We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask for a Better Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Warwick San Francisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off and Free WIFI
Ranked #85 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask for a Better Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose the Warwick because of it's location and the great price for being in the heart of San Francisco. We didn't know what to expect, and were more than pleasantly surprised. It's a boutique style hotel, our room harkened back to the old days of San Francisco, quite beautiful. We had a balcony overlooking Geary St., giving us the perfect view of A.C.T and Curran theatres. We arrived by BART and had a short walk to the hotel and could travel anywhere and everywhere from the Warwick's location. It's one block from Union Square, a couple of blocks from Market St. and 3 blocks from Chinatown. REally in the heart of downtown SF, but without the noise. We were on the 7th floor, windows on Geary....and it was quiet! Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Myyodacat,

Thank you for the positive review. Being that you are from the state of Maryland I was wondering if you knew that the original name of the hotel was The Maryland Hotel? I was happy to see that our central location was a benefit to your stay in San Francisco. The photo of the Curran and ACT theaters really shows how close we are to these theaters. Again, thank you for your time in sharing your comments and for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you, again, in the future.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    221
    100
    36
    33
See reviews for
94
234
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I think this hotel is kind of caught between what it was and what it wants to be. It could be really nice, and I think they are making strides to get it there. The area of the hotel where I stayed was under renovation and had a very musty smell, plastic covering the carpet upon exiting the elevator, but it was clean. The decor is outdated. My room was larger than what I typically expect in historic hotels in this area, but I did get an upgrade to a balcony room. There was a fireplace & sitting area in the room. They need to go room-by-room, gut it & modernize it. The staff is wonderfully helpful & attentive, room service food from the restaurant downstairs is very good - I had the tiger prawn & dungeness crab risotto with truffle oil - DELICIOUS! Wifi works well, location is perfect. Easy walk to whatever you may need. I like a hotel with a lobby bar scene, and while the restaurant's bar is adjacent to the lobby, I never found more than a couple of people in it.

Room Tip: Go ahead & shell out for a suite or balcony room. It's not that much more than the regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear lizalot,

You are correct that we are working on updating our rooms. The work you noticed was the transformation of two model rooms in preparation for a planned renovation at the end of the year. Although, there was obvious construction, we made every effort to limit the impact on our guests. I was happy to see that the area was kept clean during your stay. It was especially great to read that you found our staff to be helpful and that they were able to make such a positive impression during your stay. Thank you for recognizing our staff. We hope to see you, again, on your next visit to San Francisco. Maybe you’ll get another opportunity to savor more of the Crab Risotto. Thank you, again, for your honest remarks and for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Love the non chain hotel feel. Very unique for sure. We loved how close we were to it all. We saw and heard a bit of everything each time we stepped out the front door. So why we came.
Thank you for being a huge wealth of knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear WinLPark,

I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you found our non-chain environment comfortable. We take pride in delivering a comfortable and enjoyable hospitality experience in the heart of San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your candid remarks and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Warwick is located in a central area - close to the BART trains and MUNI buses/trains - so it is convenient for getting around the city and the entire Bay Area (you can take the BART to Oakland and Berkeley). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not try the restaurant/bar, but it appears popular and they give you a 20% off coupon when you check in. However, be aware that the hotel is dated and our room (1 queen bed) was small. Some of the guest rooms are under construction - so if you plan on being in the room during the day - you should ask to be put on a quiet floor. The room was mostly clean. Very small lobby/public area. The "business center" is really just one computer in the lobby. The decor feels very antique/B&B... if this is your style, you may like it here... I would suggest calling the front desk before booking a room. It sounded like they were giving better rates over the phone than what I saw online. Or book through Priceline, like we did, and we were happy to find out that wireless internet access was included in our payment. Note also that the location "lower Nob Hill" is quite different than Nob Hill (which is a fancy, mostly residential area). Lower Nob Hill and the nearby Tenderloin neighborhood are both a little rough around the edges. Powell is the nearby high street (tram, BART stop, shops, etc.) and many of the surrounding neighborhoods have good restaurant choices for a local dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear RoadtripReviews,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We have just finished two model rooms in preparation for a renovation planned for the end of the year. We trust the work did not have an impact on your stay. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. I would like to point out that we have a range of room types and many of our rooms are larger. If you need more space consider upgrading to a larger room (note: we do offer an Upgrade Package here on Tripadvisor). We appreciate that you pointed out our convenient location right in Union Square. Again, thank you for your comments and for your patronage. We hope to see you, again, in the future.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I would recommend the Warwick for anyone going to San Fran. The staff was very helpful especially with tourists. We only had one problem, we were put in a room with two twins instead of a queen size bed, but this was fixed the following day and we were given free wifi for the rest of our stay. The queen size room was a great size, not cramped at all. The location was amazing, close to everything and there was a tourism company right beside that has Alcatraz tickets for sold out days.

