that help us to improve. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you, again, for your honest and candid feedback and for your patronage.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our travel agent in Australia recommended this hotel and after reading some of the reviews we were unsure on why, however once we checked in it became apparent why she had suggested this establishment. The check in staff were fantastic and during our stay they assisted us in planning how best to get around, places to eat and things to do, which as first time visitors to San Francisco meant we maximised our time on the ground. Although the Warick is definitely different to any hotel we have stayed at previously it’s old world charm added to the enjoyment of our stay.
Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy even with limited knowledge of the public transport system, we jumped on the BART got off at Powell street and it was only a few blocks walk.
If you are looking for a comfortable hotel that has a welcoming fell to it then it would be hard to go past the Warick, if you want new and modern then go to a chain.
Thank you Warick Regis for helping make our stay truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the parking package, which was seamless on arrival and checkout. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room - the twin beds - was adorable. While a little dated, it was spotless. Once I realized how clean the entire room was, I actually loved the vintage decor right down to the drapery around the beds. The rooms are a little dark, but cozy and comfortable. For me the most important part of a hotel is its cleanliness and I've stayed in hotels that were more modern and higher star-rated than the Warwick but not nearly as clean.
The only downside about staying here was the immediate neighbourhood outside the hotel was a bit depressing and rundown, but by walking only a few short blocks, you're able to be in a better part of the city. It was safe enough, so I didn't mind the atmosphere at all. I've heard some people complain about street noise, but that didn't bother us at all. I mean, it's a downtown location, so you know...it's not going to be country quiet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear NorthTDot,

"Surprisingly Great", what a nice title, thank you for such a wonderful review. We were very happy to see that you found our rooms to be adorable, spotless and clean. Coming from a Contributor with 42 reviews that means a great deal (It can be a real challenge keeping up with a 100 year-old building). Our Housekeeping staff takes pride in providing a comfortable environment in a classic setting. Also, thank you for pointing out our excellent location and helpful staff. If I can ever be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Warwick San Francisco Hotel.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe queen on the side of the hotel. I would definitely recommend getting as far away from the very noisy Geary as possible. We needed the windows open because of the heat but there was so much noise - horns, partiers, homeless people- that we had to close them and rely on the fan. The noise would be no better in any of the hotels in this popular area near union square. There is no AC. The room was very small, only big enough for one bedside table, but it was clean and well furnished.
Staff were excellent and friendly.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel but the food was good and the service, excellent. Overall a good value for central San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear colin f

We appreciate that you would take the time to write a review of your stay. I was disappointed to learn that you had some issues with the noise. You are correct in pointing out that we are in the heart of San Francisco, but hope the noise was not too much an inconvenience. We are planning a renovation for the end of the year and will be adding air conditioning. Hopefully, this will have an impact on the noise, as well, as the windows could remain closed on warmer days. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. I was happy to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Thank you, again, for your comments and your patronage. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 when it was surprisingly cold. The staff on the main desk were really helpful as soon as we arrived and during our stay. The hotel is characterful and old; everything worked. The location is excellent within San Francisco - v close to Union square. There is a good diner across the road and lots of restaurants. Cable car stop is a few blocks away. The beds were very comfortable and the room was a decent size for a family of four. Overall we were very happy staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear UKFamily2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our character, style and charm. Also, thank you for pointing out our great location and helpful staff. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you, again, in the future.

Regards,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#81 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just two blocks from Union Square, amid the city's theater and art scene, the newly renovated Warwick San Francisco embodies a luxurious home-away-from-home style where hospitality is paramount and well-being is the ultimate goal. Fusing the building's authentic history with modern hospitality, the hotel features 74 individual guest rooms, which includes 20 suites, each designed in the traditional Beaux-Arts method and exquisitely styled with unexpected contemporary touches. The Warwick San Francisco is located at 490 Geary Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.