Room Tip: Corner Queen Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear DRNolin1212,

Thank you for the recommendation. We appreciate that you would take the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. I was disappointed to learn there was an issue with your room type upon arrival. Thankfully, we were able to correct this the next day. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience. We hope that you get a chance to visit from Vancouver, again, in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first time to San Francisco, and the location of this hotel couldn't have been much better. It seemed to be walking distance to just about everywhere we wanted to go, and the valet parking was crucial in a city where parking is a nightmare. We didn't take advantage of the bar/restaurants on site, but the rooms were plenty spacious and decorated with a nice, older style (while not appearing old or out of date). Comfortable beds. Excellent, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bart W,

It was great to hear that we could be part of a wonderful first trip to San Francisco. Thank you for pointing out our very central location and excellent staff. Maybe next time you can visit our restaurant for breakfast or dinner. A little tip; we offer a discount for dinner and brunch to guests who book directly through the hotel. We look forward to your next visit to San Francisco and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Warwick is starting to look it's age in a few areas but it is clean and the rooms are comfortable as are the beds, of course being in such a great location in downtown San Francisco you are not going to be able to leave your windows open at night to get some fresh air just due to city noise. Rooms were reasonable in space and being an older hotel had no closet space but a large antique wardrobe is provided along with other antique looking furniture in the room which I think looks really good, bathroom was a little on the smaller side but no big deal, I've seen in other reviews that clients had a problem with the water, I also had this but it was not so bad only without water for a couple of hours and had already showered and changed, would have been a pain if I hadn't though. Not sure if all rooms are the same but water pipe noises from other rooms were also common, toilets flushing pipes whistling that kind of think. Didn't try the restaurant always seemed to go out and at breakfast for the price they charge $12.95 I think for continental, just walk on the street and you will see and find lots of coffee shops, bakery's and diners for a lot less money. Couple of other small problems which were no big deal but however did happen. T.V. was not working for two days, mini bar in room was never re stocked all week. As I said it is a great location and you can walk pretty much to anywhere of interest, or take a cable car but value for money on this trip it was certainly not, can't blame the hotel I guess for this, there was a fairly big convention in town and also the America's Cup had started so I guess it is supply and demand as I notice their prices for the next few weeks are at half of what I paid, just doesn't make you feel good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehalliday, General Manager at Warwick San Francisco Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear eerzaweepieanbovril,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I was disappointed to learn of some of the issues you experienced during your stay. We are planning a renovation for the end of the year and will be addressing some of the concerns listed, such as the water pipe noise and adding air conditioning. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences. Thank you for pointing out our excellent location. We hope that you will choose us if your future travels include San Francisco. We appreciate your time in posting a review and your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warwick San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
San Francisco Warwick
Address: 490 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly The Warwick Regis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#90 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warwick San Francisco Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick San Francisco Hotel, an elegant and popular choice among downtown hotels lies in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable theater district, just two blocks west of Union Square and the famed San Francisco cable cars, world-class shopping and dining. Featuring some of the most elegant San Francisco lodging accommodations, the Warwick San Francisco Hotel offers 74 rooms including 16 suites that are tastefully appointed in the style of Louis XVI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Warwick San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick San Francisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.